We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn

) #1 of 1 Restaurants in Levington $$ - $$$ , British,
Church Lane | Levington, Levington IP10 0LQ, England
+44 1473 659573
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good32%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (12 reviews)
“burger” (13 reviews)
“sausage roll” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Lane | Levington, Levington IP10 0LQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Really worth finding this beautiful pub. Very busy but we still got served our food promptly and it was delicious. I can thoroughly recommend the Steak sandwich from the specials board. Our table of 4 all enjoyed our food and the few staff did amazingly...More

Thank Debsuk
James G, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review. Glad you had a great time And look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked here for Sunday lunch whilst visiting local friends . As we drove into the village we all sighed happily, so pretty with all the wild flowers and SO quiet and peaceful. Just lovely. Pub is sweet, beams etc with a great mixed clientele....More

Thank plasticpaddyLondon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Review on behalf of my mother and her friends who booked a table for five, good points, lovely looking pub, seated fine, main meal was delivered and for its part was very nice.. but that's as far as it can go, as terrible service let...More

Thank RCreasey
James G, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed back. I'm sorry to hear of your experience and I can assure you this will be looked into. May I ask when the visit took place and I can investigate this further?

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Five of us popped in for an early Sunday lunch as we were walking past. We were lucky with the weather so sat outside at the back on the lovely terrace. All of us enjoyed our food, particularly the burgers which 3 of us had....More

Thank TheRelfster
James G, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was ok. Up market pub grub reflected in the price. Not at the top of its game but enjoyable. Howewever, the front of house although polite let the experience down. It felt like we were being served by those more used to being...More

Thank daisysdude
James G, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry to hear of your experience. Sadly mechanical break downs do happen and the staff on duty reported emediately and both beer chiller and coffee machine where repaired within 24hrs. As for the service you received I will speak with those on duty and discuss...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great pub in a lovely location with some nice walks accessible along the Orwell. Great beer and superb fish and chips. What more can you ask

Thank aht47
James G, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What more can you say??? See you soon maybe ;-)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in at about 8:45 on a Saturday evening as somewhere we had not been for a while. Kitchen was closing at 9:00 so near the end of the shift for kitchen staff. The mussels for a starter were very good but they are quite...More

Thank Greatleapforward2016
James G, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review. I will pick all these comments up with the Head Chef.

Reviewed 13 July 2017

Popped in for a meal as such a lovely evening. We ordered burger and chips and the spaghetti with clams. The burger was OK as burgers are but the spaghetti was not what I was expecting. It was smothered in cream and a good third...More

Thank Peachey68
James G, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to hear the Spaghetti Vongole was not to you expectations. This was fed back on the night to chef on duty and I have it to review with my Head Chef on our next Kitchen meeting.

Reviewed 6 July 2017

Genuine old pub buildings and atmosphere. The pub is under new management after a period of closure, it hasn't yet returned to its former glory. Menu was limited but the food was well presented and very enjoyable. Plenty of room even on the Saturday evening...More

Thank Milvusma
James G, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you for your review and support. We are working hard to bring the pub back to former glory.

Reviewed 15 June 2017

The Ship is a nice old pub in a rural location, part of the Adnams chain (so you know which ale they serve!) and it's done well to a good standard. It's a pub done well, not a gastro-pub so there's no BS and fuss,...More

Thank RobDee1432
James G, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon .

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Butt and Oyster
638 reviews
3.01 km away
The Red Lion
176 reviews
3.60 km away
The Mariners Freehouse
85 reviews
4.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
Suffolk Wildlife Trust at Trimley Marshes
7 reviews
5.39 km away
Play2Day
11 reviews
6.57 km away
Stena Line
171 reviews
6.35 km away
Martlesham Heath Control Tower Museum
6 reviews
6.63 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jill L
2 July 2017|
Answer
Response from James G | Property representative |
Hi. Yes we do. Menu available on our website or please give us a call to discuss further.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Lane | Levington, Levington IP10 0LQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Levington
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 659573
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing