We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Priory

) #1 of 2 Restaurants in Portbury $$ - $$$ , British,
Station Road, Portbury BS20 7TN, England
+44 1275 376307
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good31%
  • Average22%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“creme brulee” (5 reviews)
“pies” (10 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Station Road, Portbury BS20 7TN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 476 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Booked in advance for a large party for lunch. Turned up to find that apparently someone from our party had called to cancel the table - definitely not the case. They, unapologetically, scrapped a few dirty tables together in the bar area. Not a good...More

Thank LB19861
Reviewed 2 days ago

Haven't been to the Priory for sometime mainly because everything, well it seemed that way, came with cheese. New they have a much better menu and we will visit again. The pub is well decorated , didn't sit in the garden, it was a bit...More

Thank oink0880
Reviewed 3 days ago

I have not ate in this restaurant for a few years.It was really quiet evening and a Thursday,but 2 options on the specials were not available! Not off to a good start.You have to order everything at the bar and waiter service was non existent.You...More

Thank Susanlockyer
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Warm and cosy tavern, gives you a real taste of an English pub. Quite a variety of share platters, main courses and puddings. We loved the Hunters chicken dish.

Thank wanderlust_CMS
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Wanderlust_cms, thank you so much for the positive review! and we are glad you enjoyed the food and we hope to see you again soon. The Priory Team

Reviewed 5 days ago

We are a Sunday walking group who go for a meal about 6pm at the end of our walk. We have visited The Priory many times over the years albeit, it may only be once or twice a year. We arranged a table for our...More

Thank duntoglos
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Duntoglos, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was great! Very nice and reasonably priced. However the service was very slow. Despite this everything else was extremely good!!!

Thank lucy20012013
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Lucy20012013, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! we do get very busy on Sundays which can impact cooking times so we do apologise. The Priory Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointing, Yorkshire pudding not able to be cut with a knife that dried out from to much time spent on the warming plate. Roast carrots inedible as raw, undercooked cabbage. Turkey was tender and pigs in blanket very tasty, but overall not good. We...More

Thank Tinaonholiday2014
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Tinaonholiday2014, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us our sunday lunches are very popular but on this occasion we did not meet our usual standard and for that we apologise. The Priory Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

I am very hard to impress when it comes to dining out. Apparently I'm told there is always something to moan about. However I havent been able to fault this pub/restaurant at all. It doesnt pretend to be something it isn't. It doesnt charge extra...More

Thank jim s
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Jim S, thank you for the high star rating! The Priory Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked our table online which was waiting for us on arrival so no hassle. Lovely roast beef, sliced thinly and cooked to perfection and plated with nice, crisp roast potatoes. Vegetables, served in a separate dish, were well cooked and delicious with a nice glaze,...More

Thank KarlLondon_Pimlico
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Karllondon_pimlico, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Priory, Portbury! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely old pub in Portbury which I seem to remember in the murky past of fifty years who. Nothing murky about this place which is a shining white oasis. Steak and chips to die for and the Melba Mess was magnificent. Efficient friendly staff and...More

Thank shish57
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Shish57, thank you so much for the positive review! and we are glad you enjoyed your visit , hope to see you again soon . The Priory Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Kings Arms
10 reviews
1.57 km away
The Anchor
75 reviews
3.03 km away
Welcome Break Gordano
183 reviews
1.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Portishead Marina
245 reviews
2.89 km away
Tyntesfield
1,076 reviews
3.91 km away
Bristol & Clifton Golf Club
20 reviews
5.05 km away
Long Ashton Golf Club
11 reviews
5.55 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jacklyn T
17 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Fran W | Reviewed this property |
here are facilities outside for dogs to have a drink, so I wouls imagine tyhey are. You could always call them to ask the question, I have always found them very helpful.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road, Portbury BS20 7TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Portbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1275 376307
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing