We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dukes Head

) #17 of 66 Restaurants in Billericay $$ - $$$ , British,
Laindon Common Road | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
+44 1277 651333
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (20 reviews)
“fish cakes” (8 reviews)
“roaring fire” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Laindon Common Road | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I visited your restaurant on the 14/06 to celebrate my partner’s birthday. Firstly, it took a while to be seated due to the high demand of customers being served at the bar, however, we let this go over our heads as it was a very...More

Thank Liam M
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good Afternoon Liam, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It is extremely disappointing to hear that your last visit to The Dukes Head was not up to standards. I would love the opportunity to discuss this further with yourself, however...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my wife's favourite restaurant. Have visited several times over the past year and always delivers. Lovely interior, great food and drink, good service. Keep saying we should come here on an afternoon and relax in the garden with a few drinks.

Thank Robert-Joanne-132
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Robert, thank you for leaving your feedback. It's great to hear we're a favourite. We look forward to seeing you soon for a drink in the garden! The Dukes Head Team.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had dinner at The Dukes Head Saturday 10th June. Its a really lovely pub, well decorated inside and lovely outdoor space. It's in a quiet area so you really feel away from it all. There were some issues with our table and we had...More

Thank Coxy777
DukesHeadBillericay, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It's a great shame to hear you left disappointed upon your last visit with us. Since Saturday we have implemented further training for both kitchen and waiting team members in order to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a sunny lunchtime and dropped in for some food, welcome OK, food OK. service was a little slow, not sure about the staff. A manager training a new Guy I think? so the service was a little slow and not much understanding of...More

Thank StephenMann
DukesHeadBillericay, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It's always a pleasure to hear when our guests enjoy themselves upon visiting. I'm sorry to hear that the service was a little slower on this occasion, although you are right in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's the first time I have visited there was 10 of us and I must say very disappointing I had the rib eye steak it was very grisly and when it came up wasn't very hot just warm also ordered double cooked chips they were...More

Thank sassylady2016
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you left us disappointed upon your last visit, although the points you have highlighted have given us a great insight of where we need to improve. We are...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been twice recently for lunch with friends. Service was very good. Food was excellent and served promptly. Overall a very good experience. Will certainly visit again. Have also, on occasion, sat outside in the very pleasant gardens just to have a drink.

1  Thank Sylvia B
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It's always a pleasure to hear when our guests have enjoyed there experience with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards The Dukes Head Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A gastropub. Somewhere in between a pub and a restaurant. I like pubs. I like restaurants. I'm not so keen on the grey area in between. The staff seemed really nice but I think they need to pick what they want to be. Too pricey...More

Thank Red G
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. Its great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. Unfortunately, as a Premium Country Pub brand we are neither a pub nor fine dining restaurant but we like to believe we give...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was average, some of the meals were cold, one arrived late. The on duty 'manager' came to the table to try and resolve our complaint, repeated the offer of a free desert, despite telling the waitress several times that it wasn't acceptable. Was very...More

3  Thank S123456123
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As a team we at The Dukes Head are always striving to be the best, unfortunately it appears we did not deliver this time around and for this I would like to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ordered 6 roasts and fillet steak. Some Of the roasts were warmer than others but not hot,some of pork dry over cooked. Fillet steak was meant to be medium came Meduim/well done. We asked for it to be changed which it was then waited 25...More

Thank Sue D
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Sue, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your latest visit with us, however to hear where we can improve in the business is always appreciated. Since your visit we...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The forgotten people Arrived and were seated promptly and our order taken. Other people arrived their orders were taken ours didn't arrive. Neither did the wine on the next table. Suddenly it was realised we had no food which was promptly brought out from under...More

Thank N J N
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not deliver our usual standards for yourself and guests on your visit. I would like to sincerely apologise for not providing an exceptional...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Duke Of York
606 reviews
1.51 km away
Pasha Restaurant Lounge
256 reviews
1.56 km away
Reids Restaurant
88 reviews
1.14 km away
Caffe & Cream
75 reviews
1.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Imperial Bird of Prey Academy
226 reviews
2.44 km away
The Four Seasons Hungry Horse Pub
99 reviews
3.62 km away
Barleylands Farm and Craft Village
441 reviews
2.38 km away
Delta Force Paintball Billericay
143 reviews
4.12 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Reviewer10013
do they allow dogs?
28 June 2015|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Lorraine W | Reviewed this property |
Hi, yes in the bar area and they have a big seating area outside. Will provide you with a dog water bowl too.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 09:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Laindon Common Road | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Billericay
  • Phone Number: +44 1277 651333
  • E-mail
Description
Our menu offers delicious seasonal dishes – so whether you’re dining in our restaurant, grabbing a snack in the bar or enjoying a delicious salad al fresco, you’re sure to find something to brighten up your day.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing