We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dukes Head

Laindon Common Road | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
+44 1277 651333
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good25%
  • Average12%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (21 reviews)
“fish cakes” (12 reviews)
“sunday roast” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Laindon Common Road | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Good first impressions of this modern British pub in the Essex countryside. Warm welcome after arriving 30 minutes prior to reservation - accommodated us early and sat us straight away. This is where it started to wobble. Despite the restaurant being less than half empty,...More

2  Thank Damian W
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked in very last minute for a valentines meal. Set menu with lots of choice. We both had the lamb koftas, which were a little bit special. I expected meat on a stick!! it was lovely. We the both had steak and it was cooked...More

Thank Likestoeatout2
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Likestoeatout2, we are very happy we could provide you with a positive experience! Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this information about your recent visit. Take care!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Six old friends enjoyed a lovely lunch, no hassle no rush, good size portions and great food, especially for the mini desserts they were devine. I have given 5 stars for the quality of the food, the service (thank you Chole and Jordan) and the...More

Thank Nannygel
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Morning Nannygel, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It's always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had an enjoyable time with us. Unfortunately, pricing is not something we can control ourselves as the company however we will...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

As we were shopping in the area myself and 2 relatives tried to find somewhere to eat for lunch. We came across The Duke's Head online and was surprised to see that we were able to get a booking in the restaurant - on the...More

Thank Bethany W
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Morning Bethany W, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It's such a pleasure to hear that our guests have left us satisfied. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, The Dukes Head Team.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Dukes Head on Saturday with family and had a lovely evening. It was a little while since we last ate there and we were pleased to see that they had had a facelift with some interior changes since our last visit. The...More

Thank Edward O
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Morning Edward, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It's always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had an enjoyable visit. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Dukes Head.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

used to be one of my favourite places to eat, however on our visit a couple of weeks ago on a saturday night we were seated next to a very rowdy table who were swearing and noisy, no manager came out to speak to them,...More

Thank densulli
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. We would like to get more details about this; please reach out to us at your earliest convenience at 01277 651333. Kind Regards The Dukes Head

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have now dined here many many times and I must say I have never been disappointed!! THE best ribeye steak I have tasted in a long long time. Great service & always happy, welcoming, polite, hard working staff. Can’t wait for our next visit ☺️

Thank KeentravellersEssex
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We always strive to provide top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Dukes Head, Little Burstead! Kind regards The Dukes Head

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a group of 6. Lets start with the waitress, she was very friendly and helpful which was great, but unfortunately that is as about as good as it got. We chose the 2/3 course menu and I do feel because of this the...More

1  Thank GlennBAD
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We would like to have a better understanding about your experience. Please reach out to us at 01277 651333 at your earliest convenience and we will do our best to resolve this with you. Kind Regards The Dukes Head

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I haven't visited the Dukes Head for many years , wow what a nice surprise on entering the pub. It's obviously been refurbished and to a high standard too , very plush. We were greeted by pleasant young staff eager to take our orders. A...More

Thank RoverNutter
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it's always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed themselves upon visiting. We are so please to hear that you loved the refurbishment we underwent in November and enjoyed our new...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clearly there had been a recent redecoration, and this made the whole restraurant area a very pleasant place to enjoy lunch. Plenty of space between tables so even though the restaurant was very busy, the service was both attentive and personal. Very good menu choices,...More

Thank hedgehog993
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We always strive to provide top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Dukes Head, Little Burstead!

PreviousNext
12345665
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Billericay Hotels
Campanile Hotel Basildon East London
338 reviews
3.36 km away
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
408 reviews
4.04 km away
Holiday Inn Basildon
537 reviews
4.30 km away
Travelodge Basildon
221 reviews
4.35 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pasha Restaurant Lounge
318 reviews
1.57 km away
The Duke Of York
695 reviews
1.51 km away
Reids Restaurant
125 reviews
1.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Imperial Bird of Prey Academy
257 reviews
2.42 km away
The Four Seasons Hungry Horse Pub
111 reviews
3.69 km away
Barleylands Farm and Craft Village
485 reviews
2.38 km away
Lake Meadows
106 reviews
2.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Reviewer10013
28 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Lorraine W | Reviewed this property |
Hi, yes in the bar area and they have a big seating area outside. Will provide you with a dog water bowl too.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Laindon Common Road | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Billericay
  • Phone Number: +44 1277 651333
  • E-mail
Description
Our menu offers delicious seasonal dishes – so whether you’re dining in our restaurant, grabbing a snack in the bar or enjoying a delicious salad al fresco, you’re sure to find something to brighten up your day.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing