We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Horse at Ireland

Shefford, Shefford SG17 5QL, England
+44 1462 811398
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“souffle” (12 reviews)
“steak” (56 reviews)
“pork” (27 reviews)
Open Now
6:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shefford, Shefford SG17 5QL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Wow we are regular at this wonderful restaurant.Never ever had a bad meal having a steak in middle of the week also wonderful Sunday lunch at weekend's.Can't fault this place staff are amazing can't do enough for you on every visit.Well done DARREN and team.

Thank Bazza M
Reviewed 3 days ago

Came here with friends on a busy Sunday lunchtime. The real ale was acceptable but not in top condition. My fish was overcooked and the vegetables undercooked but the Sunday roasts were good. The staff coped very well with a large number of diners. Our...More

1  Thank Martin B
Reviewed 4 days ago

Decided to go here on the spur of the moment as we hadnt been there for a while and expecting this to be a quiet Monday was delighted to see that it was busy so the atmosphere was good. My husband and myself opted for...More

Thank Jan M
Reviewed 1 week ago

We found the service at The Black Horse rather slow, not enough waiting staff for the number of diners. Our request for table water was ingnored on three occasions. The potted Woburn ham was no more than pieces of ham in a pot; nothing special...More

1  Thank susanhiggi
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Susanhiggi Sorry to hear that our service was slow on the day that you dined. As you can see from other trip reviews that is not our usual high standards so I apologise. I have taken on board your comment regarding the food served...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Celebrating my wife's birthday this evening, would like to thank all the staff for a truly memorable evening. Food was amazing and the service very attentive, we'll now have all our special occasion meals here.

Thank Stuart M
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Stuart M Your review was certainly memorable and well received by all the staff. Delighted to hear that you will now be celebrating all your special occasions at the Black Horse. Thank you.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a table in advance, even though it was a Monday night - glad we did as it was quite busy. There were 13 of us there for a family birthday celebration, we had to pre-order our food, so no delays there. Once we...More

Thank OriginalSoulGirl
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello OriginalSoulGirl (great name) Thanks for positing your review which has been most helpful. I have taken on board having only one soup option for those people who have ordered in advance. I believe that we should be informing our guests what the soup option...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited the Black Horse with family for my wife’s Mums birthday.The staff here are very good and paid a lot of attention in getting her to the table safely.Food was good and we paid for a birthday cake which they bought out and even...More

Thank MDC214
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello MDC214 I enjoyed reading your 'lovely' review which is greatly appreciated by all the staff at The Black Horse. Many thanks for taking the time to write your positive review.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Saturday night here was very busy! Our table initially wasn’t ready and then some confusion over being given menus. Food however was wonderful!! Did have to ask for some water 3 times and gluten free guest wasn’t given separate dipping sauce. Small points but distracted...More

Thank Ginny B
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Ginny B Great that you considered our food wonderful. Thanks for letting us know that you intend to return to The Black Horse, despite the slight confusion with the menus and service which I am taking up with the Manager. We hope to see...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited on a Friday with another couple for special birthday celebration lunch. Booking beforehand is essential as when we arrived at 1.30pm the restaurant was full. There was a friendly greeting upon arrival and we were shown to a pleasant table by the window. Although...More

Thank michaelbird2015
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Michaelbird2015 Thank you for your excellent review which is very much appreciated by all the staff at The Black Horse. We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Felt quite rushed to the table.table didn’t get cleared properly after starters.couldnt complain about the food.that was very good.

Thank patriciawright6
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Patriciawright6 Sorry that you felt you were rushed to your table but I was pleased that you thought our food was very good. Hope you had a lovely 70th birthday.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Green Man
313 reviews
2.50 km away
The Hare and Hounds
444 reviews
2.60 km away
The Cock at Broom
64 reviews
4.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hoo Hill Maze
13 reviews
3.74 km away
The Shuttleworth Collection
423 reviews
3.77 km away
Champneys Henlow Spa
287 reviews
5.63 km away
Birds of Prey Centre
681 reviews
5.79 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
monicastamp
18 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from Kerry S | Reviewed this property |
They have dog bowls of water outside but it is more a restaurant than pub so would say it's a no for inside
1
Vote
Bob W
5 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Peter D | Reviewed this property |
It's a very popular place, very busy, i presume they are covering themselves in case they get let down, which i'm sure has happened to most restaurants at some time or other. You have to bear in mind that when they take... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shefford, Shefford SG17 5QL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Shefford
  • Phone Number: +44 1462 811398
Description
The Black Horse is a family owned Inn with character and style set in a small hamlet in Bedfordshire. The Black Horse was built in the 17th Century, and although it has been updated and given a contempory style, it still holds its charm and character. With it's exposed original beams, inglenook fireplace and low ceilings, the bar is warm and welcoming - perfect for relaxing with a drink or a glass of wine. The restaurant consists of two distinct dining areas each offering their own unique style and atmosphere with either garden or courtyard outlooks. Our seasonally changed menu's use only the freshest ingredients sourced locally (where possible). The dishes are expertly prepared and presented by a team of highly qualified chef's.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing