We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 22/10
20:00
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$21
CUISINES
British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (849)
Filter reviews
849 results
Traveller rating
357
194
110
77
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
357
194
110
77
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bread rolls salad bar lovely meal wayne gemma jack unlimited
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

We couldn't wait to try out the new menus at Harvester Merthyr and wasn't disappointed the whole experience was brilliant from start to finish thanks to all the staff

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago

A couple of steaks which were great many thanks to the chefs and we were assisted by Ellie who provided great customer service which helped make for an enjoyable experience. Thanks again

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello! I am so glad that your experience was so enjoyable, I will pass your comments on to the team. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

My partner and I came here for a quick breakfast as we normally like harvester food. My partner had the cooked breakfast which he had asked for with no mushrooms and it came with them anyway (second time in two trips to a harvester that...this has happened). This wasn't a huge deal as he enjoyed his breakfast otherwise. I asked for the pancakes with fruit and syrup, however they were so tough I couldnt even cut through them!! I have never experienced such rubbish pancakes, which were also cold. The service was nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful. They didn't make me pay for my breakfast as I couldn't eat it anyway. Unfortunately the fact that my food was inedible leaves for a 1 our of 5 in my opinion.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Harvester on Saturday. On entering we were greeted by Ellie, what a pleasure it was. She was friendly and chatty without being overbearing, she made our visit an enjoyable experience. I suggest you hang on to her Harvester Brand, she’s an asset to...your business!!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Freedom00433003936, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to Ellie, and the team here at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil! If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Haven’t seen my family for a while due to covid! Came out for a family meal! We were sat by a lovey lady called Ellie tall dark hair. She was so friendly and smiley, she sat us at our table and chatted with us about...how everything works with covid restrictions she was very knowledgable and so friendly ! We were served by a young guy called Dylan! He was great fab service ! Food was lovely ! The dirty Burger is the absolute bomb! Will be returning!!! Thank you both who served us!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Bargainb2021, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil. I will be sure to pass your comments along to the team and we hope you visit again soon! Have a great day!

Reviewed 4 September 2021 via mobile

Came home after a long day trip to Chester decided last minute to have food at harvester we were the last booking the staff was absolutely brilliant and service was good I love coming here

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Hi edwardsa1843, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're thrilled to hear you had such a fantastic time dining with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Harvester Rhydycar

Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

Food and service was lovely although was expensive compared to the last time we visited. I am aware you need to make a profit due to COVID over the last two years although would be nice to have some consideration for visitors and there money....Also the salad bar was lovely although again was disappointed I couldn’t pick my own portions again I am aware this is changed due to COVID although I’m sure there would be a way to do this different. Overall we had a lovely visit just the price and the way the salad bar is run.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Hi jayh722, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. COVID has definitely been a massive struggle for everyone, we are happy to be open and to be able to welcome our lovely guests through our doors. Visit again soon. Harvester Rhydycar

Reviewed 29 August 2021

Love this Harvester, staff are always friendly and polite. Food is hot and tasty, can't ask for much more. Visited on a Friday, it's always very busy but seems to always be organised.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2021

Hi Tecthetics, What a wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Visit again soon! Thanks, Harvester Rhydycar

Reviewed 28 August 2021 via mobile

To start we ordered starters. Starters ok Drinks lovely and cool. Issue started with main. Family member had curry, curry cole, rice overcooked and hard. When spoke waitess she said can see how dry and hard it is. I had chicken. Gravy was cold, chips...ok and then big problem, chicken wasnt cooked and blood coming out of it. Lets go on side orders. Garlic dough balls cold amd sweet potatoes fry dry and again cold. Out of three people. One member ended up eating food. Other two wasted due to eithier overcooked, under cooked or being cold. I felt sorry waitess as you could see she was delaing with conplaint after complain after complaint from varies tables. All having same issue food over or under cooked or cold. Food kept being exchanged or changed and issues seemed to kee going. I didnt see manager deal with one complaint or issue or even laise with kitchen staff as it was obvious ghe issue was cooking. Manager appeared oblivious as kept seeing him on his phone. Fact chicken wasnt cooked dangerous. I think the store need train or hire new cooks and definetly consider a different manager. One supports his team, deals with customers, coaches and trains staff. He appeared to ignore and not sort issue. If it wasnt fact demi waitress was awesome and could see she was delaing everyone i think she was and should be a managerMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Hi Fiona, We are sorry that you are so distraught by you're visit, that you felt it necessary to post your feedback on several review avenues - we can only apologise for this. There were unforeseen issues in the kitchen during peak time, which put...More

Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

Seated quickly and covid process explained, e.g staff serve you your salad at the salad bar. Cheerful and helpful waitress. Service was a bit slow but restaurant was full. I had the chicken katsu bowl which was very tasty.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2021

Hi AJ_Smith666, thank you for taking the time to leave a TripAdvisor review, it is very much appreciated. We're thrilled you enjoyed dining with us and the Katsu Chicken Bowl is most definitely tasty! Visit again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
486 reviews
.21 km away
Castle Hotel
255 reviews
.83 km away
Tregenna Hotel
148 reviews
1.21 km away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil hotel
623 reviews
2.07 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
JOL's
357 reviews
.50 km away
The New Crown Ltd
328 reviews
.48 km away
Woodfired Restaurant and Bar
350 reviews
.72 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cyfarthfa Castle
401 reviews
1.12 km away
Redhouse
37 reviews
.89 km away
Joseph Parry's Cottage
22 reviews
1.32 km away
Vue Merthyr Tydfil
35 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
587hadrians
16 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Jonathan P | Reviewed this property |
I believe Harvester's do have a breakfast menu. Jon.
1
Vote
Helen F
3 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from keelan w | Reviewed this property |
The car park is situated right next to the building with direct disabled access and toilets are provided inside!
1
Vote
Julie M
18 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from M1154XLdavidt | Reviewed this property |
Hoya No idea, you'd have to contact them direct..
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Harvester Merthyr Tydfil

Yes, Harvester Merthyr Tydfil offers takeaway services.

Harvester Merthyr Tydfil is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3