We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
S$67 - S$134
CUISINES
Sushi, Grill, Contemporary, Dining bars
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Sponsored by: Nakamura

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Best Dining experience in DR!
1. Best Dining experience in DR!
"consistently provides the best service, and best dining experience!!"
Jhavana
See reviews that mention Best
2. Hidden Treasure!
2. Hidden Treasure!
"Service, Food, Atmosphere were outstanding"
lulu10160918
See reviews that mention chef
3. Superb Service!
3. Superb Service!
"They prepared a Sushi that was delicious"
Jaime-Gallego-Oliva
See reviews that mention sushi
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
59
4
2
0
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
59
4
2
0
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi fried rice ceviche salmon cap cana special night service was prompt fishing lodge dining experience quality of food genesis peruvian atmosphere gabriel portions restaurante comida
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 January 2024

We ate twice at nakamura, in both occasions the whole family got food poisoning. Avoid yourself an aggravation and simply avoid this place.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 18 April 2022 via mobile

This restaurant continues to amaze me each visit. It is in Cap Cana Village area and yet remains with slow demand as it is around the corner from the more visible places like Barbuda (also excellent). This is combination Peruvian mixed with Sushi, and the...Salmon Tartar Bon Bons are killer. The Peruvian mixed Seafood Ceviche as well. As well the Spicy Seafood with a choice of side (Fried rice great choice) The wife’s breaded Pork Cutlet is reminiscent of a German Weinerschnitzel and went (unexpectedly) well also with her choice of fried rice! Do NOT miss coming around the corner to this excellent restaurant! Jonathon will provide his best guest atmosphere and beckon to your every call.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ACL, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Nakamura, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2022

Thank you very much for your comments. In Nakamura we try to improve ourselves day by day to offer you the best of the best. We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 11 October 2023 via mobile

I rated this restaurant a 5 a year ago. Something went drastically wrong since then and the food quality suffered greatly. Very few guests visit, the Sushi BonBons which were best ever had last time were a massive disappointment this time. Stick to chicken and...beef stir fry and you will be fine but don’t waste the $s on sushi or rollsMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2023 via mobile

Worst service I’ve ever experienced, do not waste your time coming here. Though it was not busy at all (there were only 6 other tables seated), we sat for 20 min without anyone coming to our table. After waving down a server, we got menus...and placed a drink order. 15 minutes later, we waved down another server who told us the drink order had not been placed, but who said she would put it in. We asked if we could place our food order, and she held up her hand said “not now” before walking away. 10 min later, nobody had returned to our table with drinks, water, or to take our order. We decided to leave, and nobody seemed to notice.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2023

Visited Nakamura yesterday, as a family we spent on a Taxi $110 to go there and come back to the hotel. We were obviously expecting an amazing meal. Based on the reviews we decided to make the trip. Ambiance: Place looks beautiful and was clean...Service: Waitress was nice and friendly to the kids. Service was extremely slow, it took around 20 min just to get the children water. Only 2 staff for the whole restaurant. Drinks: Beer was chilled but not cold and the wine by the glass options were mostly not available. We had one of the two options they had and the wine was good. Food: To start they did not have any of the ceviches on the menu or the crab. We ended up ordering: gyoza de camarones which was good. The arroz crocante was just ok, the tuna was so little you could barely taste it and the rice was over-fried. The ensalada neptuno was ok as well, nothing special with very little taste. We also ordered 4 sushi rolls. The alaska roll: we had to return immediately. The fish tasted like it was frozen before, the rice was super cold and soggy. Crazy tuna roll: rice was soggy, the seaweed was old and the tuna was a very dark color, it was tasteless. We had 4 pieces. Ebi cruch and tiger special: overcooked with soggy rice. We tasted one and could not have anymore. My mom had ordered sopa parihuela and although the description did not say spicy she could not even eat it, it was not only super spicy but tasted like they had dropped 700 spices in it and made it a soup. The only good thing about the meal was the chicken tenders and fries the kids had. When we obviously complained and asked not to be charged for any of the items we could not eat (the 4 rolls and the soup) the waitress said she could not do that because she would have to pay for the items herself. She even dare to tell us why we had tasted the items if we did not like them. One of the rolls was missing 4 pieces, we were 4 adults and we did taste a roll each, otherwise, how would we know we did not like it? She started treating us like we wanted to take advantage when in reality, we went to a restaurant and left on an empty stomach after spending $283.68. They ended up not charging us for 2 of the 5 items we returned. Our expectation was to get a refund for the 5 items but there was no manager available on-site or by phone. We waited more than 20 min with no success. They did not do the correct thing. We will never come back. Visité Nakamura ayer, como familia gastamos en un taxi $ 110 para ir allí y regresar al hotel. Obviamente esperábamos una comida increíble. Basado en las reseñas nos confiamos. Ambiente: El lugar se ve hermoso y estaba limpio. Servicio: la camarera fue agradable y amable con los niños. El servicio fue extremadamente lento, tomó alrededor de 20 minutos solo para traer agua a los niños. Solo 2 empleados para todo el restaurante. Bebidas: la cerveza no estaba fría y las opciones de vino por copa en su mayoría no estaban disponibles. Optamos por una de las dos opciones disponibles y el vino era bueno. La comida: Para empezar no tenían ninguno de los ceviches de la carta ni el cangrejo. Terminamos pidiendo: gyoza de camarones que estaba bueno. El arroz crocante estaba bien, el atún era tan pequeño que apenas se podía saborear y el arroz estaba demasiado frito. La ensalada neptuno también estaba bien, nada especial con muy poco gusto. También pedimos 4 rollos de sushi. El rollo de alaska: tuvimos que regresarlo de inmediato. El pescado tenia sabor de que estaba congelado antes, el arroz estaba súper frío y blando Crazy tuna roll: el arroz estaba blando sin textura, las algas estaban viejas y el atún era de un color muy oscuro, no tenía sabor. Comimos 4 piezas. Ebi cruch y tiger special: Sobre cocinado con arroz muy blando. Probamos uno y no pudimos comer más. Mi mamá había pedido sopa parihuela y, aunque la descripción no decía que era picante, ni siquiera pudo comerla, no solo era súper picante, sino que sabía a puras especies mezcladas, demasiado condimentada. Lo único bueno de la comida fueron los filetes de pollo y las papas fritas que comieron los niños. Cuando obviamente nos quejamos y pedimos que no nos cobraran por ninguno de los artículos que no pudimos comer (los 4 rollos y la sopa), la camarera dijo que no podía hacerlo porque tendría que pagar los artículos ella misma. Incluso se atrevió a decirnos que por qué habíamos probado los artículos si no nos gustaban. A uno de los rollos le faltaban 4 piezas, éramos 4 adultos y probamos un rollo cada uno, de lo contrario, ¿cómo sabríamos que no nos gustaria? Comenzó a tratarnos como si quisiéramos aprovecharnos cuando en realidad fuimos a un restaurante y nos fuimos con el estómago vacío después de gastar $283.68. Terminaron sin cobrarnos 2 de los 5 artículos que devolvimos. No hicieron lo correcto. No regresaremos.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2023 via mobile

Really great spot. Very good food an intimate and interesting setting. Highly recommend for a special night out. Will go back

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2023

Great staff and great food. I suggest the place for those looking for a quality night out. The waiters were great and the manager cared about how you felt about all the details.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A CL, Dueño at Nakamura, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2023

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with our staff and enjoyed our delicious food. We take pride in providing a quality night out for our guests. Our waiters are dedicated to excellent service, and our...More

Reviewed 7 April 2023 via mobile

Go here for sushi! We were able to meet the manager/owner the evening before we visited and he was so nice and giving us a welcoming along with a little history about the restaurant. We ordered sushi and were absolutely wow'd! Self proclaimed foodie here-...go for the sushi... DR will tax mandatory 18% (we weren't tracking that). But the portions are well worth it!More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alberto Campos, Dueño at Nakamura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2023

Dear 57candiced, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our sushi and that you were impressed by the quality of our food. It is especially heartening to hear that as...More

Reviewed 25 March 2023

Restaurant is smaller than it appears from photos, which is good due to the fact only a few people work there. Service was slow and inexperienced in some cases (removing water glasses midway through meal). Some food was good, some sushi was not. Rolls are...huge. We also had the unfortunate experience of an obnoxiously loud and inappropriate table next to us to the point we considered leaving (the head waiter did offer another seat). Not advertised is that it is in a hotel.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alberto Campos, Dueño at Nakamura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2023

