We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Windmill by Richard Phillips

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
British, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
32 Eyhorne Street, Hollingbourne ME17 1TR, England
+44 1622 889000
Website
Today
12:00 - 19:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 19:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

686 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 684: English reviews
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited the Windmill, one lunchtime using a £35 Travelzoo offer. The pub is owned by Richard Phillips, who has worked in many of the UK's top hotels/restaurants, and this certainly shows in the menu, food quality & service. Both starters and mains were excellent, well cooked and well presented. Service was friendly and efficient. Normal prices on individual mains... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stu151
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Attentive staff though a little too keen - plates were whisked away within seconds of cutlery being laid down. Never had such quick service of meals which seems strange to mention negatively but felt as if it was an effort to feed us in the shortest possible time. Food was...OK. Would have been fine in a Pub chain but we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike L
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill by Richard Phillips, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you opinion, can only apologise you left feeling "Meh" certainly not what we want our customers to think! More 

Lydd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked up using the 2 dine for £35 travelzoo offer and was not disappointed. Good food and good service. Will definitely return on one of their specials nights.

Helpful?
Thank GeordieMaggott
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill by Richard Phillips, responded to this review

Thank you we are so pleased you were happy...join us on Facebook to make sure you don't miss out on our special offers! Look forward to welcoming you back! More 

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I have eaten here 4 times in the past year. The fish and chips is excellent as are the burgers (I am told they have other things too). Good beer and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank OnThePlain
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill by Richard Phillips, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, much appreciated although we will strive to turn your 4 rating into 5!!! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was recommended to try The Windmill. Starter and dessert 🍨 was nice. Main was very disappointing £28 for steak, not much flavour and to grisly. Staff were not over friendly apart from one gentleman. Unfortunately I don't think we will return

Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill by Richard Phillips, responded to this review

We would like to apologise and hope you will return to experience the Windmill again, it is unusual negative feedback that we would like to turn into positive! More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The Windmill tries to please but does not always gets it right the staff are polite and well presented but don’t always seem that motivated. Service can be hit or miss our starter arrived within about seven minutes of ordering (much to our surprise), mains took somewhat longer at just short of an hour, fortunately we were not in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Onemax54
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill by Richard Phillips, responded to this review

It is a shame you feel you have report on the negatives when you previously had such a good positive, we can only apologise and hope you return for the repeat "best meal ever" your feedback is greatly appreciated in helping us grow and we will discuss this in our next staff meeting. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Valentines dinner was 10/10. Absolutely delicious. Loved it so much returned for lunch the following day!!

Helpful?
Thank MrsNicsx
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill by Richard Phillips, responded to this review

Wow!!! Lovely to hear, we appreciate your comments...thank you. More 

Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this restaurant as a celebratory lunch for my parents. The staff were brusque and unfriendly. The portions were tiny and the meals extravagantly over priced. A very disappointing experience.

Helpful?
Thank sfkent752
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill by Richard Phillips, responded to this review

Were very sorry to hear that you were not happy, could I ask if you mentioned anything at the time? We will be discussing this complaint in particular as it is very unusual negative feedback. More 

rome
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Second visit to this restaurant. It has a lovely atmosphere and decorated very tastefully. The manager and his staff are so attentive and very friendly. Only thing I feel and I did think this in on my first visit the portions are quite small for the prices that they charge

Helpful?
Thank caltzie
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill by Richard Phillips, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Portion sizing is tricky to suit everyone as some like to experience the 3/4 courses and others like to include side dishes to taste...on the other hand we would never want our customers to leave feeling hungry so will be discussing this in our next meeting! More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For our wedding anniversary my wife booked this for us and having already been to Thackeray's I had an inkling the food would be good. This place is beyond good, it was a faultless night. Well, nearly.... parking was a tricky business as the car park was full but from that point on, it was a fab evening. We went... More 

Helpful?
Thank tiredcyclist634
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill by Richard Phillips, responded to this review

Wonderful feedback we are so happy you enjoyed the Windmill Experience as much as our sister restaurant! We look forward to welcoming you back again...we appreciate your time to comment! More 

Travellers who viewed The Windmill by Richard Phillips also viewed

 
Hollingbourne, Kent
 

Been to The Windmill by Richard Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Buffet, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 32 Eyhorne Street, Hollingbourne ME17 1TR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Hollingbourne
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 889000
Description
British Pub serving Seasonal Kentish Produce.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Windmill by Richard Phillips staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?