We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
British, American, Bar, Pizza, Pub, Street Food
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
28
11
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
28
11
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger don t think friendly service home cooked sunday dinner sarn helen roasties waitress egg waterfall starters gravy
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really lovely Sunday roast: very tasty, generous portions, nice selection of desserts. Horrific service, waiting long stretches for any interaction with staff! Longest wait of 45 minutes just for the dessert menu. If we hadn't have promised our toddler dessert we most definitely would have...left. No apologies, infact we felt as though each staff member avoided eye contact in fear of being asked for something. Could have easily been corrected with apologies or acknowledgement that we were waiting long stretches but nothing. Important to note there were many empty tables and 4 staff members covering the area.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
John Doe, Owner at The Meat and Greet Co. (Banwen), responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, would you be able to send across your booking info (lead name of the booking and time you were booked in for) so we can look into this for you asap.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have to say very disappointed. I have spoken to people who have spoken very highly of the place, unimpressed personally. Starters scotch egg. One little egg for £7:50 probably cost about £2 to make. Main course Welsh beef burger again unimpressed bog standard burger. Then...comes the bill £81 don’t think it was worth the money I was charged. Pretentious.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
John Doe, Owner at The Meat and Greet Co. (Banwen), responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, you have reviewed the wrong business sorry. The Meat & Greet Co. is a street food restaurant in a little village called Banwen in The Dulais Valley (SA10 9LW). We don't have scotch eggs on our menu. Would you be able to take this...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely tasty meal here! The service was friendly, the atmosphere relaxing and chilled and the food was out of this world. Tasty, every last bite, and really fair pricing considering the quality of the cooking, the service and the food. If we lived here we’d...be there regularly. The desserts looked super tasty too so will certainly need a return visit to try them.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 October 2021

Food is out of this world! Wish I could go there every meal of every day as it’s so delicious! Such friendly staff also. Can’t wait for our next meal/takeaway! Outstanding!

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 August 2021 via mobile

Visited this restaurant on the recommendation of some friends. Got there for an early evening sitting at 1730 hrs on 31/7/21. Entered the building and was attended to by the waitress. We did ask if we could sit in the rear restaurant but we told...that we couldn’t and were escorted to a place to sit in the front area opposite the bar / counter. On entering the music was blasting with deafening rock music. We did ask for it to be turned down. The waitress reply was that she will do in a minute ( this was more like 10 mins later ! ). After ordering our food which quickly arrived after much to our disappointment the food was never a 5 star rating. The pulled pork was from a tin, the chips were from a frozen bag. Food was absolutely disgusting. The was more like truck stop cafe. Over priced and overrated. We have standards and this does not come anywhere near them. We certainly will not be visiting here anytime soon 😡😡😡😡😡😡More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 July 2021 via mobile

Came across this place after visiting the National Trust waterfall 'Henrhyd Falls'. Talk about amazing!! It's a street food vibe on the menu, portions are huge and the food is to die for!! Fresh, home cooked, succulent...3 x patties in the burgers which are loaded...with flavoursome ingredients, ribs are so tender, the food really was divine. Home made sauces and dips, loads to choose from on the menu which was great for both adults and children. We didn't ask, but I'm sure you could take away a doggy bag as I bet you won't finish your dish :) You won't stumble upon this diner, take a look at these guys on Facebook, they love what they do and they do it well, it's a hidden gem!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 July 2021 via mobile

Best Sunday dinner had out in a long time. Rich gravy, perfect yorkshires and roasties !! Friendly service.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 June 2021 via mobile

Follow the sign from the main road ‘Sarn Helen Cafe’ and you will find this gem of a place. Both the service and food is excellent. We had a meal booked later that evening so did not want too much so shared a couple of...pizzas and a bowl of chips, not expecting to eat all of it. However, it was sooooo good we ate it all and just figured we would order less later! All the food is cooked fresh to order and the quality is evident. Well worth leaving the main road for.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 August 2020

Turned up last minute with a few friends, very welcoming place, opted for the new burgers with roasties & gravy (Was feeling adventurous) Genuinely best thing i've ever tasted. Game changer!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 March 2020

Turned up with family (all boys!) Saturday morning, expecting standard breakfast.. couldn't have been more wrong! Really well cooked and presented, delicious - and with the bonus of good coffee! Well done, and keep it up, we'll be back..!!!

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
839 reviews
9.21 km away
The Dillwyn Arms Hotel
18 reviews
14.55 km away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
1,176 reviews
15.43 km away
Castle Hotel
396 reviews
15.75 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Prices Arms
234 reviews
2.09 km away
Call In Coffee Shop & Fish Bar
7 reviews
3.85 km away
The Ancient Briton
643 reviews
4.25 km away
Pen y Cae Inn
961 reviews
4.50 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Henrhyd Waterfall
264 reviews
2.55 km away
Sgwd Einion Gam
9 reviews
3.36 km away
Wales Ape and Monkey Sanctuary
418 reviews
3.61 km away
Antur Outdoor Adventure - Day Trips
48 reviews
5.60 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Meat and Greet Co. (Banwen) staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Meat and Greet Co. (Banwen)

Yes, The Meat and Greet Co. (Banwen) offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Meat and Greet Co. (Banwen) offers delivery services.

The Meat and Greet Co. (Banwen) is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5