We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

TripAdvisorUS$204*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$204*
US$204*
US$204*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 74: English reviews
Start your review of Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
 Click to rate
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Camped in the Andersson Camp with our tents on our car. The sites are clean and have a private toilet / shower, a fire pit, table and shelter for each site. We walked down to the lodge for lunch and took a guide out on a walk up onto the plateau. Landscapes are stunning and totally unique. It rained a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimmyfloydhassel
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this place mainly for the rhino drive, and we highly recommend it. The campsite amenities are very good, staff was very welcoming and experienced. The rhino drive is a little pricey, but definitely worth it. We saw 2 rhinos: first a female (I named her ''sexy'' plz keep doing it so it sticks) while we were on foot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For a lodge that bears the Wilnerdess name, it is the worst I have seen of Wilderness: If a breakfast room does not sport a toaster or toast is not offered (for whatever reason), something is wrong. This is a absolute minimum in culinary standards.... I do not want to mention anything else that I definitely could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Horst S
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a budget chalet, tent walls, quite all right, if not very cosy. Hike to the plateau was very nice, but we missed our breakfast. Our guide tracked a buffalo, but we didn't spot it. Magnificent view from the plateau. Game drive for the rhinos is bound to succeed, as the park guards have constant watch over them....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taras_Kent
Cardiff
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Great setting. Kind staff. Lowest staff morale we have experienced after many years of travelling. There's a problem somewhere. Do staff feel exploited? What happens to the tip we left at reception? We were told that it went on staff payslips, which in many places is an unacceptable way of funding staff costs. Who knows about the practice here, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cape-Town-Steve
Reviewed 21 February 2017

The road from Windhoek ends here. The Waterberg Wilderness Lodge is very self contained indeed. Whilst we were there with Pack Safari with 7 people we were blacked out by heavy thunderstorms and everyone was in good mood all the same. Fortunately we had extra lights with us so that the excellent dinner could be savoured. This place lives off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dag Ingemar N
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

All roads lead to the Waterberg. Why should have Rome a monopoly? ;-) Thank you very much for your positive comment about our staff and for making the best of the black out.

Swakopmund
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Amzing place with an amazing view! Even though we had a few struggles on the way there. We had an amazing time there. Friendly staff and great food. They have great offers/activities as well. Will most definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nightshade96
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your "amazing" comment, which we will pass on to our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I must say that the staff is very friendly and helpful. And the rooms are nice cool. But that's about it. It's the worst place we've stayed in Namibia. The rooms are sterile as in some institutions with an echo in both bathroom and sleeping room. No African feeling here. On the walls just a few photos of 100 years...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travel61addict
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

We regret that the decoration and the food of our Waterberg Wilderness were not to your liking. The meat is fresh and comes from our own butchery. In January we invested in a large cold room in order to let the meat hang long enough even at times when all three lodges are fully booked. Kindly keep in mind that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights staying at the Plateau Campsite - they must be ranked among our favourite in Namibia. Each pitch is beautifully secluded in the bush, with your very own toilet and shower. An extremely hospitable lady brings firewood (free!) round to your pitch daily. A small plunge pool is on site, to cool down in having walked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback which we also forwarded to our colleagues of Waterberg Plateau Campsite! Your team of Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We were greeted warmly when we arrived. The staff are very helpful and are eager to help. Went on the rhino drive and came to about 20 meters from the rhino. Also saw various other animals on the game drive. The food is delicious but there is no options. There are also a couple of nice hiking trails around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rohan K
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your remark concerning the guide which we mentioned on our last staff meeting. We constantly train our staff, including the guides, of course. We offer a set menu for dinner (starter, main course with side salad, dessert), but when notified right in advance our chefs are more than willing to prepare a vegetarian dish or replace the...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otjiwarongo
0.0 km away
Aloegrove Safari Lodge
Aloegrove Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Otjiwarongo
60 reviews
0.0 km away
Waterberg Guest Farm
Waterberg Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Okakarara
253 reviews
0.0 km away
Frans Indongo Lodge
Frans Indongo Lodge
#2 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
119 reviews
0.0 km away
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
#1 of 11 in Otjiwarongo
285 reviews
0.0 km away
Waterberg Camp
Waterberg Camp
#2 of 2 in Waterberg Plateau Park
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The buildings of Waterberg Wilderness Lodge shelter in a long valley in the midst of the Waterberg mountain range. Built from red Waterberg sandstone they nestle under enormous old trees. The atmosphere in the mature, well-kept garden with its two pavilions, many cool and shady places and an immured spring water basin lined by giant bamboo is idyllic. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Address: D2512, Waterberg Wilderness, Otjiwarongo, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Otjiwarongo
Price Range: $265 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterberg Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Waterberg Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waterberg Wilderness Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay for 2 nights”
137dorisw, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If you like lush landscapes, trees, flowering bushes, and the feel of old colonial grandeur, book into the Wilderness Lodge. If you like open spaces, fantastic views, book Valley or Plateau lodge”
KarinB792, 5 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Choose chalet no.m4 on plateau as first choice, wifi in restaurant only.”
AnnaLast, 5 Jan 2015 | Read review
“the best room is no 10. a detached cottage.”
schliek, 3 Sep 2013 | Read review
“There are 3 areas to stay in: Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, Waterberg Plateau Lodge, and Waterberg Plateau Campsite & Andersson Camp. We stay in the Plateau Lodge, and never saw the Wilderness Lodge. My adult son camped, and we hiked between our lodge and his campsite and then back. As noted, you are truly in the wilderness, and although we were told later that baboons are fearful of humans and will generally stay away - be extremely careful while hiking and when you are outside, and always have a contingency plan.”
  • Night view from our lodge patio, day view is stunning
JonKamp, 3 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$204* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$204
Booking.comUS$204
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates