We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kikau Hut Restaurant

) #2 of 10 Restaurants in Arorangi $$ - $$$ Seafood, European,
Aorangi, Arorangi, Cook Islands
+682 26 860
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good24%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“wontons” (75 reviews)
“banoffee pie” (25 reviews)
“lemon cake” (11 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Polynesian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Aorangi, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 260 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2016

Delicious food, good price, awesome dining area. We were hanging out for meat and this is owned by New Zealanders. Complimentary pickup and drop off from the other side of the island.

Thank Donna S
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Thankyou for a great review Donna and we will strive to keep up the high standards for your next visit. Regards Gordon

Reviewed 3 January 2016

This restaurant was certainly recommended by most we spoke too but our experience was dreadful. The meals were warm at best and poorly prepared. My steak was, I would guess, pre cooked and left under a food warmer for a fair while, then topped with...More

Thank Russell M
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi Russell and sorry to hear your experience was not the best. Thank you for taking the time to offer the reasons why. Your point about the garlic butter is something I have discussed with chef and we will review how we currently do this...More

Reviewed 3 January 2016

Enjoyed the food; the ika mata (marinated fish) was fresh & tasty, service was very good, the owners are friendly & professional.

Thank Alex K
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Thanks for the feedback Alex and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards Gordon

Reviewed 2 January 2016

My wife and I frequented this restaurant several times during our visit on Rarotonga. Many dishes of delicious food in generous portions can be had at this amazing gem of a restaurant! Gordon who runs the Kikau Hut made sure every detail was attended too....More

Thank jcatex
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi Jim and and many thanks for this review. We all miss having you guys with us and it was a pleasure to meet you and your lovely wife. We hope you do manage to come back one day as we have table 6 ready...More

Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We came for dinner based on the good ratings on trip advisor. We were served by the owner. The food was delicious. I had the daily catch and my wife the best curry so far. Tried different deserts, all so good!

1  Thank Martin C
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi Martin and thank you for the positive comments. It is always a pleasure when we send people home satisfied and we look forward to hjosting you again in the not too distanmt future we hope.

Reviewed 31 December 2015

We went here for dinner on our last night in Rarotonga and it was a fanstastic way to end our trip. The service was great and the food delicious! Highly recommended!

Thank nz_panda90
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hello NZ Panda and thanks for the great comments. I do pass all these on to the staff and they very much appreciate the positive feedback. Regards Gordon

Reviewed 16 December 2015

This place has the best service. Very attentive staff. The food is really really good too. Nice small cosy atmosphere. Beautiful garden surroundings.

Thank Tashi T
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Thanks Tashi T - we look forward to seeing you again one day. Regards Gordon

Reviewed 16 December 2015

We had a terrible experience here - seafood chowder was completely inedible (sadly ordered by two of our group) - literally chunks of frozen fish cooked in straight cream.... so gross. French fries and satay chicken was good though. Slow to take our order in...More

Thank PacificPalms21
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Surprised at the negativity of your comments given the high numbers of satisfied visitors - you are in the 5% of unhappy customers. Unfortunately I don't recall your visit even though you have said that you were the only ones in the restaurant as I...More

Reviewed 15 December 2015

The food and service the very best. We stayed for a few hour and didnt want to leave, we are going back next June.More

Thank Gary Judith S
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

We are ready and waiting for June Gary and Judith !! Seriously though thank you for taking the time to publish these comments. It is a great boost for the team when we have met customer expectations and we look forward to seeing you in...More

Reviewed 14 December 2015

had a beautiful dinner with great service. This place makes there own deserts and i wish i could have tried them all as they all looked fantastic. many happy customers commenting while we were waiting to be served on how lovely there meals were. This...More

Thank Lisa F
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Thanks for a great review Lisa. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I have to agree, our chef's make great desserts........ as well as great entrees and mains !! Hope to see you back one day soon. Regards Gordon

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Anchorage Restaurant & Bar
274 reviews
.11 km away
Tuoro Restaurant & Cafe
318 reviews
.42 km away
Oceans Restaurant & Bar
253 reviews
1.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tik-e Tours
112 reviews
.96 km away
Cook Island Christian Church (CICC)
245 reviews
2.14 km away
Punanga Nui
292 reviews
4.53 km away
Wilson's Beach Bar - Castaway Resort Rarotonga
116 reviews
2.36 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
khammy82
Are you able to book for a wedding party? Can you please provide an email address or advise where to find info on the restaurant for a wedding reception?
8 July 2015|
Answer
Response from anniealden s | Property representative |
Yes we do take wedding bookings our email address is kikauhut @ oyster . ck Kia manuia and we look forward to hearing from you
0
Votes
r10th
What nights do you have entertainment?
20 March 2015|
Answer
Response from anniealden s | Property representative |
Hi there - on Monday nights we have Tani & Rose known as Island Groove playing from 7pm. cheers and regards
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$50
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aorangi, Arorangi, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Rarotonga  >  Arorangi
  • Phone Number: +682 26 860
  • E-mail
Description
A small intimate restaurant. The relaxed atmosphere, local art, beautiful gardens combined with excellent service give it a special ambiance for all diners. European food with island flair, Coeliac Friendly, gluten free and vegetarian options along with a children's menu and free transfers by arrangement make Kikau Hut special. We are wheelchair accessible also.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing