We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wheatsheaf

Town Road, Croston PR26 9RA, England
+44 1772 600370
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good22%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (7 reviews)
“pie” (7 reviews)
“steak” (12 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Town Road, Croston PR26 9RA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went here for lunch on a rainy Sunday. Great food and certainly lots of it. We both had roast beef and it was fab. Great village pub. Great value.

2  Thank Vivien H
crostonwheatsheaf, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Vivien, Many thanks for a brilliant review, we always try our best where possible. what better than a hot Sunday Lunch on a cold rainy day. Regards Jaye Assistant Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Driving back to Preston from Southport and decided to have lunch out- actually it also saved making tea as so well fed. Very clean toilets, free wi-fi and super friendly service. The food was absolutely excellent. Lightly battered cod, fresh and done just right with...More

3  Thank Pete S
crostonwheatsheaf, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Pete, What a fantastic review you've left for us. In regards the Balti Pie, something different yet satisfying at the same time, I'm glad you enjoyed your trip here and hopefully we'll see you again soon. Regards Jaye Assistant Manager

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Went for a breakfast on a Sunday morning. Started great. Empty pub. Quick order taken. Waitesss said help yourself to tea/ coffee. There was empty packets piled high, no spoons, no hot water. Had to ask. Waited 50 minutes for breakfast to arrive. Mine was...More

2  Thank Moaningmadge
crostonwheatsheaf, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Madge, Thanks for your review, however there are a few points I would like to clear up. * The fact you waited 50 mins for breakfast after you said the pub was empty? There is no way you would've waited this long, I was...More

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

First tried the wheatsheaf last year and was a little disappointed. This second visit was so much better. I ordered the cod loin wrapped in Parma ham on a tomato and chorizo risotto. With a balsamic jus and garnished with light green salad leafs. Well...More

2  Thank fir3mansam
crostonwheatsheaf, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Many thanks for giving us another go, I can only apologise for whatever was wrong with your first visit, however to see a review such as you've left has filled me with confidence knowing that the new procedures we've put in place are working...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017

The food we had at the lovely pub/ restaurant was very good indeed, but I gave 5 stars because of the really excellent and well thought out access to all parts of it. I am disabled and use a small folding scooter, and I am...More

3  Thank Lynnette A
crostonwheatsheaf, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Lynnette, What a lovely review you've left us. we do try and be as accommodating as possible where we can. I am glad that you found the access perfect for your visit to us. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Jaye Assistant...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017

I visited from overseas. I enjoyed a beautiful dinner on my stay and made the Wheatsheaf my local for the duration of my stay. Croston is a very friendly village and is stunningly beautiful.

3  Thank Klfitzgerald
Reviewed 10 August 2017

only good experiences there, been couple of times and beer as well as food is great - meals are very tasty and filling, it's tough to choose sometimes cause all sound good and so far all we've ordered was indeed like that, would recommend it...More

3  Thank lostinmoments
crostonwheatsheaf, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, What a fantastic review, thank you very much. I struggle to choose sometimes myself with our varied menu, as yourself, I'm always happy with what I choose in the end. hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Jaye Assistant Manager

Reviewed 10 August 2017

Stayed at a local campsite recently, went for a lak and came across Croston, nice little place with some nice cottages, came across the Wheatsheaf, we sat outside in the sun and had a few drinks ,very enjoyable, nice selection of drinks, we had all...More

2  Thank Tango953
crostonwheatsheaf, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Tango, Thanks for the review. Perfect little sun trap during the day, sipping a few beverages and watching village life pass you by. We hope to see you again when you're next in town, we've a good selection of food available on our menu,...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This village pub is just brimming with atmosphere. It has a wonderful alfresco drinking and dining area at the front & a wonderful selection of Gins. The food is Bistro style with lots of variety & home cooked. Worth a visit if you're in the...More

3  Thank 1066walt
crostonwheatsheaf, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Walt, Muddy paws more than welcome here at the Wheatsheaf. Our range of gins are always being updated with something new to try. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Jaye Assistant Manager

Reviewed 24 July 2017

with great service and food--a bit on the dear side for my liking but all top class ingredients and some well kept beers--great outside space to sit and enjoy your drinks on a sunny afternoon.

3  Thank jeffhutchy
crostonwheatsheaf, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jeff, Thanks for the review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Jaye Assistant Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Grapes
573 reviews
.15 km away
Panshi
110 reviews
.03 km away
Fresco Fresco
205 reviews
.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Old Corn Mill Antiques Centre
17 reviews
2.11 km away
Rufford Old Hall
380 reviews
3.64 km away
Bygone Times
261 reviews
4.40 km away
Cedar Farm Galleries
31 reviews
4.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Wheatsheaf staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$21
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Town Road, Croston PR26 9RA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Croston
  • Phone Number: +44 1772 600370
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing