We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Horse at Ireland

Shefford, Shefford SG17 5QL, England
+44 1462 811398
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“souffle” (12 reviews)
“steak” (57 reviews)
“pork” (28 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shefford, Shefford SG17 5QL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We visited on Saturday with my husbands parents and our little girl. The waitress and waiter were very attentive and our order was taken very quickly and drinks brought in good time. We had booked in advance so there was a high chair and activity...More

Thank PhoebesMum16
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Food is good, but service is very poor. We waited about 25 mins for someone to take our order and they only did this when I asked them to do so. I did not feel that the staff were attentive at all. They seemed to...More

1  Thank Phil G
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Phil G I apologise for the poor service that you received at The Black Horse which I have to admit saddens me as we rarely receive such comments as yours. However it is certainly not acceptable and I hope that you will afford us...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Knew this place would be the perfect Valentine’s Day treat for us so I booked well in advance. We were really early but we got seated immediately and were given sparkling wine on arrival. Stupidly I didn’t get anyone’s name, but everyone working there on...More

Thank BOUNDBRIDGE
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Boundbridge So pleased to read that you celebrated Valentines Day at The Black Horse and that you enjoyed the occasion. All the staff are delighted to read your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Many thanks

Reviewed 5 days ago

Absolutely superb Sunday Lunch. We all had a roast - lamb or turkey. Sign of a good roast is the potatoes and these were perfect .... golden brown and crunchy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. I had roast turkey, which was moist...More

Thank Mary R
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Mary Many thanks for taking the time to post your superb review which has gone down a treat with all the staff at The Black Horse. The staff look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Whole atmosphere and service and food was very good in all aspects. Highly recommend the cabin stay too. Nothing was too much trouble for tbe staff. Annette & Malcolm

Thank meandyou07
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello Annette and Malcolm Thanks for posting your excellent review and for the recommendation of our accommodation. The staff look forward to a repeat visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Returned after two years my wife wanted to return and I can say big change we had a great time and Raymond was a star with his helpful service. We came with friends, had a great table in conservatory area. two of use had the...More

Thank Patrick R
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Patrick Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Black Horse and that Raymond looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Not been to this restaurant in 20yrs and went to use a voucher we were given. I must say this was the best Sunday lunch we have had in years. Not only was the food excellent the service was great and the ambience of the...More

Thank bedspip
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi bedspip I also could not fault your excellent review which has gone down a treat with all the staff at The Black Horse - many thanks. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful place. Service is truly memorable, the staff seem as one in this regard. Every one is courteous and friendly. We were told the kitchen was very busy and given free bread, olives etc, but actually our meals came out in perfectly acceptable time. I...More

Thank allyn02
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Allyn02 Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a fabulous review. You have certainly made the staff's day! The staff do work very hard to please all customers and it is great when their efforts are appreciated by our customers....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here in one of their ‘cabins’ for our anniversary. They are wonderfully decorated and look almost newly done. It had a modern chic feel with nice bathroom. The bed was very high but I liked that. A continental breakfast was offered in the...More

1  Thank GemmaGarner
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the prices they are charging, the food needs to better in our opinion, My wife's vegetable risotto with mussels, for example, was bland and flavourless. The mains were "ok" but really nothing special. They pay a lot of attention to detail and presentation, but...More

2  Thank MorganTheDog
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi MorganTheDog Oh dear - we obviously did not get it right for you on the day you visited. Please accept my apologies. I will certainly address your comments with the kitchen team. Hopefully if you decide to return, we will be able to reverse...More

PreviousNext
123456117
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Shefford Hotels
The Airman Hotel
195 reviews
4.32 km away
Champneys Henlow
1,907 reviews
5.70 km away
The Crown Hotel
41 reviews
6.40 km away
Stratton House Hotel
170 reviews
6.71 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Green Man
330 reviews
2.50 km away
The Hare and Hounds
454 reviews
2.60 km away
The Cock at Broom
66 reviews
4.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Shuttleworth Collection
427 reviews
3.67 km away
Hoo Hill Maze
14 reviews
3.74 km away
Champneys Henlow Spa
298 reviews
5.63 km away
Birds of Prey Centre
693 reviews
5.81 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
monicastamp
18 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from Kerry S | Reviewed this property |
They have dog bowls of water outside but it is more a restaurant than pub so would say it's a no for inside
1
Vote
Bob W
5 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Peter D | Reviewed this property |
It's a very popular place, very busy, i presume they are covering themselves in case they get let down, which i'm sure has happened to most restaurants at some time or other. You have to bear in mind that when they take... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$21 - US$42
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shefford, Shefford SG17 5QL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Shefford
  • Phone Number: +44 1462 811398
Description
The Black Horse is a family owned Inn with character and style set in a small hamlet in Bedfordshire. The Black Horse was built in the 17th Century, and although it has been updated and given a contempory style, it still holds its charm and character. With it's exposed original beams, inglenook fireplace and low ceilings, the bar is warm and welcoming - perfect for relaxing with a drink or a glass of wine. The restaurant consists of two distinct dining areas each offering their own unique style and atmosphere with either garden or courtyard outlooks. Our seasonally changed menu's use only the freshest ingredients sourced locally (where possible). The dishes are expertly prepared and presented by a team of highly qualified chef's.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing