We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Churchtown Cottage, Saint Ewe, Mevagissey PL26 6EY, England
+44 1726 843322
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 186: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

16/18 of us attended the lunch today at The Crown Inn. My meal was delicious and everyone else seemed very satisfied with theirs too. The quality of the food and service was excellent. Very friendly waitresses. A cosy and comfy atmosphere left to get on with our catching up with news of everyone and everything no feeling of being rushed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie L
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016

Living locally, we thought we would eat here on new years eve, early evening as our usual local was not serving food. We were welcomed into the bar and restaurant by pleasant barman and waitress and sat down to order. Menu was a little restrictive but having placed our order, food came promptly and efficiently. I had the gammon steak... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016

Food is good and plenty of it. Sunday lunch is very good. Dogs welcome. staff very friendly. Ale is good.Nice atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank david1274
North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful meal of fish and chips in the authentic atmosphere of olde England. Could not have a found a nicer place.

Helpful?
Thank ccmgrad
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016

Welcoming, cosy, and atmospheric village inn serving traditional food every lunchtime and evening. Daily specials recommended - Pies on Wednesday, Fish & Chips on Friday plus Sunday roasts all provided at competitive prices and in generous portions. Whether eating, drinking or both, The Crown is highly recommended to lovers of traditional country pubs.

Helpful?
Thank FIRSTCRICKETTOUR
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Food was typical pub grub. Big portions and ok. I had the lighter portion of ham, egg and chips, it was ok. Mum had pork belly, vert fatty but ok. Other two had the steak pie with veg and potatoes, again only ok. Pints prices seemed steep for a village pub at £3.20 a pint? All in all ok.

Helpful?
Thank KatyandPeter
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Nice old pub and the young waitress was a star.......but sadly the food was awful. The chicken curry was nothing more than pre overcooked & reheated chunks of tough and chewy chicken with a thick dark gravy (looked the same as what was poured over my friend's roast beef) poured over it! Horrible! It was insipid and inedible. Sorry.......And I'm... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank KateLaubscher
stevenboyle, Director of Sales at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Hello Kate, i'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal at the Crown. If you'd kindly let me know who you spoke to about it at the time, I'll have a word with them, find out what we did to resolve the situation for you and I'll message you again. More 

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

Local to where we were staying and recommended by our hosts but we were disappointed; food was expensive but nothing special. Served with good beer though.

Helpful?
Thank David B
stevenboyle, Director of Sales at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Hello David, Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We try very hard to provide good value meals at the Crown and are always looking for ways to improve. We really value our customers opinions and feedback Please advise us of what in particular you were unhappy about and we do our utmost to resolve the situation. More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

A lovely old fashioned pub, log fires in the winter and garden in summer, great food and a lovely welcome, dogs welcome in main bar

Helpful?
Thank 765amanda
coventry
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

We visited this pub for lunch after reading the reviews on trip advisor We found the food very average and expensive [£7.25 for a sausage sandwich]! I ordered mussels with crusty bread and got what i thought was a large portion of mussels until I found many empty shells, the crusty bread was two slices of cheap sliced bread that... More 

Helpful?
Thank larry w

Travellers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

Tregony, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Churchtown Cottage, Saint Ewe, Mevagissey PL26 6EY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Mevagissey  >  Saint Ewe
  • Phone Number: +44 1726 843322

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?