Dear 57candiced, We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit to our restaurant. We apologize for the slow service you experienced and any issues with the inexperienced staff removing your water glasses mid-meal. This is not the standard we hold ourselves to and we will...More

Reviewed 21 March 2023 via mobile

I recently visited a local sushi restaurant and was impressed by the quality of the food. The flavors were exquisite, the presentation was impeccable, and the atmosphere was serene. I especially enjoyed the sushi rolls, which were expertly crafted with fresh, high-quality ingredients. However, my...dining experience took a sharp turn when my female partner began to feel uncomfortable. She complained that the sushi chef kept winking at her and it made her feel uneasy. Despite her attempts to avoid eye contact and the chef continued to make her feel uncomfortable. This behavior was completely unacceptable and ruined our evening. As a result of this disturbing incident, I can not in good conscience recommend this restaurant. It's a shame that such a great dining experience was marred by the inappropriate behavior of one individual.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alberto Campos, Dueño at Nakamura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2023

Dear Taylan, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience regarding the quality of our food, presentation, and atmosphere. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our expertly crafted sushi rolls with fresh and high-quality ingredients. However, we are deeply sorry to hear...More

Reviewed 12 March 2023 via mobile

Nakamuro atmosphere is beautiful && the sushi rolls were unnnnnnnnbelievable!!! We were staying at the fishing Lodge & having Nakamuro RIGHT THERE …. So good.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alberto Campos, Dueño at Nakamura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2023

Dear Maddi, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Nakamura. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful atmosphere of our restaurant and that our sushi rolls exceeded your expectations. We are delighted to hear that our restaurant...More

Reviewed 2 February 2023

we arrived at 8;00 pm and we left at 9;45 without our food! we had a horrible experience the worst service you can imagine, the poor server had only been there a week and was so embarrased ! we saw the table that arrived half...and hour after we did get their food before us ! mind you no one came to apologize !! we ended up having dinner at restaurant next door! .More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ACL, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Nakamura, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2023

Dear Myrna M, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at our restaurant. Your satisfaction is important to us and we take all comments seriously. We would like the...More

Reviewed 6 November 2022

First of all, the place is nicely decorated and well spaced. The service was outstanding; starting from the welcome, to the nice drinks, all the way to the delicious meals. Everyone was great, specially the host Jonathan. Nothing short of spectacular!!!

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ACL, Guest Relations Manager at Nakamura, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2022

Thank you very much for your comments. In Nakamura we try to improve ourselves day by day to offer you the best of the best. We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 27 August 2022

My experience at Nakamura was fantastic and memorable. Marielis was in charge of my table. She recommended the Sushi speciality and was delicious. She also suggested dessert and was amazing. The service was prompt, derailed and quality of food was top notch. I fully recommend...this restaurant.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ACL, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Nakamura, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2022

Thank you very much for your comments. In Nakamura we try to improve ourselves day by day to offer you the best of the best. We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 21 August 2022 via mobile

Great food and amazing service. Would definitely come back for all the attention. Salmon sashimi was incredible. Wine selection is very varied. Amazing overall.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ACL, Guest Relations Manager at Nakamura, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2022

Thank you very much for your comments. In Nakamura we try to improve ourselves day by day to offer you the best of the best. We hope to see you soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Fishing Lodge Cap Cana
144 reviews
.19 km away
Alsol Luxury Village
5 reviews
.52 km away
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
1,039 reviews
1.82 km away
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
21,753 reviews
2.67 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Aura Mediterranean Cuisine
28 reviews
.30 km away
La Yola Restaurant
1,756 reviews
.66 km away
Kon Kon
13 reviews
.12 km away
Maralia Restaurant
27 reviews
1.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Marina Cap Cana
243 reviews
.63 km away
Casino Dominic Cap Cana
36 reviews
.04 km away
Santa Elena Fishing Charters
6 reviews
.23 km away
Versus Marina Cap Cana
40 reviews
.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Nakamura staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Nakamura, Punta Cana - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Nakamura

Yes, Nakamura is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Nakamura is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4