We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Woolpack Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Warminster Road, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
+44 1373 831244
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Looking for a halfway point to meet friends, we remembered this from childhood. Across the road used to be a hedge trimmed as a battleship with gun turrets and funnels. Not there now sadly but the pub turned out to be a good-un. Friendly, clean, parking, good selection of beers and excellent lunchtime fish & chips - what more could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the hotel above the bar but on our first night we ate here. It was great food and a varied menu. Very busy on a Friday evening so I'd recommend to book. Great service and quick. Would recommend for good pub food

Helpful?
Thank 186Sophiep94
SuttonColdfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On the night in question of the previous review, I was there, whilst the bar was quiet the restaurant was heaving. just before the hen party arrived another large group arrived possibly 10 people. when the hen party arrived they were told immediately that there may be a delay as previous party had just ordered. I too was told there... More 

Helpful?
Thank NessandJules
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So utterly dissatisfied with the service we received tonight! Thought we'd book in for a nice meal for part of a hen weekend celebration and was greeted with such a rude and arrogant assistant manager called Lou! Booked in for 7 and food did not arrive until almost 9. When it finally arrived one of our party was served mouldy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sanchezuk
Old_English_Inns99, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sanchezuk, First of all I would like to apologise for the level of service and the quality of food that you have recieved. We do our utmost to ensure that we offer the best dishes for the lowest prices and comments such as yours will now be used to help develop our methods to ensure greater satisfaction in future.... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We visited here for food as recommended whilst staying in a local B&B. We were not disappointed! delicious food and warm and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Mia G
Old_English_Inns99, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mia G, Thank you for your review, We are pleased that you had a lovely visit to us your review has been passed onto the rest of the team, we would like to see you again if your visiting down this way. Many Thanks Tina More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We waited over 30 minutes to have our order taken and had to hunt down a member of staff twice to get our order taken, we waited almost two hours for a dinner. Clearly they overbooked and not enough staff. Ruined the whole meal but we were given money off and free drinks.

Helpful?
Thank Sasha L
Old_English_Inns99, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sasha L, Thank you for your review, Im sorry to read that your mothers day meal wasn't as pleasent as you'd hoped, I have passed on your review to both kitchen and frontof house staff, we always look to work together to improve our service to customers, We hope that you come back again. Many Thanks Tina More 

Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Nice lunch menu and very good prices. Decent beer and friendly service. Recommended. Only downside is the car park is not very big

Helpful?
Thank Matelot0905
Old_English_Inns99, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Matelot0905, Thank you for your review, I have passed on your review to the team, we look forward to seeing you again. Many Thanks Tina More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Staff were friendly. However, despite booking we were told there would be a 45 minute wait for food. Several of the menu options were not available. Ordered pie, but pastry was overcooked. It is a nice atmosphere and the food was good apart from the pastry.

Helpful?
Thank SVW24
Old_English_Inns99, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear SVW24, Thnak you for your review, I have passed on your comments to the kitchen team regarding the pie and the other comments have been passed on to relevent staff. We hope to see you again soon, Many Thanks Tina More 

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Great food, friendly staff, good location, plus 10% off for people staying at the nearby Travelodge, would definitely recommend this pub. Beckington village very nice and pretty worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank traderjay2016
Old_English_Inns99, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Traderjay2016, Thank you for your review, We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us, We hope to see you again soon Many Thanks Tina More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Ate here whilst staying the night in the area. Thought I'd try the Fillet steak as a treat. I was unfortunately a tad disappointed with the quality of the meat. The chips were nice and crispy, when they're the best thing on a plate containing a cut of Fillet then something's wrong. The food was fine, didn't think it represented... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellwen
Old_English_Inns99, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear A7SHR, Thank you for your review, Im sorry to read that you had a disappointing meal with us, i have passed your review onto the kitchen team to allow changes to be made, and have passed other comments onto relevent staff. We hope to see you again. Regards Tina More 

Travellers who viewed The Woolpack Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Warminster Road, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Frome  >  Beckington
  • Phone Number: +44 1373 831244
  • This restaurant is at The Woolpack Inn

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Woolpack Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Rugby, United Kingdom
Exeter, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Woolpack Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?