We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor Inn

) #1 of 10 Restaurants in Tintern $$ - $$$ , British,
Tintern, Tintern NP16 6TE, Wales
+44 1291 689582
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good33%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (25 reviews)
“pie” (18 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Tintern, Tintern NP16 6TE, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 734 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

This pub is in a lovely location with awesome views of the abbey. It was very busy but the staff gave us a choice of available seats immediately and the service at the bar was excellent. A bar man named Joe was particularly efficient and...More

1  Thank CatherineNorthants
Reviewed yesterday

The food here was generally quite good (The cakes were really quite lovely) and the £3 parking charge can be redeemed against food here. The prices were predictably really quite high (There's really nowhere else you can go for food) so there was a little...More

Thank JmTng
Reviewed 3 days ago

Walked through the woods from St Arvans to Tintern Abbey.We stopped at the Anchor for refreshments.It was very busy so we only had Drinks,Quite a large menu.Which we shall try another day.

Thank M S
Reviewed 4 days ago

I was thoroughly disgusted at being charged £10.40 for a pint of beer and a large glass of wine. I noticed that someone else's bill for two pints of beer was well over £8 Just because this place is on a tourist attraction they think...More

Thank Alan S
Reviewed 5 days ago

Did I mention the location! Fabulous views of the abbey ruins if you sit inside or out. Visited on a lovely warm afternoon and quite busy, hence the wait. Tea, coffee and cake all good. Have previously been for Sunday lunch which was excellent.

Thank minseee
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lunch for 2 at the Cafe. Proper homemade tasty food. Staff provided a variation from the menu to accommodate us e.g. chips! Service with a smile, staff seemed very efficient on what was a reasonably busy day. We sat outside as had our dog with...More

Thank Diane D
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped into The Anchor for respite from the heavy rain that arrived - we initially was just going to have drinks, however lunch was just starting and the welcoming smells of lovely food was just too tempting. We didn't want a full meal as...More

Thank LouandKeith
Reviewed 1 week ago

When we stayed in Tintern we spent a lovely afternoon after a walk, good real ale and cider, plenty to choose from. The food looked good but we didnt eat here.

Thank Roypart1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sticky Toffee Pudding is a vacation treat - The Anchors version met all of my expectations. Set in lovely grounds, with an intimate, compelling layout; this establishment will continue to earn our patronage. Delicious food, friendly staff and tables set up for intimate conversation or...More

Thank Deb L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a couple of drinks and ordered a ploughmans and cream tea......both were excellent. Lots of people here and the place was really busy but food was really good

Thank Denise G
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Filling Station Cafe
118 reviews
1.44 km away
The White Monk
109 reviews
.25 km away
Tintern Old Station
95 reviews
.62 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tintern Abbey
1,145 reviews
.12 km away
The Old Station Tintern
206 reviews
.74 km away
Chepstow Castle
759 reviews
5.97 km away
Savoy Theatre
96 reviews
6.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Brian L
21 March 2017|
Answer
Response from reddy121 | Property representative |
Hi there unfortunately we do not do rooms, but there is a link on our website to a near by bed and breakfast. The pubs number is 01291 689582. Many thanks, team anchor.
0
Votes
Brian L
21 March 2017|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Peter F | Reviewed this property |
I think you need to call the Anchor !
0
Votes
caroljordan21
13 March 2017|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from jamesfamily92 | Reviewed this property |
No, however the Wye valley hotel just down the road is awesome, run by Sue and Barry.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tintern, Tintern NP16 6TE, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Tintern
  • Phone Number: +44 1291 689582
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing