We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tapas On The Bay

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rodney Bay Waterfront | St Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
+1 758-451-2433
Website
Today
10:00 - 15:00
16:00 - 18:00
18:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Mon 18:00 - 22:00
Wed - Mon 10:00 - 15:00
16:00 - 18:00
Wed - Thu 18:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 18:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

557 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 522: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

not too expensive and food delicious and fresh. Took a while to come to table but that was OK. the views from our table were fabulous, looking out onto the sea as we all ate x

Helpful?
1 Thank kellie m
Management response:

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to comment. We're glad you enjoyed your Tapas experience, and look forward to welcoming you back another time! More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

The food and surroundings was great... Food looked well prepared, the selection for 5 people was perfect, food tasted perfect. I would go there again 100%. Friendly staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
Management response:

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review, we're so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We have now tried Tapas twice once in June and now in August. It looked nice but on both occasions the place couldn't deliver. Both times it didn't look busy, just a couple of tables taken but the waitress just couldnt be bothered to attent. No asking if we would like a glass of water or drinks. We were left... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelmouse74
Management response:

Hi there, I'm sorry to hear about your experience at Tapas. If you have the time I'd like to ask you to share a few more details with us, so that we can determine how to resolve this. It would be great if you could let us know the date you visited, and the time of day, for example. Our... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2016

We ate at Tapas a few nights ago. We had just one main which was fish and rice, we had two single tapas dishes sea food cold dish and green banana and plantain mix with mayonnaise, we also had three apple crisp and ice cream desert , one coke, one ginger ale and a mudslide . The bill came to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leah C
Management response:

Hi there, I'm sorry that your Tapas experience was not what you had hoped for, and we will certainly be looking into these points, in particular the issue of the television. More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Atmosphere and service were perfect, however we missed out on a true tapas experience where you can order as many different plates as you'd like. All of the tapas come in "platter" sub categories, so you can have 5 tapas based on local, beef, chicken, or seafood. My husband and I did not want to lock ourselves into one platter,... More 

Helpful?
Thank bates513
Management response:

Hi, thanks for the feedback. During the quieter summer months we do scale our menu back a little, and this is why we offer the platters. Once the season picks up again we will return to the full complement of individual dishes. We're glad you enjoyed the food, and hope to see you again when we can offer you the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2016

This is a sister restaurant to Big Chef so the food is good and you have a view which is particulary beautiful at nights! Not as extensive a menu though and more relaxed atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank marysc0tland
Management response:

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write a review, we're glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon! More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We stumbled across this place, we ordered two mojitos and food, the drinks were what tasted like water and run with a little poor quality brown mint floating around, calamari was rubbery and with a couple of locals next door shouting at each other, it was not a great lunch.

Helpful?
Thank TheDoc2013
Management response:

We're sorry that you were disappointed with your visit, but grateful that you took the time to let us know. We will certainly look closely at what happened with the mojitos and calamari, and have already spoken to the guys who look after the dinghies next door, as I assume they were the ones to whom you refer. More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2016

Arrived to an empty restaurant 15 minutes too late for the special 3 course lunch menu. Only a couple of vegetarian dishes available - in a tapas bar - which restricted our choices. Having selected a green salad and a pesto pasta together with a single (for sharing) tapas platter we received the food fairly quickly and the waiter was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gasmangeoff
Management response:

We're truly sorry that your visit did not live up to your expectations, and the points you raise are quite concerning, so I would like to address the main comments for clarity, and would be happy to discuss further if you wish. All prices below are in EC$ (US$1 = EC$2.7). Unfortunately we do have to stop offering the 3-course... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Mind you, this was a very busy night and we came in with no reservation. So we may have to pay this one another visit. However, from what we experienced- the tapas were quite sub par. I ordered the seafood combination tapas platter (all gluten free except the cod fritters) and my boyfriend ordered the meat combination tapas platter- which... More 

Helpful?
Thank agnessavenok
Management response:

Thanks for the feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the Calypso session, and we do apologise that your experience was perhaps not quite what it could have been this time. We stage the Calypso night to tie in with the Carnival celebrations - so it happens just once a year, and this year the response was tremendous, so we were a... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent food, highly recommend!!! Our family had the meat tapas selection, everything was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank famluvtotravel
Management response:

Thanks so much, we're glad you enjoyed it! Next time we thoroughly recommend the Caribbean Tapas selection, for our own twist on some Mediterranean favourites! More 

Travellers who viewed Tapas On The Bay also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Tapas On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$50
Cuisine
Caribbean, Spanish, Mediterranean, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Parking Available, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
18:00 - 22:00
10:00 - 15:00
16:00 - 18:00
Monday
18:00 - 22:00
10:00 - 15:00
16:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 15:00
16:00 - 18:00
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 15:00
16:00 - 18:00
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 15:00
16:00 - 18:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 15:00
16:00 - 18:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rodney Bay Waterfront | St Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
  • Location: Caribbean  >  St. Lucia  >  Gros Islet Quarter  >  Gros Islet
  • Phone Number: +1 758-451-2433
Description
With its Spanish-inspired decor and menu of 'little dishes from around the world', Tapas On The Bay is tucked into a breezy corner of Rodney Bay marina lagoon, where a steady breeze blows across the calm waters and cools its spacious covered deck. The long, Soufriere stone clad bar is perfect for enjoying a quick lunch or dinner, and the secluded location makes Tapas On The Bay a great place to relax and chill out. Taking traditional tapas as a base, Chef Rosie incorporates Caribbean and international influences, creating innovative new bite-sized dishes with local ingredients and flavours, serving them on sharing platters for a very social eating experience. There are also plenty of delicious entrees and yummy desserts to round out the menu. Throw in some excellent wines, three different types of sangria and boozy cocktails by the jug, and Tapas On The Bay could be your next favourite dining spot in Saint Lucia.

Open for brunch from 10am to 3pm, happy hour from 4pm to 6pm and dinner from 6pm to 10pm (11pm Saturday and Sunday). Closed Tuesdays.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tapas On The Bay and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
fond du lac, United States
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tapas On The Bay staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?