We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$34
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
365
128
52
28
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
365
128
52
28
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger beef fish and chips sticky toffee pudding mash potatoes pie sunday lunch minstrels gallery the pub tartar sauce excellent food and service booked a table cooked to perfection on arrival lovely atmosphere tunnel
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 24 August 2021 via mobile

We were travelling home to the Scottish Borders and had visited the Blackbird several years ago, remembering that it was a very good experience. We stopped for lunch and thankfully the restaurant is as good as ever. Very busy considering it was early lunchtime but...there was ample tables within this large pub/restaurant. Service excellent and they catered well for coeliacs. Prices acceptable and the premises are lovely furnished with a nice ambiance. There appears to be many locals who visit which is an encouraging sign. Would happily recommendMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Stuart Young, Owner at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2021

Dear Bordersgeezer, we are so pleased that we lived up to your memory from your last visit and that your food intolerance was well catered for. We hope you will call again when next in our area Team Blackbird

Reviewed 21 August 2021

Smashing pub in the beautiful village of Ponteland. Delightful decor throughout, with a lovely atmosphere. Decent menu, good choice of dishes with some good veggie choices too. Steak was cooked to perfection, and chicken burger hit the spot, a bit spicey, but tasty all the...same. Super friendly staff, a credit to the place. Lots of seating outside, in a lovely environment. Plenty of parking, but remember to log your registration to avoid a possible fine. Overall a great early evening visit, definitely worth a visit.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Stuart Young, Owner at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2021

Dear Foster1965, thanks so much for the fantastic feedback, we are glad you enjoyed yourself so much Team Blackbird

Reviewed 9 August 2021

Called here on the off-chance and found it packed but with a table to spare for us! Staff were very friendly and helpful and we were served quickly with a very good meal. Good value for money and delicious food combined with nice staff -...it gets our voteMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Stuart Young, Owner at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2021

Hi malcolmscott, So glad we got your vote, please call again. Team Blackbird

Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

The Blackbird is a well known historic pub in the rather upmarket village of Ponteland. We’ve passed it many times but today was the first time we’ve stopped off for a beer and some lunch. It’s a nice setting and has plenty of outdoor seating....The building itself has a long history and is fairly tastefully decorated inside with a country pub vibe. The choice of real ales was decent and the food menu has some more unusual dishes - if you’ve tired of the typical pub grub. On the day we went, service wasn’t perfect but it wasn’t slow either. The food wasn’t cheap but it was very good. The beer was as you’d expect - pretty good. Bottom line - despite the location, it is just a pub. However, it’s a pretty decent one and seems to have a large loyal customer base. Give it a try. It’s worth a detour.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Stuart Young, Owner at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2021

Hi Rambler, thanks for the detailed critique Team Blackbird

Reviewed 19 July 2021

My husband Tim and I visited today, we had the Asian salad followed by a beef and lamb Sunday lunch. Beautiful food served promptly by pleasant and attentive young staff. We will definitely return.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Stuart Young, Owner at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

Hi Jackiem28, thanks for taking the time to review us. It's great to get such positive feedback. Team Blackbird

Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

Great food and very good staff. A very relaxed atmosphere will definitely return soon! Try it you won’t be disappointed

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Stuart Young, Owner at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

Dear Pam0303, thanks for the terrific recommendation, it is always great to know our team have got it right. We hope to see you again soon Team Blackbird

Reviewed 1 July 2021

Two of us arrived for a pre-booked inside table. We (discreetly) asked to be moved because of large party of older people who were a little loud. My friend wears a hearing aid so is quite sensitive to noise. We were moved to another table...with no problem. We both ordered the Aisian beef salad for starter followed by the Moroccan Lamb flatbread for main. Had I realised the starter was going to be so large, I think I would have gone straight to dessert! It was extremely tasty and full of different textures and flavours. I struggled to finish the lamb flatbread but it was also delicious. The lady and young man who served us were very attentive and made sure everything was OK for us. I'm looking forward to my next visitMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Stuart Young, Owner at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2021

Dear Reviewer, it is always great to receive such great feed back on both the food and our team. We hope to see you again soon Team Blackbird

Reviewed 28 June 2021

Me and my friends visited yesterday as our final university meal together, we had the most amazing roast dinner & the lovely lady that served us (Sue) went above and beyond for us! The best service we have all had in a long time, the...food was fantastic & the pub is absolutely lovely. 10/10 couldn’t have been better!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Stuart Young, Owner at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Hi Isobelken13, Thanks for the amazing feedback, were so glad you enjoyed your lunch I will make sure Sue sees your comment!! Team Blackbird

Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

Only popped in for a beer whilst in the locality and found the staff really friendly and welcoming. Great seating outdoors and the table service was prompt and courteous👌

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
Stuart Young, Owner at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Dear Hood40, Thanks for the positive review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit Team Blackbird

Reviewed 27 May 2021

Went in on 17th May as soon as restrictions lifting. We had a wonderful lunch in an excellent setting. We had missed our lunches here so much and returned, had Pie of the day and the Haddock. The food was very tasty and the gin...and tonics were the icing on the cake. We had reserved this back in February .The staff were excellent and I could not praise this place enough, always innovative and long May it remain so. Thank you, thank youMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Stuart Young, Owner at The Blackbird, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2021

Dear Hazrl L Thanks for the great feedback, we are delighted to be back and welcoming guests old and new to the Blackbird. Hope to see you again soon

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
1,481 reviews
2.29 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2,488 reviews
2.52 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport hotel
1,847 reviews
2.54 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) hotel
728 reviews
3.52 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ristorante Fratelli
868 reviews
.28 km away
Post Box
202 reviews
.15 km away
Rialto Ristorante Italiano
304 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens
498 reviews
4.48 km away
Northumbria Helicopters
39 reviews
4.72 km away
Diamond Inn
27 reviews
.15 km away
Northumberland Cheese Company
77 reviews
5.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
LiznKeith
11 March 2020|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Dontblameme1 | Reviewed this property |
I would book to be certain of a table. Especially if you are wanting to eat in the restaurant. Tables are also in the bar and it is also pleasant there.
1
Vote
lovespainYork
31 January 2020|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from stuart y | Property representative |
Hi, We allow dogs in our main bar area but not in the Tunnel Room or Minstrel Gallery restaurants. We offer the same food throughout at all times. Team Blackbird
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Blackbird

The Blackbird is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4