We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

  • Carefully Selected by Locals! 4 Restaurants and Bars that Offer Great Niseko Flavor - LIVE JAPANlivejapan.com

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$28 - US$55
CUISINES
Japanese, European, Grill
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
173
81
59
22
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
173
81
59
22
26
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 20 December 2021

Hopelessly disorganized. Didn’t bring me any food in two hours, despite reminding them several times. Gave up in the end. One night out of five in niseko wasted.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Explorer09369846179, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2022

Dear Pjbrq, Thank you very much for coming to our store this time. And I sincerely apologize for not being satisfied. I'm terribly sorry. We will take your feedback and make every effort to provide you with the best time and experience. I am very...More

Reviewed 11 March 2020

This restaurant is filed with delicious Japanese cuisine, a great atmosphere and genuinely friendly servers. (In particular our server Riki was a wonderful guy who really took care of us and did a great job). Would and do often recommend this restaurant to anyone who...is looking to treat themselves!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
祐樹 澤, 広報担当マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2020

Dear anniedawsey, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our restaurant. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our meal and service. Hope you had a great time in Niseko. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future....More

Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

We came here in a big group for dinner. The dinner selection was adequate. The food was delicious and well presented. The service was up to standard. The ambiance was warm and cozy. Just 3 min walk from Hirafu Intersection. Very convenient location. Highly recommend.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
祐樹 澤, 広報担当マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear josephinem149 Thank you for leaving a review with us. We appreciate very much that you've chosen our restaurant during your limited time in Niseko. We are glad you enjoyed our restaurant. Hope you come back to eat with us in the future. Kind regards,...More

Reviewed 8 March 2020

I strongly recommend this restaurant. top quality Food: perfect mix of french and JP Food. 1 negative feedback: Music is too loudMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
祐樹 澤, 広報担当マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Dear julien294265 Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed our foods! And also would like to take your feedback sincerely to improve our service. Hope you come back again in the future. Kind regards, The Barn...More

Reviewed 10 February 2020

The venue looks and is cool which is what drew us in. We managed to get a reservation last minute on a busy holiday Monday so we were stoked. Course menu comes with good options but my appetizer, spicy Wagyu stew, had about 3 whole...red chilies in a small clay dish - sooo spicy I had to eat slowly, But eating slowly was not an option apparently as my main arrived while I was still eating my appetizer. Had to finish it while waiter stood and watched me with my chicken in hand. I wanted the seafood dish for my main but it was sold out so I settled for the chicken which was incredibly salty and rather tasteless. The highlight of the evening for me was quite eadible gluten free bread which I ended up eating more of than any of my other dishes (aside from the starter of sushi foie gras, which was amazing). They rushed the meal and rushed us out even though they don’t close until 11, last call for all food is 9:30 yet they accept 8:30 reservations. Not recommended. Lots of people just came for dessert which is maybe best option.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
祐樹 澤, 広報担当マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Hi, Morgansj1981 Thank you for leaving a review with us. We would like to apologise for the disappointing experience you had with the quality of food and service at our restaurant. We rarely get complaints about the quality of food and usually don’t have any...More

Reviewed 5 February 2020 via mobile

Had visited the Barn 2 years ago and had reviewed what was possibly the best meal I have ever eaten in a restuarant anywhere in the world. Having read some of the recent reviews I was unsure whether it would be as good again. The...restaurant still looks great and feels so cosy, my wife had the seafood and I had the steak, salad for starter, all I can say is that the food is up there with the best, what can you do with a salad I ask myself that makes it taste so good? The chef at the barn deserves the best praise and reviews. The service was good, overall I love it here and it is still the same as 2 years ago, best restaurant anywhere for my moneyMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
祐樹 澤, 広報担当マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Hi,Campbells123456 Thank you for leaving a review with us. We are glad you came back and enjoyed our restaurant again. We will try to improve our quality of food and service. We hope you come back in the future. Kind regards, The Barn by Odin...More

Reviewed 4 February 2020

This is an excellent restaurant serving a range of different but creative dishes, which is on a side street near the central town area of Niseko Hirafu. Reservations are definitely recommended during a busy ski week. The service, once we were finally able to sit...(about 15 minutes after our reservation time) was excellent. There is a nice but limited mix of cocktails and a very good but relatively pricey wine list. The Japanese seafood and beef options were excellent. There are various combination dinners available that offer good value. The ambiance is fun and worth a visit!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
祐樹 澤, 広報担当マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Hi, Davidson H Thank you for leaving a review with us. First of all, we would like to apologize for keeping you wait. We should have been able to prepare your table in time. However, we are glad you enjoyed our restaurant. We hope you...More

Reviewed 22 January 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed the ambiance here as well as the delicious food and superb service. We had a great salad, really good bread, and chicken. The staff was very professional and helpful. It’s a very attractive restaurant in the town where most of the restaurants tend...to be extremely casual. It was also super reasonably priced for such excellent food and service. We will definitely be back.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
祐樹 澤, 広報担当マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2020

Hi, painthorsegirl Thank you for leaving a review with us. We are glad you enjoyed our restaurant. We hope you come back to eat with us. Kind regards, The Barn by Odin management

Reviewed 17 January 2020

The ambience is great and the staff were very friendly. I do love the building. However it is very expensive for the quality of food. The meals came out at different times and we had to chase up. Compared to similar priced restaurants in Japan...I can only give 3/5.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
祐樹 澤, 広報担当マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Hi NZtravels1, Thank you for leaving a review with us. We would like to apologise for the disappointing experience you had with the quality of food and service at our restaurant. We rarely get complaints about the quality of food and usually don’t have any...More

Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

We were back again this season as we love the ambience, architecture and food. Level 2 is a good photo spot. I love the Wagyu beef but can’t say the same for the lamb.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
祐樹 澤, 広報担当マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Hi, denisecJ7154NB Thank you for leaving a review with us. We are delighted that you came back and enjoyed our food. We hope you come back again to eat with us in the future. Kind regards, The Barn by Odin management

Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

Good atmosphere, great service and very good food. But only giving 4/5 as would expect even better food at this very top end price.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
祐樹 澤, 広報担当マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Hi, alidgrigg Thank you for leaving a review with us. The chefs have taken it on board and we will try to ensure that the qualities are up to scratch going forward. We hope you come back to eat with us again in the future....More

Reviewed 13 January 2020

I had booked this for my son's birthday celebration weeks in advance to our travels (he is an adult-would not recommend for kids) and unfortunately they would not acknowledge my request to help arrange something special (a drink, dessert,-- something) I called and emailed -...but they did send lots of reminders! But okay -- except then they served us two meals at a time. I and one other member of the party received ours and by the time my son and the fourth member received theirs, we were done. Waiting seemed silly and they insisted we start. I complained (quietly) and they apologized but not sure why they would serve two of us. If the first two meals were ready - then wait or even remake them. But they went cheap and served two at a time. The food was okay- we ate at much better restaurants in Niseko and ones that did not make us feel so uncomfortable. Definitely not a good place for a celebration or four person group dinner. Wish we had gone elsewhere and had a proper (and more fun!) birthday celebration.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
祐樹 澤, 広報担当マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Hi Vacationer498302 Thank you for leaving a review with us. We would like to apologize for the disappointing experience you had with the service and lack of flexibility at our restaurant. We would like to take your feedback sincerely to improve our service so that...More

Reviewed 10 January 2020 via mobile

We couldn’t have been happier. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and all seated together with our large group - and it was mostly smooth sailing from there, if it wasn’t it was quickly rectified. The flame torched beef sushi was absolutely delicious -...the wasabi not your typical wasabi and was nice to have something different. There were green vegetables which were popular among our group as it’s not as easy to find vegetables in Niseko. Our food all came out at reasonable times bar mine - there was a miscommunication on the way but once realised was swiftly addressed and solved. Bread was being refilled throughout the dinner to keep hunger at bay. I had the rib steak - lovely cut of meat, friends of mine also had plenty of positive things to say about the chicken and the seafood dishes. I had also ordered the cheesecake in the initial order of food without the rest of the group knowing - because I had read such positive things about it. And they were all spot on! The cheesecake was unreal, highly recommend. Overall top dining experience - the work ons food wise were small. The fish in the seafood dish was slightly over cooked and the started of Radish, Egg wasn’t to the liking of my friends who had ordered it - they had mistaken it for a soup. Amazing night we had together and much better than the Alpinist which is also owned by Odin. I would suggest they send some staff from here as the Alpinist was a horrible dining experience.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
祐樹 澤, 広報担当マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Hi, BT_Turtle Thank you for leaving a review with us. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and would like to aplogise for the miscommunication. We hope you come back to eat with us again. kind regards, The Bran by Odin management

Reviewed 26 December 2019 via mobile

Service was horrible, portions were small and overpriced. We’re we’re a table of 6. All of our starters came at different times. 2 would finish and a third would arrive. 2 mains came before the starters were cleared and the rest came 15 minute later....The portions were tiny and expensive. Oh yes, my spinach side (for my main) arrived 30 min before my main. The ginger lemonade was about 3 sips and 1600 yen. There are way better places to go ...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Freedom09415799235, 広報担当マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

Dear jorritv635, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our restaurant. We would like to apologize for your negative experience. However please let us correct just one part of what you said, our honey ginger lemonade is not ¥1600, but ¥800....More

Reviewed 26 December 2019 via mobile

Our 1st winter Christmas in Niseko & we had a wonderful dinner in the Barn... great ambience, excellent food & such a cozy lovely Yuletide dinner with Xmas songs played the whole nite. Special shoutout to Yuki & Riki ... excellent service, super friendly staffs...& always full of smile & energy ... one of them even drove us back to the hotel when our taxi booking took an hour. We will definitely be back again😊 Merry Christmas 😊More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Freedom09415799235, 広報担当マネージャー at The Barn by Odin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

Dear leng2lee, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our restaurant. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our meal and service. Hope you had great Yuletide in Niseko. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you. The...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
M Hotel
82 reviews
.21 km away
New White Bear
12 reviews
.23 km away
Chatrium Niseko Japan
230 reviews
.29 km away
The Vale Niseko
272 reviews
.33 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bombay Sizzlers Niseko
229 reviews
.17 km away
Bar Gyu
280 reviews
.13 km away
Ezo Seafoods
417 reviews
.18 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Propeak
34 reviews
.11 km away
Larry Adler Rental Ski & Outdoor
22 reviews
.17 km away
Niseko Photography & Guiding
41 reviews
.13 km away
Niseko Spa
6 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
L_Khristine
20 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from M9955BNscottm | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I didn't get your booking but I'm just a trip advisor reviewer 😕
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

The Barn by Odin, Kutchan-cho - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Barn by Odin

The Barn by Odin is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5