We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Fri, 17/09

Ratings and reviews



Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Traveller rating
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just wanted to compliment the excellent morning duty manager,during our stay from th 4th to the 7th of September he was faced with some extremely trying circumstances none of which were his fault ,he dealt with them very professionally and was calm ,polite and diligent...throughout,well done.More

Date of visit: September 2021
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Michaelbk4713vc, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Toby Carvery Old Windsor! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

very pleasant evening meats were of a great quality plenty of veg only complaint roast potatoes all burnt which is very unusual

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: September 2021
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a table for Sunday had to wait 15 mins as table was not ready even though we had booked no diet cokes or or their diet drinks no ice cream and no apple pie really disappointed with our experience at Toby use to...offer an excellent service but not acceptableMore

Date of visit: August 2021
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Izzys1234, we truly appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Reviewed 9 August 2021

Front of house was excellent - no tables free but we’re encouraged to have a carvery as a bar meal, and space found and cleaned for us. Barman good - bought drinks and paid for carvery. At the carvery counter, meat was carved by a...woman who presumably had never been shown how to carve meat in nice slices - instead she just hacked off lots of pieces not much bigger than postage stamps. Good selection of nice looking vegetables, which tasted good, but were just a bit on the lukewarm side. We enjoyed the stop overall, but the carver and lukewarm veg are what reduced the rating to average.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Reviewed 7 August 2021

Oyster Bay merlot on the menu but not available. Chilean merlot offered as an alternative. It was adequate, but no comparison. The glass had been through the dishwasher too many times leaving it with a whitish Sheen. 4 meats +sausage on the carvery. Very large...Yorkshires! Offered choice of plate size - nice idea. Chef pleasant and helpful. Wide selection of veg. Back to the serve yourself process. 2 items almost empty. When back at our table, the cauliflower turned out to be cold as did the mash. When brought to the attention of the waitress she went to check and said new dishes were available, and we could help ourselves. However, again, back at the table, it was cold in the centre. Overall, it was ok, but we won't be rushing back.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Reviewed 1 August 2021 via mobile

Went here with yesterday with my wife, dad and stepmum. I'm going to cut straight to the chase - it was utterly horrible. Without doubt the worst food we've ever had in this country, served by staff that haven't got the first clue about customer...service. There were 2 saving graces: 1) although the meat they serve is disgusting, tasteless and dry as bone ( 2 of us had turkey and the other 2 had gristle/ beef) at least they only give you tiny, tiny portions of it. So there's not much to endure 2) it is relatively inexpensive... £56 for 4 people including a round of soft drinks and a bottle of house red Actually, not saving graces at all. We'd have been infinitely better going to one of the several roadside burger bars that we drove past on the way there. Best part is, both my wife and I are feeling utterly awful the next day. Dodgy tums, no energy and ruing the day we ever heard of Toby!! Suffice to say we'd never go back to any Toby anywhere and humbly suggest you avoid them too.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Reviewed 29 July 2021

The good points first.: Sue, Gina and Sues step daughter very friendly and helpful. The bed in the Lodge was clean and comfy. The bus stop was directly outside enabling us to get into Windsor Town centre, quite expensive £5.50 return, but probably cheaper than...parking costs in the centre. Bad points: On arrival there was some confusion regarding the price of the single room. It seemed that booking through Booking.com was more expensive than booking direct. The bathrooms in the Lodge needed a good deep clean as were very grubby. Our bed was not made up the next day, the coffee, milk, and tea were not topped up. I mentioned these points to the manager Mike who assured me that the bed should have been made up etc and promised to supply us with the coffee etc whilst we sat in the lounge. He didnt give us anything and we couldn't find him when we left the bar at 9.00 p.m. which was the time the bar closed.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Reviewed 5 July 2021 via mobile

I normally wouldn’t write a review for a place like this you kinda get what you pay for but on this occasion my wife and I got a little bit more than we expected. After going through the covid drill at the front door delivered...by a person clearly enjoying their covid power we were then shown to our seats given the drill and left to order 15 minutes later as we hade t yet been served my 19 year old son soon to be 20 was playing the fruit machine when the covid enforcer came over and asked for ID. My son explained he had not thought to bring it as he was out with family and didn’t think he would need it. He did say to the manager that he had a copy of his passport on his phone a proceeded to show him. Too which the manager replied I don’t need to accept that I could through you out. Now normally at this point due to the mangers Harry Enfield only me type behaviour I would have just got up and left. However my mother who doesn’t get about so well would have been forced to make an awkward journey back to the car. So deciding to accept the fact tvv hi at this bloke just an “only me” I settled down to enjoy time with the family and what was actually a very nice roast if a little cold due to the fact our waitress was trying to do 10 jobs at once. The following day, the day of writing this my wife and I are experiencing what can only be described as a human tsunami of food a fluids leaving our body’s in various unpleasant way. My mum luckily unaffected as it she had the beef and not the turkey as my wife and I did (although to be fair I went king size and had it all) In closing not only can thief meter and greeter talk S**t bit they can send you home with some for the next day. On a lighter not the waiting staff looked great in the uniform but to have your meter and greeter who was clearly in his 40’s wearing faded jeans and a shirt of similar colour is not a good look.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Reviewed 19 June 2021

Tobys are much of a muchness - which can sometime be reassuring for at least you get what you expect. This one, the staff were excellent & helpful with Covid etc - but the food although plentiful and good quality, was served tepid , which...ruined an otherwise good mealMore

Date of visit: June 2021
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2021

Barry M, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve.

Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

Firstly upon entering we were ignored for about 3 minute. Then had a looong lecture from the manager about how babies are counted as an adult due to covid. And how he could turn us away. But this time he will allow us in Eventually...shows us to table. The server on the carvery what a joke of a man EXTREMELY rude was very slow left people standing at the counter with no sorry for delay nothing. When we commented on his rude service he basically said,, "chill out there's only 10 people waiting" no customer service skills what so ever The food was good though just a shame the people are rudeMore

Date of visit: May 2021
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Hi Bea B, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Innkeeper's Collection Old Windsor
243 reviews
.01 km away
The White House
44 reviews
1.55 km away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
1,395 reviews
1.61 km away
Royal Adelaide Windsor Hotel
632 reviews
2.12 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Fox and Castle
583 reviews
.54 km away
Punto Italian Pizzeria & Restaurant
417 reviews
.05 km away
Jolly Gardener's Pub
112 reviews
.36 km away
1705 Restaurant and Bar
79 reviews
1.60 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Runnymede National Trust
335 reviews
1.98 km away
Kris Cruisers
180 reviews
2.17 km away
John F Kennedy Memorial
109 reviews
2.26 km away
Wraysbury Dive Centre
69 reviews
2.62 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
2 June 2019|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from johncO7007YD | Reviewed this property |
They don’t allow dogs in or on the area, but they allow dogs to remain inside the car (pls leave a window open)
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Toby Carvery

Yes, Toby Carvery offers takeaway services.

Toby Carvery is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5