We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
About
Described as a hidden gem in rural Cheshire, The White Lion is a friendly village inn with large open fires, wooden beamed ceilings and cosy snugs. It has been standing pride of place in the village of Childer Thornton since 1724 and welcomes both the local community as well as visitors to the area.
PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$33
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
407
84
29
15
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
407
84
29
15
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak and ale pie cottage pie sunday roast belly pork curry pudding the pub home cooked steak night fresh veg home made christmas dinner premier inn friendly atmosphere piping hot lovely food family meal
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

Staff excellent nothing to much trouble.Food very good ,prices in house different on web site ?? . disappointed with quantity ,still hungry when we left .I was told prior to visit that portions were huge ,still looked decent must be smaller plates .Not be visiting...or recommending .More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Susan B, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I'm sorry you felt that our portions were inadequate Some people have bigger appetites than others we do try and fill the plates without the gravy running over as does happen on occasion especially on a Sunday seems like The White Lion is not for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely little country pub, great food good choice of drinks, friendly and helpful staff, this was a find and will be my new local

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in on 24/6 for food with my daughter. No Trace & Trace in place, no recording of our details which is mandatory at the moment. Instead of accepting this as fact the owner Sue decided to accuse us both of lying, not very good...customer service but from other reviews quite the norm for her. She could have asked to speak privately but no continued to deny there was an issue. Covid precautions are there to protect customers not to be ignored.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Susan B, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We take pride in all we have done to protect our customers Track and trace is clearly visible on entering the building seems you failed to notice the Barcode on entering Why did you not bring this issue to my attention at the time and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped off last night on the off chance of having a meal and a few drinks we were made to feel very welcome food was lovely big portions and all appeared home made moved to the bar to watch the football and again staff...were friendly and chatty is definitely worth a visit and prices very reasonableMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Susan B, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for a great review regarding your experience we do try our very best during these difficult times most people just want to knock you down after whats been a difficult 18 months in the hospitality trade Hope to see you soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in Sunday for meal and made to feel extremely unwelcome by think her name was Paula or donna she kept calling my wife and I walk ins I've previously reviewed your pub in a very positive way but this lady was rude sorry won't...be back while this customer care is in placeMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
Susan B, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm Sorry you were made to feel uncomfortable During your visit however anyone who arrives without booking during these times to us are walk ins Just the phrase we use no disrespect in any way was meant Donna is very popular here at The White...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited last week to find no social distancing, no checking in or temp checks done, and ourselves to be the only people in masks! Deleting reviews only makes it look worse!

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Susan B, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We take offence to the accusations you are acusing us of at no time have we not kept to the rules Two of my staff are exempt from wearing masks due to health reason's and were clearly showing proof of that Regards Sue Brown

Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

Had 2 course Sunday lunch for 4 people. Good value two courses for £12 with a hearty roast beef dinner and chocolate fudge pudding. Good atmosphere and very friendly staff. Nice and busy which was good to see. Would recommend

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Susan B, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thankyou for your great review hope to see you again soon Regards Sue Brown

Reviewed 14 June 2021 via mobile

Came for a meal on the way to catch the ferry to Belfast. The food was excellent and arrived promptly after ordering. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We would recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 10 June 2021 via mobile

First time we have been here for food and it was amazing, we will definitely be back. Donna and keiren where are servers and they did a fantastic job couldn't help more. I highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Susan B, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Thankyou so much for your feed back really appreciated Regards Sue Brown

Reviewed 7 June 2021

Just had a lovely lunch outside in the “socially distanced” pub garden. The sandwich and baguette we had were excellent, accompanied by the best chips we’ve had in ages. We will definitely return again soon.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) hotel
754 reviews
.08 km away
Brook Hall Hotel
607 reviews
.78 km away
The Woodcote
338 reviews
.93 km away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
1,178 reviews
1.03 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cafe India
416 reviews
1.03 km away
Burleydam Brewers Fayre
489 reviews
.08 km away
Holdi Spice Lounge
374 reviews
.96 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Olde Red Lion
16 reviews
.82 km away
Premier Plants Of Ledsham
7 reviews
3.02 km away
Little Al's Urban Farm
24 reviews
3.45 km away
Rivacre Valley Nature Reserve
5 reviews
1.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
649andyp
10 January 2020|
Answer
Response from higginson210314 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure I think they finish about 7 on Sundays Suggest call them Thanks
0
Votes
SolCorredor
28 December 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Katiebailey | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I’m not sure try giving them a call
1
Vote
Kieran L
1 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from uknana | Reviewed this property |
Not sure but think it is 9.00pm
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The White Lion

The White Lion is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5