We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn

Betela, Arorangi 00001, Cook Islands
+682 22 166
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good31%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, International, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Betela, Arorangi 00001, Cook Islands
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2017

We had sunset cocktails here - view is superb and a great place to relax and watch the sunset. Bar snacks and menu.

Thank brett s
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Kia Orana Brett, Thank you for your fantastic review of our awesome little beach bar. Very happy that you had a relaxing visit to watch the sunset. :-) We hope to see you back again soon. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Reviewed 29 April 2017

Our second visit to the Shipwreck Bar and we were not disappointed. Bar meal was just what we were looking for but we have one complaint - the entertainment was so good we spent too much on the cocktails enjoying the night! Great place for...More

Thank DebbieL528
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Kia Orana Debbie, Thank you for your awesome review. We love getting complaints like that.... :-) Very happy that you had a great evening and we hope to see you back again very soon. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve

Reviewed 10 April 2017

We were staying nearby so ate twice here. The menu is small but the food is perfectly fine. We enjoyed sitting with a cocktail and watching the sunset. They have a lovely dog and the owner likes to have a wee singsong when the sun...More

Thank lucystarbuck
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Kia Orana, Many thanks for your great review, very pleased that you enjoyed your visits here and that my singing didn't frighten you away...... Glad that you loved my dog Dexter, he has no idea what a fantastic life he has here as our "Head...More

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

If you make a trip to Rarotonga be sure to catch the sunset here. It is beautiful and the drinks are well done. We were staying on the sunset beach and still made the trip here our second night.

Thank AnAggie08
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Kia Orana, Huge thanks for your fantastic review, we're very pleased that you found us. :-) Hope to see you back again. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Reviewed 6 April 2017

Fabulous Mai-Tai's (rival Hawaii for sure), incredible staff and home-cooked meals right on the beach. Amazing for sunsets and excellent on music nights. We were staying about 3 km's from here and purposely made the effort to come here twice during our 11 day stay...More

Thank David J
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Kia Orana David, Thank you for your fantastic review and feedback on our little beach bar, we really appreciate your comments. We hope to see you back again soon. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A team.

Reviewed 26 March 2017

We came here for drinks a couple of times and really loved the feel of this place - especially on the live music night. It's great to sit there and have the music on one side and the sound of the water on the other,...More

Thank angelC3476SL
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Kia Orana, Thank you for your awesome review of our little beach bar. I definitely agree with your comments that the live music nights on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday are very cool. Very happy that you enjoyed the home cooked food from our bar snack...More

Reviewed 8 March 2017

Please seek out the Shipwreck Hut if you have the opportunity to visit Raro. Good people. Great musical entertainment. Beautiful sunsets. Healthy for the soul.

Thank KHiggy13
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Kia Orana, Thank you for your fantastic review, I really liked your "Healthy for the soul" comment. We hope that you'll be back to see us soon. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We kayaked to this bar (and there's not many places you can do that!) on the first night of our Rarotonga stay, and went back every night. Wonderful little place with a great atmosphere and unbeatable location right on the beach. Stephanie, Alone and the...More

Thank SWSW4
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Kia Orana, Thank you so much for your fantastic review of our perfect little beach bar. Although the bar is lovely, it's always the people that make it special and you guys were really great company, I definitely won't forget the fun evening that we...More

Reviewed 15 February 2017

We shared a night cap or two here during our stay! LOVE the atmosphere!! Love the staff!! LOVE Dexter the resident guard dog!!More

Thank Glenda D
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Kia Orana Aron & Glenda, Thank you for your awesome review of our perfect little beach bar. I will pass your comments on to everyone. Dexter has had a big haircut since you saw him last, he is a lot happier, cooler and has been...More

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

this is a great little spot with a bespoke atmosphere, as per other comments there is limited seating but it's a great little spot and the ambiance is truly great, the staff are friendly and inviting and we were looking forward to a great night,...More

Thank Shane N
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Kia Orana, Thank your for your review. Very pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere, friendly inviting staff and live entertainment. Please accept my apology if the lasagne was cold. If you were really not happy, why didn't you speak to me or one of my...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Waterline
763 reviews
1.97 km away
The Yellow Hibiscus
304 reviews
4.45 km away
The Waffle Shack
190 reviews
6.19 km away
Kikau Hut Restaurant
927 reviews
3.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cook Island Christian Church (CICC)
245 reviews
1.53 km away
Cocoputt
391 reviews
1.00 km away
Wilson's Beach Bar - Castaway Resort Rarotonga
116 reviews
1.36 km away
Kay George Designs Gallery
10 reviews
1.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$11
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:00
Monday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Betela, Arorangi 00001, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Rarotonga  >  Arorangi
  • Phone Number: +682 22 166
  • E-mail
Description
The Shipwreck Hut is an authentic beach bar situated right on the sand at the Aro'a Beachside Inn. Perfectly positioned to enjoy sunsets that are the envy of the South Pacific while sipping one of the famous "jam-jar cocktails". We also offer cold beer, wine, spirits, soft drinks and "home cooked" bar meals. We serve our bar meals from 5:00pm until 8:00pm (but not on BBQ nights). Saturday - Beach BBQ 6:00pm with live music. Tuesday - Live music 6:00pm to 8:00pm Thursday - Live music "Sunset Cocktails" 5:30pm to 7:30pm. Exactly what you would expect from a fun loving beach bar in the South Pacific.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing