We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cross Keys

Middlesbrough Road, Guisborough TS14 6RW, England
+44 1287 610035
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good26%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (13 reviews)
“pudding” (15 reviews)
“lamb” (10 reviews)
Closes in 21 min
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Middlesbrough Road, Guisborough TS14 6RW, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Had the nut roast from the festive menu. It was rock hard, black around the edges and completely dried out all the way through. The kale was raw and this made the meal pretty disappointing. Couldn't be bothered complaining to the staff. I've had a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Gail1471
AnthonyR3426, General Manager at Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Gail, thank you for the feedback and we are sorry that you were disappointed in the meal served. We are more upset to hear that you didn't want to tell us, which would have given us an opportunity for us to put this right...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

We booked this a week before for a festive catch-up as a group of three friends. Upon arrival, our request had been met, crackers on the table, menu choices were good- would of preferred more starter choices as there was only one I liked which...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Pioneer30904484874
AnthonyR3426, General Manager at Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you Pioneer for taking the time to tell us about your latest visit with us. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed our Festive Menu, it's proving to be a hit this year! I will pass on your comments about choices to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked last minute but no problem fitting us in, great service as always, staff are really welcoming and friendly & are knowledgable about the menu, food was absolutely lovely can’t wait to try the game pie again....mmmm

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Date of visit: November 2018
Thank karen15819
AnthonyR3426, General Manager at Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Karen for this wonderful review. The Game Pie is a popular dish at the minute and we agree is delicious. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service was slow but I could see the staff were rushed off their feet. A customer on the next table told me "it is worth the wait" and she was right. The chef's fish grill with triple cooked chips was well cooked and absolutely delicious....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank moreboredofthis
AnthonyR3426, General Manager at Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words. I know the team get a buzz when they are fortunate enough to bump in to our guests and they are able to be thanked in person. We are sorry for the slow service, but delighted to hear that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic offer for seasonal Xmas lunch with friends. We were well looked after and didn’t have to wait for drinks or food. We had a first rate meal.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Date of visit: November 2018
Thank John D
AnthonyR3426, General Manager at Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sue Thanks for taking the time and effort to review us. We are really happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you really rated the meal see you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in at tea time been coming for Many years now lovely and warm staff friendly I was having trouble with my wi fi a member of staff helped me sort it Rob very obliging food good I had gammon hubby had a burger food...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank yvonnemb56
AnthonyR3426, General Manager at Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Yvonne Thanks for the review. I agree sometimes the WIFI can be a bit of a pain especially when we are busy but overall its not to bad. Really glad this did not put you off and you had a nice meal and you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very poor people running front of house. Shown to a table and were left without menus and service. We left after 20 minutes waiting for someone to take our order. Extremely disappointing experience and we will be unlikely to return in the near future unless...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Venture21415836457
AnthonyR3426, General Manager at Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I will look into the points you have raised but can you please ring us on 01287610035 so i can get more information from you to look into this in more detail.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called here with some friends. Some of us had a starter. I had a delicious plate of scallops and salad which was very tasty. The steak was done very well and the sweet potato chips were great. Nice atmosphere and better choices than we had...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank helstravels
AnthonyR3426, General Manager at Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and you also enjoyed your food I would agree the scallops are rather nice and must be one of my favourite starters on the menu. see you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been there a couple of times recently with varying standards of food. First time was for their Steak Night where myself and partner had the Steaks off the specials menu and were both very disappointed as the steak was incredibly tough... the other half...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank garyl2009
AnthonyR3426, General Manager at Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Gary Thanks for the review. Yes we don't get it right all the time who does? but we always try and make it right if a guest is unhappy as we did in this case. We are really glad you enjoyed your second visit to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always get what you expect here, proper pub grub, not fine dining, but good honest food in a warm friendly pub. Reasonable prices, usually have three real ales and must be the cleanest pub I have ever been in!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Paul R
AnthonyR3426, General Manager at Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Paul thanks for taking the time to send use a review. We love it when guests enjoy there visit with us and go home happy. See you again soon

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
285 reviews
.31 km away
The Treebridge Hotel
379 reviews
4.43 km away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
1,741 reviews
5.45 km away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
782 reviews
6.73 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Kings Head Inn
489 reviews
2.77 km away
Branch Walkway Cafe Guisborough
50 reviews
1.44 km away
Cliff Rigg Restaurant
21 reviews
1.86 km away
Nearby Attractions
Roseberry Topping
638 reviews
3.29 km away
My Serenity
115 reviews
4.18 km away
Stewart Park
417 reviews
4.97 km away
Captain Cook Schoolroom Museum
47 reviews
5.13 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kenneth S
19 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from LandJ1974 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I have no idea, I don’t shop at Tesco as we don’t have one nearby.
0
Votes
Michael C
19 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from EdwardC0910 | Reviewed this property |
because tesco vouchers cannot be used in conjuction with any other offer or voucher. the lunch/evening menu has an offer for a two/three course meal, and when tesco vouchers, or any other voucher is applied to it, the... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Middlesbrough Road, Guisborough TS14 6RW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Guisborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1287 610035
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing