We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Griffin Hotel

$$ - $$$, British,
124 Wilmslow Road | SK8 3BE, Cheadle SK8 3BE, England
+44 161 437 2459
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good24%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“kebab” (12 reviews)
“pastry” (4 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
124 Wilmslow Road | SK8 3BE, Cheadle SK8 3BE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 299 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Spur of the moment decision to have dinner at the Griffin and take advantage of the 2 for 1 Monday evening offer. Having been before and really enjoyed it, we were looking forward to another nice meal. We both decided to have the fish and...More

Thank 2010mustang
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been here quite a lot of times over the years. Both with friends and family. I went again last Sunday with my family. I reserved a table (I would advise doing this as it was very busy! Which is a good sign) we...More

Thank hss915
Nicola J, General Manager at The Griffin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your kind review. We love to hear how our guests enjoy their time with us. Look forward to seeing you soon. Many thanks Nikki

Reviewed 1 week ago

From the outside this is an attractive building, painted in a sort of National Trust grey On the inside however it is a great disappointment It resembles a canteen and has a smell to match caused by the food in the carvery area sitting around...More

Thank Stuart G
Nicola J, General Manager at The Griffin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you Stuart for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your scampi, I do however apologise for the issues you encountered while dining with us, cleanliness is never usually an issue here. I hope to see you again in...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Family visit for carvery . The food was absolutely lovely. The staff particularly Haley and Zara where very helpful and friendly. AND So where Billy and Lee we love coming here always get good service and good food

Thank LindaZetaGray
Nicola J, General Manager at The Griffin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review! I will pass on your kind comments to the team and we look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards Nikki

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked for my partners 30th birthday and when we last ate here in June we had a lovely experience. We were a group of 8 and the food was absolutely delicious we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The pub was lovely and clean and well...More

Thank Charlie N
Nicola J, General Manager at The Griffin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review Charlie N I am glad you enjoyed your meals with us, I am however disappointed you found my team miserable as this is very unusual for them. I have passed on your comments and training will be given to ensure...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this morning with friends and family. On arrival we were greeted by a delivery wagon blocking the entrance to the car park so we had to park around the corner. Really nice and clean environment. The place was pretty much empty. Ordered 6 meals...More

Thank 375antonyw
Nicola J, General Manager at The Griffin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review 375anthonyw I sincerely apologise for the issues you experienced at breakfast, this is unusual. I would love the opportunity to put this right. If you could kindly send me an email address to thegriffin-hg@joseph-holt.com I will happily send you a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I lived in the area when younger and my father frequented this pub for a time. As visiting friends and family right now, and staying upthe road, we decided to walk in tonight. I could not believe the huge transformation. My partner and I decided...More

Thank Debbie S
Nicola J, General Manager at The Griffin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review! Myself and my team love to hear how our guests enjoyed their time with us. The reason for the price increase of a weekend and bank holiday is due to more choice of vegetable and potatoes being laid out...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only called in to kill sometime before picking someone up from the airport, we ordered a cappuccino and a lime and soda as we were driving. At almost £3 for the thimble sized cappuccino , it wasn't great value for money. Yes, lime n...More

Thank Louise M
Nicola J, General Manager at The Griffin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Louise Thank you for your review. The cups for the cappuccino are supplied through illy. I have made enquiries to see if there is a different size and will discuss with head office to see if I can lower the price. The cordials are...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went on the spur of the moment. Me and 2 teens, I had the sunday lunch and the girls had sandwiches. The sandwiches came with chips or potatoes and gravy, had one of each. Chips dinner was massive but the pot's one was very...More

Thank WebbWonder
Nicola J, General Manager at The Griffin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry you had the issue with the roast potatoes. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Nikki

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well what can I say £9.95 for some meat and a bit of veg!! 5 friends went to celebrate a birthday - 8pm and the guy behind the counter refused to make any Yorkshire puds because he 'wanted to pack away' - there was no...More

1  Thank shauna3010
Nicola J, General Manager at The Griffin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Shauna3010 Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for your unacceptable visit. This is not the usual level of service at the griffin. I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further. If you would like to forward a...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cuppaccino Bistro
38 reviews
.72 km away
Waggon & Horses
128 reviews
1.56 km away
Roasted Coffee Lounge
101 reviews
1.27 km away
Cinnamon Tree
162 reviews
1.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bruntwood Park
146 reviews
.88 km away
Hallmark Spa Hotel Manchester
236 reviews
1.59 km away
Chads Theatre Company
56 reviews
1.93 km away
Energi Trampoline Park
76 reviews
2.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
hutch9964
21 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Dave M | Reviewed this property |
It's not a hotel ! Maybe years ago , food good though
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 124 Wilmslow Road | SK8 3BE, Cheadle SK8 3BE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Cheadle
  • Phone Number: +44 161 437 2459
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing