We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Henley Road | Hurley, Hurley, Maidenhead SL6 5NQ, England
+44 1628 824212
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 174: English reviews
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
599 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for lunch on a Friday - the place was empty. It used to be quite a busy restaurant - this should have warned us. A blackboard outside promised partridge with apple cider gravy. No - that was actually for the day before. We ordered 2 lots of fish and chips, and one fish pie. The seafood was a high... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clivel_98
Barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The serving staff are lovely but sadly the food is not up to scratch, despite the price. Might be a nice spot for a drink but won't be eating there again.

Helpful?
Thank BCNCat
Nicole B, Manager at Black Boys Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate all comments and if you want to drop us an email to expand on where we can improve we would like to hear from you info@blackboysinn.co.uk More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely Sunday roast Was a great atmosphere. The owner and his family & children was all eating too. Was nice with the fire and Music Not too loud. We will go back for the Xmas menu

Helpful?
2 Thank Mandit T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

Just arrived home from a brilliant Sumday lunch. Amazing food and hospitality As a local cannot recommend enough. Forget about The Horns try this establishment. Great food and service. Very clean and staff very efficient and attentive.

Helpful?
3 Thank 12localperson
Nicole B, Owner at Black Boys Inn, responded to this review

We luuuuvvvv having you and are over the moon you have enjoyed yourself with us. Thank you for the pheasants: game will be on the menu next in the next days More 

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

Parking was easy,and the statue of HRH was just amazing. I will certainly be dining there in the future,the menu looked great and the staff very smart and professional and welcoming. Peter S.

Helpful?
2 Thank peter s
Nicole B, Owner at Black Boys Inn, responded to this review

We are looking forward to having you in to try our new and exciting menu :-) More 

Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

We had been here many times during the previous ownership, but not in the past 6-7 years, I'm not sure why as it was great. The food was seasonal, well cooked and presented and in a warm and charming setting. On a whim, we booked a table and looked forward to our meal. The setting is beautiful: an old pub... More 

Helpful?
Thank ruthiegee
Nicole B, Manager at Black Boys Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ruthiegee, Thank you for your comments and we hope you come to try our delicious roast. The roast this Sunday was larger then normal and we needed an extra 20 minutes for it to be cooked perfectly and served for eating at 12.30. I apologise if there was a miscommunication regarding times. We have boards decorating both the inside... More 

Aschaffenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for 1 night. Arrived at 9:45pm , we quickly got checked in and into our room. Unfortunately the reception staff member finished at 10pm and the wifi is passworded so no internet. The rooms are tiny, definitely no room to swing the proverbial cat! Tastefully decorated and clean. It's also an old wood beamed building... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
Nicole B, Manager at Black Boys Inn, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry that you felt our country Inn did not meet your expectations. Our basic room at £70 that you booked is equipped with a king bed , lounge chair , closet , bed side tables and a desk. The bathroom with a walk in shower is also standard size. But I appreciate it is our smallest and... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2016

After having an awful experience trying to book our meal (due to a fault phone system apparently). We had a wonderful experience at the Black boys inn. The food was delicious can recommend the cod dish & chicken off of the set menu (or groupon offer). Our only disappointment was pudding which was literally a bite size mouthful of sticky... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jemma S
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

We pop in here occasionally for lunch. It is on the Henley - Maidenhead road with good parking. It was very good and reasonably priced but the food has become more 'Fat Duckish' and the cost has risen. We used to take others there, now we are taken by others who like what they provide.

Helpful?
Thank petergreig
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2016

Was slightly worried as had difficulty booking, this may have been as it was a Groupon deal. No need to worry as had a lovely evening with good food, wine and lovely surroundings. The staff were lovely as well. Not sure about the strange sitting statue of HRH in the garden, bit creepy!

Helpful?
Thank Mlord22
Helen B, Manager at Black Boys Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and visiting us. All our staff try very hard to make sure each customer leaves happy and full. Our HRH garden statue is allot like marmite ; people either love it or hate it. We have found through customer feedback 95% of clientele love it so it by majority will... More 

Travellers who viewed Black Boys Inn also viewed

 
Hurley, Maidenhead
 

Been to Black Boys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Henley Road | Hurley, Hurley, Maidenhead SL6 5NQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Windsor and Maidenhead  >  Maidenhead  >  Hurley
  • Phone Number: +44 1628 824212

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Black Boys Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Black Boys Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?