We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Post Office Bistro

32 Castle Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UL, England
+44 1665 711341
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent95%
  • Very good4%
  • Average0%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“stone bass” (8 reviews)
“ginger wine” (8 reviews)
“scallops” (15 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
32 Castle Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We stayed overnight on Saturday 10th November and treated ourselves to having the evening meal. There is an autumn menu which you can see on-line beforehand but they also do seasonal extras which you find out when you dine. The food was really top notch...More

Thank chrisandmike_10
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

You'll just have to move up to this lovely part of the world! Many thanks for your fab review. Have a great Christmas when it arrives, best wishes Helen and Rich

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We were staying in Warkworth for my birthday and The Old Post Office was THE recommended place for a special meal. And we were not disappointed....the food was absolutely delicious and I couldn't find fault with anything even if I tried. Thank you again for...More

Thank lynzbar
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

It's lovely when people choose to celebrate special occasions with us and it was a pleasure to meet you both. Thanks for taking the time to post a review, best wishes Helen and Rich

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Literally one of the best surprises in Cavan I would recommend everything it’s perfect except for the steak it was well when asked for medium rare. Wine great and nothing else to say be greatness really nice foodMore

Thank Tomas C
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Whilst I will take the 5 stars(!), unfortunately you have posted this review to the wrong business as we are in Warkworth, not Cavan and you have not had a reservation here. I would prefer it if you could move this review as I take...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Saturday 4/11/17 two couples celebrating a landmark birthday. Our first visit on recommendation from friends and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Because it is quite small there is an opportunity for the staff to interact with customers which adds to the experience. The four...More

Thank Steve B
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are always flattered when people choose to spend such special occasions with us and we're so pleased that you enjoyed everything and had a good celebratory evening. Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review, best wishes Helen and Rich

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's almost a year since my wife and I were last at The Old Post Office. We have always had exemplary food but tonight it was, to us, better than ever. We both had a smoked salmon soufflé, twice cooked no less! It was as...More

Thank Grendo
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It's always good to see you both and to hear such great comments is wonderful! Thanks for your continued custom and faith in everything we do; it's much appreciated. Have a lovely Christmas, Helen and Rich

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Another excellent meal at a fantastic restaurant. Great service, great menu,fantastic food, really worth a visit.

Thank Viv B
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely little review and it's always good to catch up. Have a great Christmas if we don't see you before, best wishes Helen and Rich

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here on Saturday night and were not disappointed. If anything the food was even better than the last time we ate here 2 years ago. The service was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. A little bit pricey but more than happy...More

Thank Andy P
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your lovely review, it's much appreciated. Because our planning restrictions only allow us to open 2 nights each week we do not have the 'economies of scale' that many restaurants do, and so we are forced to keep the price up a...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and myself once again had the pleasure of experiencing the culinary delights that this wonderful establishment has to offer, we were really looking forward to trying the "new" winter menu and we were not disappointed, we both started with the Scallops which were...More

Thank GeordieGuests
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It's always lovely to welcome you back and it gives us a real boost to hear such fab comments. Thank you for your review which we will pass on to our small team; see you again soon, best wishes Helen and Rich

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our second trip to the Old Post Office and we were not disappointed! Food was of a very high standard and service was excellent Richard was particularly helpful with talking my husband and son through all the local beer options Couldn't fault it- everything spot...More

Thank Judy s
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It was lovely to welcome you back and many thanks for taking the time to write a great review of your evening with us. See you again soon, best wishes Helen and Rich

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband daughter and I finally got to try this restaurant. It is always so busy it is very hard to get a table. We now understand why! Our food was excellent. The service was superb and the atmosphere was warm and cosy. We had...More

Thank Pj
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your lovely little review, it is much appreciated. Best wishes Helen and Rich

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bertram's
601 reviews
.10 km away
The Masons Arms
859 reviews
.06 km away
The Hermitage Inn
575 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Warkworth Castle & Hermitage
893 reviews
.26 km away
Warkworth Beach
219 reviews
1.16 km away
Fenwick Gallery
60 reviews
.04 km away
Warkworth Hermitage
75 reviews
.58 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jane21399
1 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Helen P | Property representative |
We do not have private parking, however all parking in the village is free without restrictions.
0
Votes
Bartley
3 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Christine28may | Reviewed this property |
Hi I don't know as I do not have a dog. Call the owner he's a nice guy.
0
Votes
Jan P
22 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Helen P | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. We only open the bistro on Friday and Saturday evening. Best wishes, Helen
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Visa, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 32 Castle Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Amble  >  Warkworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 711341
  • E-mail
Description
A small bistro offering imaginative home cooked food using high quality local produce. We have a small menu to allow everything to be cooked freshly with fish, seafood, meat and vegetarian options. We can cater for special dietary needs with advance notice. We only open on Friday and Saturday evenings and booking is recommended.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing