We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Castle Inn Codnor

$$ - $$$
Bar, Pub, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ormonde Golf Club | Codnor, Ripley, England
+44 1773 744157
Website
Today
09:00 - 12:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 12:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 19: English reviews
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here as part of a large group at the beginning of November for Sunday lunch carvery and was very impressed. Superb food, friendly staff and excellent value for money. You'd be hard pushed to find a better Sunday lunch in terms of quality and value. I'd definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank andrewgrainger
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We now visit this wonderful place every Sunday and it really is the best place to have a family meal and know that the produce they use is all homemade, in particular the yorkshires which are incredibly gigantic! The young 'bearded' head chef has a beautiful skill with cookery and we shall definitely continue to endeavour to entertain this food.... More 

Helpful?
Thank lansdinjean
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
394 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

It's perhaps not the most stylish of places but the Codnor Castle offers one of the best value Sunday carveries in the area. The food is excellent and plentiful, served by a team of lovely young staff. Well worth a try.

Helpful?
Thank AlanandSally
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I went here for a presentation evening, to say I was disappointed would be an understatement - I'd heard such good things about Castle Inn, but on arrival we where greeted by a very dated function room, small bar area and only 2 toilets in the ladies, which was very dark and the floor was wet through! When we went... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank UkFab
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologise for the experience you received on this occasion. We strive to deliver the best to our customers at all times, I can assure you this is not how we operate on a day to day! If a member of staff was informed about the ladies toilets we would have resolved... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Went on a night out Friday 14th oct for a social event. About 120 of us crammed in the function room with hardly any room to move. Poor planning of the tables - heating was on full blast and we were baking hot. Could have turned the heat down. The buffet provided was poor. The bread sandwiches were dry and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pandorapolly
Management response:

Good afternoon, thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. However, we did not have any input in the planning of the tables/seating plan as it was down to the organisers. The heating was requested to be turned on and it was turned off later in the evening. We... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Attended a recent wedding here. The food was great, lovely location and all the staff were attentive and welcoming. Reasonable drinks prices. Would recommend and will be back to try the Sunday dinners.

Helpful?
1 Thank HeanorPaul
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2016

We are fortunate enough to eat out most Sundays and get out and about, but the Sunday roast dinner at Codnor Castle Inn is unbeatable in my view. Real home cooked food ( not out of a packet ) it's a carvery so help yourself but the staff are very attentative and helpful. Desserts are plentiful but alas the dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank stuarthsl
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2016

We took my mum for lunch. The food was lovely, with a good choice of meat, vegetables, Yorkshire puddings the size of a small house and delicious desserts. Thank you to George and his team for an enjoyable meal.

Helpful?
2 Thank gillyb0b2014
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2016

My Partner took me to The Codnor Castle Inn last night for a Valentines Meal and it was all that I expected and more. The food was excellent, the service was perfect. They even did a complimentary photo of the two of us to remember the special night.

Helpful?
Thank pammy62
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
394 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2016

We ate here with family on the Sunday between Christmas & New Year and were impressed by the quality and the value of the carvery offering. The food was hot, fresh and nicely presented by the young chef carving the meats. We were well looked after at the table by our young waitresses and all in all had a really... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AlanandSally

Travellers who viewed Castle Inn Codnor also viewed

 
Ripley, Derbyshire
 

Been to Castle Inn Codnor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 12:00
Monday
09:00 - 12:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 12:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 12:00
Thursday
09:00 - 12:00
Friday
09:00 - 12:00
Saturday
09:00 - 12:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ormonde Golf Club | Codnor, Ripley, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Ripley
  • Phone Number: +44 1773 744157

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Castle Inn Codnor staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?