We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Betela, Arorangi 00001, Cook Islands
+682 22 166
Website
Today
17:00 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 17:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 137: English reviews
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You cant miss a cocktail in a jar here with live music at sunset. So chilled and well worth going when they have the live music. Kids can play whilst you have a cool one.

Helpful?
Thank FrancesJH
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana Frances, Thank you so much for your awesome review of our perfect little beach bar, your feedback is much appreciated. Hope to see you back again soon. Kia manuia, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a few hours at this beachside bar and it was just wonderful. The service was good, the atmosphere was great. Unfortunately they didn’t open until 5pm.

Helpful?
Thank GeoffD177
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana Geoff, Thank you for your great review, very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our awesome little beach bar. We hope to see you back again. Meitaki, Steve, Geraldine and the A team. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had dinner here one night and was pleasantly surprised. The food was well priced (I paid NZD$15 for a vege lasagne) and drinks not too bad either (NZD$12 cocktail). The best part about this bar is the atmosphere. Right on the beach front and with live music, it was a great place to relax and hang out. It reminded... More 

Helpful?
Thank penny_layn
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana Penny, Thank you for your great review, I really like your tree house reference. Very happy that you enjoyed your evening with us and we hope to see you again when you're next back on Raro. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team. More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to this bar/restaurant to watch the sunset and intended to stay for dinner. However since they did not accept credit/debit cards and we didn't have much cash we only stayed for one drink and then ate elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank mazhad
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review, however, I am very confused... Why do you think that we don't accept credit cards? We do accept credit / debit cards and always have done. We do have a minimum amount of $30.00 for credit / debit cards, as it is expensive here to use and accept cards. If you were planning... More 

victoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

what a great place to sip on a cocktail, whilst watching the sun go down. Great staff behind the bar and music some nights.

Helpful?
Thank bopperVictoria
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you so much for your fantastic review of our awesome little beach bar. Very happy that you enjoyed the bar and I'll pass your comments to our amazing staff. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

An old favorite, The Shipwreck Hut hasn't changed since Aro'a Beachside Inn changed hands. Except that it's now only open in the evenings, which is a shame. But Rudi still plays on Thursday evenings, and they're still serving good-value (motto: It's always Happy Hour here) cocktails in jam jars by the sea.

Helpful?
Thank jafapete
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your great review of our perfect little beach bar. It's also the best place to be on Tuesdays for live music and Saturdays for the BBQ night also with live music. We hope to see you again when you're next here on Rarotonga. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team. More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Spent 2 weeks in Aroa Beachside and many mornings and evenings relaxing at this bar. Quiet. Beautiful sunsets. Cool mornings. Reasonably priced drinks. Friendly staff. Not open for lunch. Bar food is good. Live music Tue/Thu/Sat Can snorkel from the beach.

Helpful?
Thank KhalidA697
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana Khalid, Thank you for your 5 star review of our perfect little beach bar. We are very proud of the world famous Shipwreck Hut, very happy that you had a relaxing time here. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We had a nice little walk along the beach to find the Shipwreck Hut Restaurant. Right on the beach. We were there in time to see a wonderful sunset while I ate my seafood meal - marinated raw fish and seafood chowder. Yum.

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana Susan, Thank you for your review. Very happy that you enjoyed our little beach bar. The sunsets here can be truly spectacular. We hope to see you back again soon, maybe you could stay with us next time. :-) Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A team. More 

Tauranga
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

This bar is right on the beach. The menu is not large but the food is good quality. Staff are very friendly. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Lita-Tauranga
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana Lita, Thank you for your great review, much appreciated. I will pass your comments on to my staff, thank you for your feedback. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team. More 

Hannover
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

We were not staying in this Inn, but we joined the Buffet Night. The food was good, the guitar player and the songs of the owner were even better, but the best of the night was the funny rarotongan lady in the staff - she really is a charming jolly good fellow, full of joy and teasing the guests in... More 

Helpful?
Thank REISEGIGI
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your great review, so pleased that you enjoyed the Saturday night BBQ. I agree, our guitarist, Anania, is extremely talented. Glad that you enjoyed my songs - thank you. I will pass your comments on to Awesome Alone (aka Naughty Alone), she keeps us all laughing... Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team. More 

Travellers who viewed Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$11
Cuisine
Bar, International
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:00
Monday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Betela, Arorangi 00001, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Rarotonga  >  Arorangi
  • Phone Number: +682 22 166
Description
The Shipwreck Hut is an authentic beach bar situated right on the sand at the Aro'a Beachside Inn. Perfectly positioned to enjoy sunsets that are the envy of the South Pacific while sipping one of the famous "jam-jar cocktails". We also offer cold beer, wine, spirits, soft drinks and "home cooked" bar meals. We serve our bar meals from 5:00pm until 8:00pm (but not on BBQ nights). Saturday - Beach BBQ 6:00pm with live music. Tuesday - Live music 6:00pm to 8:00pm Thursday - Live music "Sunset Cocktails" 5:30pm to 7:30pm. Exactly what you would expect from a fun loving beach bar in the South Pacific.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?