We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Devon Doorway

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Telegraph Road, Heswall CH60 2SA, England
+44 151 348 4462
Website
Today
10:00 - 00:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 23:00
Fri 12:00 - 00:00
Sat 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 516: English reviews
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This is our favourite place to eat and drink on the Wirral. The service was excellent, the staff were lovely and the food was amazing. Once again thankyou for looking after us.

Helpful?
Thank Corrgnk
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi Corrgnk, so great to hear how much you have enjoyed everything our pub has to offer. Thank you for your lovely feedback, we really look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Looking for a posh night out with good food and expensive drinks... you've found it! Lovely setting, quality food and friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi Matthew J, It is great to hear you enjoyed an evening in our cosy pub. Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope to see you back soon. Many thanks. More 

Coedpoeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We chose her following a lovely reunion earlier in the year. Lovely food and the staff made us feel very welcome. Thank you for the lovely hospitality.

Helpful?
Thank tantalwrn
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi tantalwrn, It is so great to hear you enjoyed your visit, thank you for the positive feedback. Best Wishes More 

Wirral
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Upon my visit to the premier inn Heswall the opertunity arose to cross the road and have a drink in the Devon Doorway public house. It was beautifully dressed with lights, Christmas tree , a warm inviting fire , which was great fully appreciated as it was cold and wet outdoors.the bar staff and customers were friendly and nice. Lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi Brenda T, Fantastic to hear you enjoyed some drinks in our snug pub, the fires are perfect in the cold winter weather. Many thanks. More 

Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a voucher for 40 pounds, we got two 8 oz steak and paid extra for chips 3.95 we got five chips, the steak cooked ok but not that good a piece of meat, service was quick, if I had paid full price I would have been really disappointed,

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi Paul S, I am sorry to hear you did not feel your experience was up to our usual standard. In future please let your server know as they will always be more than happy to help. Many thanks for your feedback we will be sure to take your comments on board. More 

Prenton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What has happened to this jewel ? Poor service. We never got the drinks we ordered not once but twice. One and a half slices of tiny Pork loin which was corrected after promoting Never got the wine or coffees we ordered. No cheese biscuits with cheese despite asking. Such a shame this place used to be packed and there... More 

Helpful?
Thank g4ajr
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi g4ajr, I am sorry to hear you felt your last visit was not up to our usual high standard. We appreciate your feedback and will most definitely learn from your comments. We hope to see you back in our lovely pub again soon, Many thanks More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Devondoorway is a nice bar/restaurant with good food and friendly staff. The clientele however sometimes seem to be rather loud and opinionated and for this get charged more than the nearby Anchor at Irby (owned by same group) for both wine and food. The manager, Mike, and his staff are friendly and helpful and make for and can't do... More 

Helpful?
Thank pdamci
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi pdamci, thank you for your positive comments about our lovely pub and staff. Many thanks More 

El Arenal, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely evening with friends. The restaurant was very busy but the staff were excellent. The food was one of the best I've had in a pub chain. I will be back.

Helpful?
Thank mollyburton671
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi mollyburton671, it is great to hear you enjoyed your meal with us, many thanks for the positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

liverpool
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Midweek first visit in a party of four. We opted for the 2 courses with a bottle of wine per couple. It was excellent vaue with a good selection of food available from the set menu. Not surprisingly it was fairly busy but the food courses arrived as ordered with no complaints. Staff friendly and attentiveand lovely surroundings with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank markdunlaoire
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi markdunlaoire, It is great to hear you enjoyed our fantastic value Midweek Menu. Thank you for the positive feedback, we really look forward to seeing you back in our cosy pub soon. Many thanks More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sunday lunch visit, I had prawns to start which was lovely served on great plate and pot, hubby had soup of the day which he really enjoyed, I had buttermilk southern fried chicken which unfortunately was that dry it snapped when I ate it. The hubby had the roast which was lovely large Yorkshire which I pinched was homemade and... More 

Helpful?
Thank KnCliverpool
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi KnCliverpool, Many thanks for your feedback, we will most definitely take your comments on board. Glad to hear you enjoyed our famous homemade Yorkshire puddings! We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Devon Doorway also viewed

 

Been to The Devon Doorway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Telegraph Road, Heswall CH60 2SA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Wirral  >  Heswall
  • Phone Number: +44 151 348 4462
Description
Our menu changes with the seasons and is modern British, comfortably interwoven with some Mediterranean influences.It ranges from traditional favourites such as fish and chips and steaks to freshly made pizzas and pastas with the chef’s daily specials showcasing the finest market fresh ingredients. There’s something for everyone and for all occasions too. You don’t have to go for the full works if you don’t want to, just have a snack and a lovely drink in the bar with your friends.Wine is something of a passion for us and nothing pleases us more than when we unearth a new discovery that blows our socks off! We’ve got everything from crisp refreshing whites, trendy pinks to fat juicy reds by the bottle or glass so we are really looking forward to your reaction to all the latest treasures!We are also very proud of our beers and we have a great selection of cask ales, super chilled draft and bottled beers to quench your thirst.Just stop by for a pint of ale, read the papers and chill out or book a table and enjoy simple food prepared with care.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Devon Doorway and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Bebington, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Devon Doorway staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?