We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Bull

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
40-42 High Street, Yarm TS15 9BH, England
+44 1642 791251
Website
Today
09:00 - 01:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 09:00 - 00:00
Fri - Sat 09:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 156: English reviews
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My friends and I use the Black Bull to meet up before going on to other places. We met up on a Thursday evening in March. The bar had two guest beers and the barman gave us tasters so we could make the right choice. A nice touch for beer lovers. The Beer was different, well kept and delicious. Early... More 

Helpful?
Thank mark w
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Mark W, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Black Bull, Yarm! Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! More 

Yarm, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been going to the Black Bull for many years, it's always been the best place to go in Yarm. During the week it's a lovely place to take the family. The food and drinks are fairly priced for the area, the food is general pub food but amazing for the price. During the weekend it's always the busiest and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eskiimo92
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Eskiimo92, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at The Black Bull, Yarm. Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day! More 

Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in for breakfast. Had previously been 4 or 5 times. Placed my order and sat down. Another couple had already finished and I overheard their complaints, but still thought to give it a chance.They were addressed by the Manager who actually refunded the price of their meal and apologised, saying "new chef and she had sent the Kitchen Manager... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Chris B, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. Falling short of meeting your expectations is not to the standards we strive to achieve, and we humbly ask for the opportunity to make this right. Thank you providing this information so we can improve... More 

Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've visited this pub a few times in the past few months. Food is good, staff are really friendly, it's a very popular pub. It was only on my last visit that I noticed something that didn't sit right with me, and it was the rear garden. It was sunny, little kids were playing outside. There's a Tv in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken T
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi, Ken T, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We certainly do care about our reputation and would like to think that this is definitely a one off. We're over the moon that you enjoyed our food, outside TV and staff, but would like to assure you that cleaning staff have been briefed and a new cleaning... More 

Shildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here yesterday with family for a meal first table we sat down at was broken , moved elsewhere then to the bar no draught coke on , ordered food asked for no tomato or peas with my sons order , guess what it came with them! Food was average and not a lot on your plate but tasty enough.... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi, David M, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Unfortunately it looks like we haven't delivered the high level of service all of our guests deserve. It was one of those days that we seemed to have a lot of technical issues but that definitely should not have affected you. Our manager would really like to help... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been going to the Black Bull for over 30 years but its gone right down the nick. The last manager is a smashing lad and tried very hard but if the owners of the freehold wont invest in the place, he was always fighting a losing battle. The problem with the Bull is it is a victim of its... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thelonewolf2020
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thelonewolf2020, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Black Bull, Yarm. We would like to reassure you that both staff and management have a passion for service and we certainly do not rest our laurels. Over the last 30 years that The Black Bull has been welcoming you, there have been many changes, not least... More 

durham
Level Contributor
190 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is a busy large pub on the high street, service has always been good and has a nice range of good real ales, it has a large beer garden and is really good in the summer

Helpful?
Thank jonnyboy67
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Jonnyboy67. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Black Bull, Yarm. Hopefully Summer is on it's way so you can really take advantage of our beer garden. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. More 

Eaglescliffe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely place to go great atmosphere and really amazing helpful staff!!! Helped me a lot after my phone was lost and helped me get it straight back. Great nice chilled place to go always packed and a good night good place on high street too.

Helpful?
Thank libertystock
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Libertystock. We're really glad we helped you out and that you've had great times in the Black Bull. You really made our day today. More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Was a traditional family pub. Now girls walking around selling shots. Tacky! Disappointed to find such a great pub been run down.

Helpful?
Thank siouxsie10
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Siouxsie10, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The management and staff at The Black Bull, Yarm take our reviews very seriously. You point out that we were a traditional family pub, I believe that we still are, however we are throughout the day lots of different offers to lots of different guests. We trialled some girls taking... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We came into Yarm town centre and decided to call in the Black Bull for a drink. The barman was really nice and very friendly to his customers. We sat down and looked at the dinner menu and ordered a meal, after they lit candles on every table and around the log burners. What a great meal it was and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kyosamaggie1
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thanks Kyosamaggie1 for providing us with such fantastic feedback. It really makes our day when one of our guests has had such a lovely time. Hope you manage to come back to the area soon. You really made our day today. Mark Eddy Manager More 

Travellers who viewed The Black Bull also viewed

Yarm, North Yorkshire
Yarm, North Yorkshire
 
Yarm, North Yorkshire
 
Yarm, North Yorkshire
Yarm, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
09:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 00:00
Thursday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 01:00
Saturday
09:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 40-42 High Street, Yarm TS15 9BH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Yarm
  • Phone Number: +44 1642 791251
Description
You'd be hard pushed to find a finer real ale pub in Yarm. In fact, we believe The Black Bull is unrivalled in its choice of quality cask-conditioned beers and carefully compiled menu of British pub dishes. For directions to our landmark pub, see the interactive map to the right.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Bull staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?