We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rose and Crown

) #4 of 8 Restaurants in Thorpe le Soken $$ - $$$ , British,
High Street, Thorpe le Soken CO16 0EF, England
+44 1255 860718
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good21%
  • Average15%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“prawns” (4 reviews)
“cheesecake” (3 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
High Street, Thorpe le Soken CO16 0EF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here for dinner early one Monday evening after a day at Frinton. Many of our favourites on the way home are normally closed on Monday eve but we had spied this one on the way out to Frinton. tThe A boards outside suggested we...More

Thank mumajb
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had heard wondrous things about this restaurant so gave it a try last evening. First and second course were nice ( not amazing) and for once I decided to have a dessert because the portions were not overwhelming ( a good thing). Having ordered...More

1  Thank HPsrus
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Visited for Sunday lunch but very didappointing. Husband and myself both had roast beef, strangely served with a ball of sausagemeat and apricot stuffing! It was accompanied by a bowl of rock hard caulifower cheese, which we sent back but when returned was still as...More

1  Thank thorpecouple
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from an overnight stay at The Rose and Crown and we loved it. It's decorated and styled to a high standard and had very good quality bedding and towels. We enjoyed drinks and gorgeous bar snacks in the garden in the...More

Thank Mfcemma1
Sarah H, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for your lovely review.

Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Visited on a whim, Sunday roast was ok nothing special. Over cooked beef, hard potatoes and Yorkshire puddings were crispy. No flavour in the gravy either. Starter soup was ok. Overall ok, probably won't return.

1  Thank knower123
Sarah H, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

We are disappointed to read your review and will bring this to the attention of the kitchen team. Thank you very much for taking the team to leave your review and we hope to welcome you back to The Rose and Crown in the future.

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at the Rose and Crown. My husband and I treated yourself to the Hidden Sanctuary at the Lifehouse Spa but choose to stay here and eat here instead. We had a lovely meal and the accommodation was wonderful. A lovely and...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sarah H, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very pleased to read such a lovely review from you. We are glad that we were able to add to your anniversary celebrations and look forward to welcoming you back to The...More

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

We had a table of 12 great food, especially a la carte menu. Veggie option tasty. Nice atmosphere with friendly bar staff. Will definitely be back

Thank nhsnurse
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Disappointed to say the least,, we was back here New Year's Eve, to a beautiful afternoon tea with family,, I was all full of admiration, beautiful food etc,, choice was awesome , in abundance , so much choice, so it so was on recommendation to...More

2  Thank rubystock
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Charming pub with accommodation above, the accommodation is excellent has just been refurbished, very comfortable beds, beautiful bathrooms, very lovely staff, Julie was very welcoming and friendly, Debbie looked after us in the morning for breakfast, breakfast was amazing food, we had an evening meal...More

Thank Mandy S
Sarah H, Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very pleased to read such a lovely review and recommendation from you. We are committed to maintaining the high standard that you refer to and we look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 1 April 2017

My children live in Australia and Scotland so having a special lunch on Mothering Sunday was not really on my agenda until my Partner said, "phone and book lunch for us somewhere tomorrow" "tomorrow, you must be joking! they'll all be full". However, the Rose...More

Thank JacsandDave
Sarah H, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Thank you very much for your review. It is lovely to read that you had such a special lunch on Mothering Sunday and I am very pleased that we were able to accommodate you and your Partner. We are all very grateful to read such...More

Nearby Restaurants
193 reviews
.00 km away
Harry's Bar & Restaurant
405 reviews
.09 km away
The Crown
66 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lifehouse Spa
260 reviews
.82 km away
Frinton on Sea Beach
319 reviews
6.78 km away
Walton On The Naze beach
313 reviews
7.55 km away
Clacton-on-Sea Beach
644 reviews
7.82 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pam P
30 April 2016|
Response from Sarah H | Property representative |
Hi Fri 6th Tracey Moorhouse singer Sat 21st rod Stewart tribute tickets are £10pp
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 00:00
12:00 - 00:00
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Thorpe le Soken CO16 0EF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Thorpe le Soken
  • Phone Number: +44 1255 860718
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing