We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Ginger

116 Moo 1 | The Slate Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand
+66 76 327 006
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good20%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“beef curry” (4 reviews)
“set menu” (20 reviews)
“indigo pearl” (47 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
DETAILS
116 Moo 1 | The Slate Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Pro: very romantic, nice staff, food quality ok HOWEVER cons outweigh the positives : restaurant not special at all and for this totally overprized. You get the same dishes at better price, same quality and bigger portions easily somewhere else -> Conclusion: Better have a...More

1  Thank 123XYZ987ABC
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear 123XYZ987ABC, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately the comparison with local restaurants on the beach is absolutely inappropriate. We invite readers to watch the pictures of local Nai Yang restaurants for themselves. Kind regards, Yann Hervy Food & Beverage Director

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Black Ginger is an absolutely fantastic place located inside the Slate hotel on Nai Yang beach. Particularly at nighttime, the decor is amazing but the service goes into hiding. The restaurant is entered via barge and a great experience illuminated by fire. The decor and...More

Thank ARK_Travelers
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear ARK_Travelers, Thank you for visiting us. We are sorry reading your comments about our resort, there are obviously mix feelings among people and expectations are truly different from one individual to another, however if something truly went wrong we would like to apologize since...More

Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Could not have been more impressed with Black Ginger. From the beautiful cocktails that borderline artwork to the food that absolutely blew my mind, this goes down as the most enjoyable dining experience of my life. The ambience was 10/10 - truly magical on an...More

Thank Crossemoff
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear Crossemoff, Thank you for reviewing Black Ginger. You have well summarized your experience and we are very much happy with the score about ambience, food, service, cocktails etc ... We hope to see you again very soon. Regards, Yann Hervy Food & Beverage Director

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

After reading all the amazing reviews about this place we chose it for a very special occasion for 8 of us. Sadly we were all disappointed. There is no doubt the location is beautiful as it's set on a lagoon and you are pulled across...More

Thank Roznat2013
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear Roznat2013, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the night with us as many others do. Your comments have been shared with the team and our Chef, and some rectifications will be surely made following our investigation. Kind...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Amazing setting on a moated 'island' that you reach by rope pulled platform. Fun setting, nice cocktails and good food. We asked for thai hot food and we got it! Chef came out and greeted tables, expensive but fun setting for a special night out....More

Thank snowieWales
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear snowieWales, Thank you for visiting Black Ginger. We are very much happy that you had a lovely time with us. We have well noted your comment about our bar service and we would like to apologize if something did not reach your expectations. As...More

Reviewed 15 April 2017

Very good restaurant, great food, great service, very nice scenery and ambiance, friendly staff. Good value for the money, wines to expensive.More

Thank ggrinda
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear ggrinda, Thank you so much for the review. We are so happy all was perfect. With regards to the wine comment, our prices are very much reasonable and competitive, you can trust us. What our guests need to know is Thailand taxes wines at...More

Reviewed 15 April 2017

our booking for 6 for the last night was not booked,but they got us in.unfortunately we had to share a room with 2 other families & their babies so it rather spoilt our adult time.It really shouldn't be for kids unless it's at an earlier...More

Thank kazbomb
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear kazbomb, We are sorry to read your review. Unfortunately our restaurant is catering for all, and honeymooners are offered often a quieter place far from large groups which can make as much noise as babies sometimes. Our menu is very extensive, it is sad...More

Reviewed 12 April 2017

the restaurant is so beautiful when u go dinner in the evening, so romantic the food is good, without be exceptional like the brunch on sunday noon, but quality is good & the prices are ok

Thank chris v
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for the review. We hope having the opportunity to see you again soon. Warm regards, Yann Hervy Food & Beverage Director

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Wow, we were so amazed !!! The Black Ginger is simply the most beautiful restaurant we've been in Phuket is just sumptuous. Everything is so beautiful you won't feel anymore that you're in Phuket that's just epic ! On the other hand, I agree with...More

Thank Eric-T-Cartman
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear Eric, Thank you for the review which is very much helpful. We are happy to know that Black Ginger is simply the most beautiful restaurant you have been in Phuket. We are looking forward to your next visit. Regards, Yann Hervy Food & Beverage...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Spent a couple of evenings dining here . The setting is outstanding and the approach by a river barge is stunning . Service is excellent . The food is good without being exceptional . If you want a different evening with exceptional surroundings this place...More

Thank calum c c
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear calum c c, Thank you for your great comment. We are very much happy that all was perfect. Kind regards, Yann Hervy Food & Beverage Director

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Phen's Restaurant Bar & Coffee
940 reviews
.29 km away
Mingly's Cafe
96 reviews
.56 km away
Peony Cafe & Restaurant
252 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Paradise Diving Asia
140 reviews
.14 km away
James Bespoke Suit
12 reviews
.20 km away
Nai Yang Beach
634 reviews
.23 km away
Skydance Helicoptor Tour
12 reviews
1.12 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Runali S
Hi is there a dress code at the restaurant for dinner?
17 April 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Eric-T-Cartman | Reviewed this property |
Hi, there's no particular one.. The only dress code you need is THB in your pocket that for sure ! We saw lots of couple dressed with vacation clothes no pressure as long as you can pay :-)
0
Votes
Google Translation
Joroshi
TA says you have vegan options. I've been trying to look for a menu but can't find one. Are you able to let me know what options you have? Many thanks! :)
6 April 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from scherte | Reviewed this property |
In my opinion it is far fetched to say that Black Ginger serves Vegan Dishes. The menu is frequently changing and you may be able to find an isolated vegan dish, not more.
1
Vote
Prilita S
I am a moslem, and I did not eat any food that contains pork (halal food). So, is the food in this restaurant "halal"?
16 March 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from les225 | Reviewed this property |
No it's not.Restaurants usually advertise if there meat is halal
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Wine and Beer
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
18:30 - 23:00
Monday
18:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
18:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
18:30 - 23:00
Thursday
18:30 - 23:00
Friday
18:30 - 23:00
Saturday
18:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 116 Moo 1 | The Slate Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand
  • Location: Asia  >  Thailand  >  Phuket  >  Thalang District  >  Sakhu  >  Nai Yang
  • Phone Number: +66 76 327 006
  • E-mail
Description
Floating magically on the softly-lit lagoon, the jewel in The Slate's crown. A combination of rare Thai cuisines, Black Ginger has a fusion of flavours to entice your palette along with a unique ambience. Authentic flavours of Phuket in a modern masterpiece of ancient Thai architecture. The menu will stimulate your tongue with authentic Phuket specialities such as its fresh seafood, tender grilled cuts, battered cha-plu, and exhilarating cocktails - all in a distinctive setting of architectural wonder, inventive design and hypnotic surroundings.