We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Katse Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Katse Lodge
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Katse Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 98: English reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I had great memories of being at Katse dam about 12 years ago. Decided to go through Leshoto again to show my wife, and one cannot exclude Katse. The Lodge staff was very friendly, extremely helpful and proud. Lodge was well maintained and the food was of very good quality. The thought that everything had to come in through the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugo d
Michael d, General Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Hugo for your comments. We are glad that your visit with your wife to Katse was a happy one. Next year we are planning a refurbishment of the Lodge to make it into an even better destination. Yes, I agree that a visit to Lesotho must include the beautiful Katse Dam. Thanks again.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I was not sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. On arrival the staff were very friendly and welcomed us with a drink . The whole place was clean and tidy. I must point out that the Lodge was built to house the people building katse Dam so please don't expect the Traditional Lodge. My room was plain and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul6701
Michael d, General Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Paul, It was great meeting you and thank you for your comments. We certainly look forward to welcoming your group in the future.

Merstham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We travelled late July- and it was a very slow drive up through the mountains. Snow piled up either side of the road, ours was one of the first vehicles (4x4)through in several days. If you arrive before 5pm, you can drive across the dam (need to go through checkpoint). It saves several miles of driving to the lodge. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen M
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your review on Katse Lodge after your stay with us. We are absolutely pleased to see that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. Your comments will definitely be noted. We are glad that our General Manager Mr Michael de Kock went out of his way to assist you. Excellence in customer...

Randburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

This is the only place to stay if you want to go and visit the Katse dam wall. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was the best meal of the day although the burgers at lunch weren't too bad. Dinner was another story. The buffet the first night was quite expensive for what was on offer. The next night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank doppierunner
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing Katse Lodge in depth following your stay. We are absolutely pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay and service offered. Excellence in customer care is of paramount importance. We take note on your comments regarding the buffet. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have encountered on...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Be aware if you book at Katse Lodge. We paid our accommodation in full but because of the Snow earlier in August the roads were closed. We had to cancel our accommodation. We cancelled according to the cancellation policy but one month later after numerous promises from the GM, Michael de Kock, we have not been refunded.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerrie M
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for taking the time to review Katse Lodge. Your information has been forwarded to the General Manager at Katse Lodge who will be in contact with yourself as a matter of urgency pertaining to your refund. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to win back your most valued business and visit...

Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 31 August 2016

After the quite disappointing experience of Semonkong Lodge, this was a complete and unexpected contrast.. This former camp for workers who built the Katse dam (the reservoir one can see form the hotel terrace) demonstrates a successful transformation from a utilitarian project into a guest friendly establishment. While the infrastructure naturally is still very functional, the little attention to detail...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pepeyangu
Michael d, General Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank for your kind words and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Katse Lodge. I am glad our staff were welcoming. We are hoping to have a refurbishment next year where we hope to make the the Lodge even more guest friendly. I hope you will visit us again.

Pretoria
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent setting. Staff very helpfull. The chef went out of her way to prepare excellent and tasty dishes. Views incredible. Rooms very nice. The botanical tour in the village was a let down though. Very run down. The lodge was central to our Lesotho trip. Good value for money coupled with a setting out of heaven.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 363pietere
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your review on Katse Lodge after your stay with us. We are absolutely pleased to see that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. Your comments will definitely be reviewed. We are glad that our staff were helpful and our chef went the extra mile! Please visit us again in the near...

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Very happy to eat here after a loooong drive. Staff was friendly, restaurant was clean and neat. Also facilities was clean. Food prices was good. Had a great laugh when security guy at the entrance gate says we where on the wrong mountain we must drive back! Had a wonderful time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desire L
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Desiré Thank you for your review on Katse Lodge after your stay with us. Excellence is customer care is an important aspect to us. Your feedback is valuable for us to achieve that standards we aim for. We are absolutely pleased to see that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again in the...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Cons: Desserts in the restaurant are terrible. 59 ZAR for matchbox-size piece of "synthetic" cheesecake or apple pie stale enough to hammer nails? Good joke guys. Apart from that we spent more than 3 hours waiting for our village walking tour offered at reception but our guide never came. Sure it was not lodge staff fault, but I would suggest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denys D
Management response:

Dear Denys D, Thank you for your comments on our Desserts. We are currently working on and training our Chefs to produce quality desserts and trust that your next visit you will see an improvement. Regrettably, as you stated we as a Lodge do not have control over local activities as we try to promote Social Responsibility and Community Development...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Located on a beautiful spot, this place has the potential to be a great accommodation. The lounge and eating area are fine, the fire place was a real addition in the cold winter times. However, the hallways and dorms leave the impression that it used to be a hospital. Grey doors, grey walls, grey floors, flickering lights and the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank el123iza
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing Katse Lodge in depth following your stay. We are absolutely pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay and service offered. We take note on your comments regarding the dorms etc, we will contact the holding company and try to get authorization to color up the place. We do hope that you...

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bokong
0.0 km away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
0.0 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
2 reviews
0.0 km away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 27 in Maseru
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Boikhethelo Guest House
Boikhethelo Guest House
#1 of 1 in Mokhotlong
2 reviews
0.0 km away
Phomolo Guest House & Self Catering
0.0 km away
Bird Haven Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Katse Lodge is perfectly positioned atop a saddle, offering incredible panoramic views of the famous Katse Dam, with its surrounding mountains, rocky crags, sparse vegetation and landlocked lakes. The Lodge is an ideal starting point for travelers wishing to explore Lesotho’s mountain kingdom. For the adventurous, drive the robustly constructed alpine roads to Mohale Lodge, and experience the stark desolate landscape with traditional villages, untouched by time. Return to the lodge after a day of exploration and adventure dine in comfort, with unobstructed views of the glimmering waterscape, and then relax in front of the inviting fireplace. Katse Lodge offers genuine warmth and old-fashioned hospitality, making it one of Lesotho’s best-kept secrets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Katse Lodge

Address: Katse Village, Bokong 333, Lesotho (Formerly Orion Katse Lodge)
Region: Lesotho > Thaba-Tseka District > Bokong
Price Range: $49 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Katse Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Katse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Katse Hotel Bokong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Katse Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms appeared to have a view. Choose a room separate from conference centre but really not a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles sharonsP3472NJ, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room or unit with views on Katse Dam”
 of 5 bubbles MaxwilG, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles dmittleman, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The apartments are self catering, some are overviewing the reservoir with dramatic views”
 of 5 bubbles pepeyangu, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that face the dam.”
 of 5 bubbles G2738VDandrec, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5