We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Catlins Cafe

$$ - $$$
European, Cafe, New Zealand, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3 Main Road, Owaka 9535, New Zealand
Website
Today
09:00 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

What a lovely place to call in a grab a bite to eat or a coffee have a lovely outdoor seating area for nice days or you can sit inside food was nice and staff where all very friendly will visit again

Helpful?
Thank Wedier
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review, glad to hear your experience with us was good. Cheers, Steve More 

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2016

A nice friendly local cafe restaurant. We had some fish and chips and a lamb dish, both well prepared and very tasty. Nothing special but a nice atmosphere. There was live music later on in the evening (unfortunately we did not have time to check this out).

Helpful?
Thank Bram D
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2015

Food was good, beer is cold, nice view of the bay. But the best part was the friendly staff and local crowd

Helpful?
Thank David_Laurie6
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Folks, Thanks for the review however I'm not sure you have the right place as we don't have a bay view. I'm picking you were at The Point Cafe and Bar in Kaka Point, but we'll take the credit :-) More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

After visiting on our way through today we were all shocked with the attitude shown by the manageress in this cafe. She seemed on a personal mission to chase away the few customers that she had. With food looking like it's been in the cabinet from the 50s I'm surprised that the business remains open.

Helpful?
Thank david k
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review

Hi, I understand you came in at 4.30pm looking for lunch? and were told that we were in transition from lunch service to dinner service. You were offered the cabinet food or takeaways as an option but you were insistent on having a sit down meal, something we couldn't do right then. Sometimes in life you can't always get what... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2015

On the way to Dunedin,it's a must stop off for really great coffee,whitebait Omelet with friendly and kind service.

Helpful?
Thank Valarie E
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. The whitebait is caught locally in the Clutha river and is very popular. Thanks, Steve More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2015

I was disgusted with the way the owner spoke to us when we told her we was not happy with our food, there just was not enough on our plates would even be small for a child's meals and was top price, no wonder we were the only people in there, we will never go back we love the area.

Helpful?
Thank peter p
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review

Hi, just checking you have reviewed the right place. Meal sizes certainly aren't an issue here. I checked with my wife and she wasn't aware of any complaints or issues that you have highlighted. I do see from your review history that you appear to be hard to please, oh well. More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2015

My friend and I decided to find a place to stay in Owaka and we couldn't have found a better place. The food was exceptional especially the seafood chowder. The room which is huge was well maintained and suited for all requirements. The best part of the stay has to go to the staff who made every bit of our... More 

Helpful?
Thank t_r_o_walker
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Thanks for the very kind review. Much appreciated. Cheers, Steve More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
433 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2015

This cafe is well organised for casual coffee and cake, or for a meal. The service is good, and the staff friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Tenorman41
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Cheers, Steve More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

Called in the other day and was very surprised it's a lovely place to stop and have a coffee or a meal they have a nice indoor seating or if it's a lovely day like what we had you can sit out in there garden area and to top it off the coffee was nice and my son said there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wedier
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. The Iced Drinks are made using Ice cream instead ice, makes al the difference! Cheers, Steve More 

Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2015

Stopped here twice whilst in the Catlins, and had tea or coffee with some fabulous chocolate mint slice ( no calories there then !) The menu looked very inviting as well.

Helpful?
Thank APDC2014
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review

No time to count calories when you're on holiday! Cheers, Steve More 

Travellers who viewed Catlins Cafe also viewed

Owaka, Otago Region
Kaka Point, Otago Region
 
Southland Region, South Island
Balclutha, Otago Region
 
Balclutha, Otago Region
 

Been to Catlins Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$14 - US$29
Cuisine
European, Cafe, New Zealand, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Parking Available
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
09:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 21:00
Friday
09:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 Main Road, Owaka 9535, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Owaka
Description
A warm and friendly dining experience. We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner using the freshest ingredients, home style cooking and generous servings. For those wanting a quick option we also offer traditional NZ Takeaways including Fish, Chips and Burgers

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Catlins Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?