We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Plough

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
63 North Street, Bicester OX26 6NB, England
+44 1869 388101
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Open now
All hours
Sun 12:00 - 19:00
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 15:30
18:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 99: English reviews
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

This pretentious place calls itself a gastropub. The fish had very greasy batter, the vegetable tart was cold and the service was slow. However, my husband liked the pork dish. They have a good range of beers but don't go there to eat.

Thank OriginalWonderbunny
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dreadful service, roast pork was loin chop with no crackling, no stuffing with roast chicken, over priced puddings and very small portions, took ages for everything to arrive at the table with no apologies, never again!

Thank Cloverd2
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Popped in here a few weeks ago and if it's good pub grub you want then you can't far wrong. This place does what it says on the tin. Good beer, good foot. Good pub!. What more is needed.

Thank druceyman
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016

An unexpected problem with the car which required an urgent visit to the car doctor saw us with a couple of hours to kill. A walk up and down the high street produced nothing more than the usual eateries. This pub looked inviting and with a good selection of real ales and an interesting menu we sat down. What followed... More 

2 Thank Icknieldrobin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We ate here on a Monday night and unsurprisingly found it to be empty except one guy at the bar. We stood waiting for about 5 minutes before we caught the staffs eye and were seated in the restaurant. The restaurant is nicely decorated and spacious but had a smell of paint I was told that they had refurbished back... More 

Thank LuckyStars90
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016

We had not visited the plough for many years, I was pleasantly surprised by the updated decor that still retained historic pub ambiance. Service and price were good and the food was great. I am recommending the Plough to my dining friends.

Thank Alan T
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

Drove past here rather hungry on a Friday night. First thing I noticed is a surprisingly empty pub for a Friday, second thing is a really oppressively loud sonos audio system. Sonos has a way to make their bass units really noticeable and in your face, possibly some people like that, I find it extremely annoying when I'm in a... More 

Thank wijnands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2016

The Beer and the service were excellent. We thought the food was expensive, £12.95 for a roast on a Sunday and extra for dessert. Enjoyed what we had, but not outstanding. Not many diners so maybe others found cheaper options.

1 Thank A L
Tegan B, Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Good afternoon AL, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit. We are glad to hear you received excellent service on the day and also appreciated the beer available. Your comments on the price have been appreciated and taken on board for future consideration and we hope to see you again in the near future.... More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Not the warmest of welcomes, asked to go about ordering and were told there would be a long wait to even order as there was only one chef on a Friday evening. Strange as it wasn't unreasonably busy but one of the staff (possibly the duty manager) failed to make eye contact or even acknowledge us - maybe they didn't... More 

Thank BlimeyNeedSleep
Tegan B, Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Good morning BlimeyNeedSleep Thank you for leaving us your feedback upon your recent visit. We are very sorry to hear that you did not feel welcome, especially as we often are buzzing with happy families. On the evening we were busy both inside the pub and out in the garden with food orders from both parts. All of our food... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

This would be a 5 star review if based soley on the drinking aspect of the pub. This is the best and nicest pub in Bicester for a few drinks - lovely and welcoming inside, lots and lots of drink selection (10-11 + beers/ales on tap) and always a good atmosphere. Highly highly recommended. I have only eaten here once... More 

Thank Tom A
Tegan B, Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Good morning Tom A, Thank you for comments regarding your recent visits to the pub. We are glad to hear you enjoy the pub and selection of beers we have to offer. We hope to see you again in the near future and appreciate you leaving us such a positive review, The Plough (Bicester) More 

Travellers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Bicester, Oxfordshire
Bicester, Oxfordshire
Bicester, Oxfordshire
Bicester, Oxfordshire

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$25
Bar, British, Pub
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
12:00 - 19:00
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 15:30
18:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 15:30
18:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 63 North Street, Bicester OX26 6NB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Bicester
  • Phone Number: +44 1869 388101

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Plough and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Plough staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?