We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cultured Pelican

Coakley Bay Condos, Christiansted, St. Croix
+1 340-773-3333
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good29%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“manicotti” (4 reviews)
“pasta dishes” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Coakley Bay Condos, Christiansted, St. Croix
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We called from The Buccaneer and ordered a pizza and a calzone to go. I really wish our children had been cooperating enough to dine in because I was very pleased with the food, the staff, and the atmosphere there. When I called to order...More

Thank redb651
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your positive review. It will be wonderful to host you and your family on your next visit to St. Croix. Thanks again. Dennis

Reviewed 9 April 2018

We dined at the Cultured Pelican a few nights ago. We weren't sure what to think about going to an Italian restaurant on the island, but we'd been having fish all week so we figured what the heck! We were pleasantly surprised. We arrived about...More

Thank 3ABeerMama
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you so much for your generous review. The Cultured Pelican has been my passion for the past 27 years. Although we have many returning guest to the Pelican I'm always pleased to see new faces in the restaurant. Thanks again and hope to see...More

Reviewed 24 March 2018

We have avoided this restauarant due to a bad experience years ago. We made the mistake of trying again. I have to profess this was the most uneventful, blah food I have had on the island and it is pricey. Ceasar Salad was old limp...More

Thank vanvan11
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Customer service is dead! We had reservations at 7and didn't get our food until 8:30ish. 2 calzones took an hour and a half!? The server kept apologizing and said our food was coming but we kept waiting. We were given 4 pieces of bread about...More

Thank leslieanne0017
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Leslie, I'm sorry your calzones took so long Sunday night. Unfortunately there was limited space in the Pizza oven and Sunday was a very busy pizza and calzone night. Usually pizza and calzone take aprox 20 minutes, but when we're backed up like that it...More

Reviewed 13 March 2018

This restaurant is on the grounds of the Coakley Bay Condos on St. Croix -- on the East End. It is left after entering, and then just around the curve to the right as you start going up the hill. Go through the little parking...More

Thank Carl H
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thanks for the positive review. We are in our 27th year and take much pride in what we do. Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your visit to St. Croix. Dennis

Reviewed 27 February 2018

Food was fantastic....home made manicotti was out of this world...chef walks around to see how you like your meal...service was slow...waited a little no time for our dinner..had to ask for bread but....the food is worth it.More

Thank ragsarino
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you so much for coming to the Cultured Pelican. I'm glad you enjoyed the manicotti. It's my Moms recipe and my favorite growing up. I am very sorry about the slow service the night you were in. I'm working with an entirely new crew...More

Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my tortellini carbonara, although perhaps pricey at $28. My friends who also had pasta enjoyed their meals too. One guy had a calzone that was almost inedible. The guitarist was truly amazing, if a shade loud.

Thank PhilipT754
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hi Philip, Sorry your guest did not enjoy his Calzone. Did he mention it to the server? Perhaps I could have made him another item. I'll let Steve know to bring down the volume a bit. . Thank you for joining us. Dennis

Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is Italian style, with pizza and pasta as main dishes; we had pizza to share as starter and was average and pasta as main course; all the pasta dishes were average - I had the linguine with clam sauce and the clams were...More

Thank Florinhim
Reviewed 9 February 2018

I should have listened to the bad reviews. Very disappointed in the food. Caesar salad was tasteless. Compare to worse than a chain restaurant.More

Thank Jane C
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Jane I'm sorry your visit to the Cultured Pelican was less than favorable for you. We usually receive very favorable comments on our Caesar and other Salads. Did you let your server know you were not happy with the salad? What else did you have...More

Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a delicious dinner at the Cultured Pelican. The views are amazing here! The menu is Italian with seafood dishes and nightly specials. The aromas coming from the kitchen make your mouth water! The salads were large and the dressings tasty....More

Thank Sally M
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks Sally. I'm glad you had a good experience at the Cultured Pelican. Hope to see you again soon. Dennis

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in St. Croix
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
441 reviews
2.40 km away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
858 reviews
3.63 km away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
228 reviews
3.76 km away
The Buccaneer St Croix
1,496 reviews
4.96 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ziggy's Island Market
209 reviews
.42 km away
Castaways
75 reviews
.38 km away
The Kitchen
6 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Buck Island Reef National Monument
748 reviews
3.21 km away
Isaac Bay
136 reviews
6.78 km away
Fort Christiansvaern
702 reviews
7.05 km away
Point Udall
602 reviews
5.80 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cultured Pelican staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$26
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Coakley Bay Condos, Christiansted, St. Croix
  • Location: Caribbean  >  U.S. Virgin Islands  >  St. Croix  >  Christiansted
  • Phone Number: +1 340-773-3333
  • E-mail
Description
An Al Fresco dining room with a magnificent Caribbean view. The menu is Home style Italian featuring veal, pastas, local seafood and local farm salads. Open Tues - Sun eves for dinner from 6pm.Complete dinner special for $25. Includes appetizer, Entrtee and dessert. Avail 6 - 7pm every dat except Thurs.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;