We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Y Dic Penderyn

102-103 High Street, Merthyr Tydfil CF47 8AP, Wales
+44 1685 385686
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good21%
  • Average22%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (5 reviews)
“burgers” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
102-103 High Street, Merthyr Tydfil CF47 8AP, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The Spoons in Merthyr Tydfil as a 2 rating which is not the best but saying that they have brought back a previous manager and he is doing is best to sort out the problem, good luck with that.

Thank Gwyn O
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Haven't been here for years! Had to meet a female Client so we had lunch here. I had the Welsh beef and ale pie, chips, peas and gravy. Sian had the Teryaki noodles. Both were excellent, hot and plentiful! Well done!

Thank jackarmy1071
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After staying in the local Premier Inn for a night we fancied a change of scenery and decided to visit this venue and try the chicken night. I had a couple issues with my dish which the manager Rhydian duty manager handled perfectly and personally...More

Thank 495bernier
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ate (and drank a few pints!) here after doing the Brecon horseshoe walk (awesome hike btw). Found this to be amongst the better wetherspoons i've been in. Good service, clean, friendly locals and a fun Saturday evening atmosphere. Had the Welsh sausages with Welsh mash...More

Thank Jamie J
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Although it's relatively clean in there today service was slow & when the mixed grill arrived all the meat was dry, a little tough & pices were all thin. Disappointing to say the least. The lady serving didn't look like she wanted to be there...More

Thank Huw J
JD W, Manager at Y Dic Penderyn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments regarding your visit. - If you have any issues with any of the food that was served, and it is not up to expected standard, then yes, please inform a member of staff/management who will be more than happy to replace...More

Reviewed 3 September 2017

I've been visiting Merthyr Wetherspoon since it first opened and have never had a bad meal there. I always enjoy it. No matter how busy the place is I've always found the staff to be polite and courteous and they always ask if we are...More

Thank LynetteRees
JD W, Manager at Y Dic Penderyn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Lynette, Thank you so much for your comments regarding time spent with us at the pub. - It's lovely to get some great feedback. - I'll make sure I pass this on to all of my team. Kind Regards, See you soon. Ashley McGill

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Breakfast brunch inedible worst I've had in any Wetherspoons service at bar shocking for a busy period 1 girl serving, management need shaking up.gone downhill.not going to eat there again.

Thank 2,545
JD W, Manager at Y Dic Penderyn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments regarding your visit. - Unfortunately due to the lack of details in your feedback I can't investigate this further. If you'd like to discussed this with me further, please contact me directly at the pub. Kind Regards, Ashley McGill 01685 385786

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

We were very disappointed by the attitude of the manager today. We pre-booked a table for 12 people to celebrate our daughters 18th. Only to be told by the manager on our arrival that there was no booking made. We showed him the call made...More

Thank Chews09
JD W, Manager at Y Dic Penderyn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for your comments. - It was myself who you spoke to on the evening of your visit. As discussed, I spoke to the manager who was on shift when you called, however he had no knowledge of the booking being taken. I tried...More

Reviewed 19 August 2017

Had breakfast here last week, waited 45 min. had to go find out what the delay was, finally arrived 50 min. after ordering, no apology given, the breakfast was cold and gone dry it didn't look freshly cooked. Very poor this place has gone down...More

Thank dukewales
JD W, Manager at Y Dic Penderyn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit. - Please accept my apologies for the poor food that was served. - If you would like to discuss this with me further, and in more detail I can investigate the matter and hopefully move forward. Kind...More

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Pathetic service at bar was ignored by member of staff who served 3 customers before us thought we had bubonic plague. My mate asked for Cardiff Ale @sorry it's off" no it wasn't luckily another member of staff said it was on. Guy didn't give...More

Thank Janebbc
JD W, Manager at Y Dic Penderyn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank for your comments regarding your visit. - I'm sorry for the service you received, did you speak to a Manger and express your concerns during your time of visit? If you would like me to investigate further, please do give me a call with...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
JOL's
188 reviews
.37 km away
Woodfired Pizza & Kitchen
223 reviews
.14 km away
The new Crown Inn
164 reviews
.39 km away
Wrap n Roll
21 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bike Park Wales
306 reviews
2.97 km away
Dare Valley Country Park
123 reviews
7.38 km away
Cyfarthfa Castle
295 reviews
1.30 km away
Aberdare Park
102 reviews
6.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Adie52
23 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Malcybaby69 | Reviewed this property |
5 min walk away
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 102-103 High Street, Merthyr Tydfil CF47 8AP, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Merthyr Tydfil  >  Merthyr Tydfil
  • Phone Number: +44 1685 385686
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing