We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crab & Lobster Inn

32 Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England
+44 1983 872244
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (18 reviews)
“steak” (36 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
32 Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

A little expensive, but worth it for the location. The food was good, but not special, and the service efficient but not friendly. Not very busy when we were there, until it rained and everyone came in from the garden.

Thank Regor4204
Reviewed 4 days ago

Over priced food poorly cooked. Complained and although the staff were sympathetic they could only offer a free pudding!!! Overheard others complaining! Speaking to locals they said place had got worse since a group had taken it over. It had not been that good with...More

1  Thank santapopa
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear santapopa, Many thanks for the review. I'm sorry that you felt the food was overpriced and cooked poorly, we are working tirelessly to improve all aspects of the business and are taking all feedback on board to help with this. I do hope that...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I've been going to the Crab for years and over the years have seen many changes. Some good, some bad but my advice to anyone wanting to go there to eat now is Don't. The menu has been halved, the portions reduced and the price...More

1  Thank lordadie75
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear lordadie75, Many thanks for taking the time to review us, I'm sorry that you were unhappy with the food and portion size. We are listening to all our customers and taking all feedback on board to help improve. We have recently increased some portion...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had seafood platter and shared between 4. Everyone was really impressed. Parking is challenging so leave a bit of extra time. Nice walk by the sea to walk off the food. Recommended.

Thank Andy B
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Andy B, Many thanks for the review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the Seafood Platter so much, Hopefully we'll see you again soon. Kind Regards

Reviewed 5 days ago

Need to book as this is very popular and when you taste the food you will understand why. I'm not going to say too much about the place as I want you to try it and be impressed. Next time on the island we will...More

Thank Dawnsfella
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Dawnsfella Thank you for leaving us a 5 star review. we are really pleased to see you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Tracy.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This pub is in a great location but we were quite underwhelmed by the food sadly. It was very busy when we visited and you have to order your food yourself at the bar along with your drinks. The queue was very long and took...More

Thank lesley33333333
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear lesley33333333 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. This allows us to use the feedback to improve in the future. I am sorry to hear that your meals didn't live up to the expectations and standards we usually aim...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is the little things that make or break a meal out. My order was taken by a member of staff who must have been looking forward to the end of a long shift. This sullen interaction then coloured my view of the pub. On...More

Thank Simon C
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Simon C Thank you for leaving us feedback around your recent visit to The Crab and Lobster. I am sorry that your first impression on your visit wasn't a good one, but I am glad to see the team worked to turn this around...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Decent enough, the location is the best part. Heard very good reviews and so perhaps expected too much. Food average at best. Would go there for a drink, staff all very nice.More

Thank awhittall
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear awhittall Thank you for your feedback on your most recent visit. If you would like to call us to discuss your visit further, to allow me to work on the feedback I will be happy to take your call.We hope to welcome you back...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first visit to IOW and my son and his partner were excited to take me to this restaurant which they had visited for many years and had always provided excellent food. On this occasion the food was totally the opposite. The Lobster...More

2  Thank chris g
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear chris g, I am sorry to hear that you had a poor experience when visiting us. This is obviously not what we aim to deliver in terms of customer service and a dining experience. I am also sorry to hear that the duty manager...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've been coming here for many years- and it's always been a treat to come to this restaurant. The service was fine- the staff were very friendly, and the food came fairly quickly. However the quality of food was nowhere near the standard that I've...More

1  Thank hetha82
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear hetha82 Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, in regards to your recent visit to us. Firstly, I am pleased to hear you received a great service from our team. I am sorry to hear you felt the quality of the food was...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen
369 reviews
.10 km away
Lockslane Contemporary Bistro
232 reviews
1.38 km away
Lifeboat View
232 reviews
.77 km away
Fox's Restaurant
164 reviews
1.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sally's Riding School
291 reviews
.24 km away
Bembridge Lifeboat Station
395 reviews
.92 km away
Brading Roman Villa
483 reviews
5.65 km away
Puckpool Park
58 reviews
6.13 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Diydad
22 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Qt61 | Property representative |
Yes we do in the bar area just not in the dining area, but you can eat in both areas.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 32 Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Bembridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 872244
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing