We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

India Villa

) #2 of 6 Restaurants in Thaxted $$ - $$$ Indian, Asian,
20 Watling Street, Thaxted, England
+44 1371 831205
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good30%
  • Average6%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“poppadoms” (12 reviews)
“curry” (10 reviews)
“chicken” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
20 Watling Street, Thaxted, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Having eaten Indian food at two other restaurants in the previous week, this was by far the best not only in terms of the quality of the food but also of the service. The only downside was due to a transfer of ownership, the new...More

Thank mofferm
Sobhan S, General Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks it's really nice to hear from you and thanks for your review, we always trying to keep our food and service on the point , And it is really bad for the license and good news we all sort it so hopefully end of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great food. Had Goan lamb dish. Okra bahji excellent. Loved coconut and chutneys for popadoms. Friendly and helpful service.

Thank carotyr
Sobhan S, General Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks very much for your review , the meal you had you really enjoyed it , my recommend to you try something new for a changed , for example bengal roast or king prawn perry Perry or chicken chili fry.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent service and ambiance but the Chef on this occasion put far too much sugar in the savoury dishes which quite spoils them. This was my second visit and I hope they are reading this as I want to make a third visit soon.More

Thank Ludensian2
Sobhan S, Owner at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks you for your review, we glad that you put the message here but we want to know where you find too much sugar so we can solve the problem for you and next time when you come in so there won't be any fault...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We travelled from Braintree to try this Indian and was not disappointed the building is old with a fantastic view of the church, tandoori mixed grill was bootiful my wife's curry was great to the garlic naan was very tasty great visit also left our...More

Thank COLNKEL
Sobhan S, Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much, you came from bit far away to try our restaurant we really glad to hear you wasn't disappointed, and yes the building is very old but we have really great view off the church. Tandoori dish very tasty always and my...More

Reviewed 6 July 2017

Start with the building was tatty and looked like they haven't spent money on it during the past 8-10 years. Even the interior was looking old and tatty. The previous owner was running a good Indian restaurant but some time ago the changed hands, for...More

Thank C T
Sobhan S, Owner at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

We really surprise by reading your message, that never happen to us and if you don't believe me , read the other message and tell the diffference, I understand about that buildings but about the curry we never had complain like that. Yeah building its...More

Reviewed 12 June 2017

Things seem to have improved here recently, with the odd hiccup. Depending on what you order and when you order things can vary from being good to somewhat oily food and slick to very slow service. Takeaway time can be chaotic.More

Thank ChelmsfordMel
Sobhan S, Owner at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review,, we are trying to improve everything our takeaway service, I understand sometime our take services can be bit slow but we trying to improve that and make more faster, now I come to your food,basically my point is about oily, it's...More

Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

We have eaten at the Indian Villa in Thaxted quite a few times. The most recent being May 2017. The food is authentic and delicious and the service is spot on. This recent is the best that Thaxted has to offer.

Thank Robyn M
Sobhan S, Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Hi Robyn thank you very much, really appreciate you really enjoyed your meal and our service. . Thank you very much once agin hope to you see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Been eating here for years....Gets better every time we go....love it here. Friendly, fast service.....fantastic food!

Thank Mary P
Sobhan S, Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Hi Mary thank you very much for yur review, we are glad to hear that you really enjoys our services and our meal.

Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Went for my birthday celebration, waiters all very helpful on explaining dishes, I had India villa mixed grill huge divine & very tasty, will definitely be returning to try out out other dishes.

Thank Lisa R
Sobhan S, Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you very much Lisa we hope you enjoyed your birthday at India villa. Yes all of our staff very friendly n nice, very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and thank again we are looking forward to see you again.

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Beware of Indian Villa's practice of not taking the 10% collection discount off your bill. I was offered a "complimentary" bottle of wine "because of order size " (£85 for take away). I paid and whilst waiting for the food checked my bill and realised...More

Thank MikeA15
Sobhan S, Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Hi mike , we have seen youe review and read it through. My sincery apologizes to you. This is all miscumation about the offer , it's basically my staff couldn't explained it properly about the offere, basically the offer was with two options one is...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Star
143 reviews
.33 km away
Parrishes
115 reviews
.16 km away
The Maypole Thaxted
28 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Thaxted
39 reviews
.14 km away
Prince of Wales Broxted
25 reviews
6.49 km away
The Nurture Barn
43 reviews
6.78 km away
Guildhall Finchingfield
11 reviews
7.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stel300
11 September 2016|
Answer
Response from aliboulton | Reviewed this property |
No idea, sorry. I was only visiting as I was working locally for one night.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 Watling Street, Thaxted, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Thaxted
  • Phone Number: +44 1371 831205
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing