We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Taplow Common Road | Grovefield House, Burnham SL1 8LR, England
+44 844 693 2960
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came with my mother for champagne afternoon tea and first impressions were positive. We were greeted warmly on arrival and shown to the bar where we were asked to wait to be seated( we were 5 minutes early.) we had a nice table with a view of the garden. I was pleased to find out that we had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank JDbluesky
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear JDbluesky Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you had a nice Afternoon Tea with us. I do apologise that you were not satisfied with the scones which we make fresh every day and will be reviewing with the chef to investigate why this has happened in order for us to rectify. I am... More 

Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very welcome gift from very longstanding friends of ours to celebrate a major wedding anniversary of ours, Everything superb including a glass of champagne although that may have been an extra - who knows!!

Helpful?
Thank phurl24
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Phurl24 Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you had a superb time with us especially as it was such a special occasion you were celebrating. I do hope we see you back again soon. Kind Regards Paul More 

buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
232 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017

We were given a voucher for afternoon tea and visited just before Christmas. We have been and had tea here in the past some have been fantastic some not so. We arrived at 4pm and were seated at our table we were given a sandwich menu where you can select two types of sandwiches each and our hot beverage order... More 

Helpful?
Thank mjmr
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear MjMr Thank you for your recent review and I am delighted to hear that as a returning guest you experienced a lovely Afternoon with us. I will ensure to share your fantastic feedback with the team here who I know will really appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you back again soon. Kind Regards Paul More 

St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017

My wife and I have just returned home after enjoying a super afternoon tea at Grovefield House, booked at the very last minute. Although we arrived 15 minutes late (satnav misdirection!) an immaculate window table was ready for us and we were made cheerfully welcome.There was a good choice of fiilings, and the finger sandwiches were freshly made to our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger F
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Roger F Thank you for such a lovely review and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us. I will ensure to share your feedback with the team who I know will greatly appreciate receiving such positive comments. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Paul More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016

I went with a friend using a 2 for 1 voucher for afternoon tea. At first I was a little put off, as the receptionist did not give us a warm welcome and just ignored us. In fact I had to approach her. There were no smiles at all. However, once past reception service was first class. Our waitress was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mrs U
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Mrs U Thank you for such a lovely review and I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely Afternoon Tea experience with us. I am sorry your initial welcome was not as it should be and I will speak with reception to improve that aspect as in our industry a Warm and Friendly welcome is essential. I... More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2016

My husband and I went to Grovefield House for afternoon tea. It was an early Christmas present from a friend. The positioning of the reception desk is odd,tucked behind a wall and difficult to see from the door. We waited in line to tell of our arrival for our booked slot. I cannot fault the waiting staff who were courteous... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Sandra L Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to us and I do personally apologise that you were left disappointed with your experience. I have reviewed our recent feedback alongside your valuable comments whilst also having a meeting with my Food & Beverage Manager and Head Chef to review. We will be carrying out... More 

Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

My Husband and I visited last year and had afternoon tea and were so disappointed that we complained and received another afternoon tea which we chose to book for today. Nearly one year on we were greeted by a member of staff who asked us to wait until exactly 2pm before showing us through to the dining area, his colleague... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Paul G Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent Afternoon Tea with us. I am sorry to hear that you were not totally satisfied with your experience and I will be reviewing your feedback with the team so that we can carry out the appropriate training/actions required in order to continue to improve our service... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2016

I have had numerous afternoon teas over the years and the service here was pathetic. We arrived at 2pm to be informed that they had failed to take the voucher down correctly over the phone and now wanted be to email to them. They offered us a table in the meanwhile but did not offer us any drinks whatsoever not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy_Jayne
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Tammy-Jayne Thank you for your review which you did state to all my team here that you were going to publish. I do not accept it is a fair or accurate review and I would like to advise all our readers that with any 3rd party purchase it is always essential to bring the voucher with you to the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

There was plenty of tea or coffee on offer and it was good they served decaffinated coffee if preferred. A good choice of sandwiches. There was not much of a selection of small cakes and a scone each. When we had gone previously more cakes were served. Good service by a very attentive and polite waitress. I felt the woodwork... More 

Helpful?
Thank susan c
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Susan C Thank you for your recent review and I was pleased to hear that you found your visit pleasant. I do appreciate your candid feedback which I will be reviewing with the relevant departmental managers to implement corrective action/training as appropriate. It is through our customers feedback where we learn what we do well and also areas we... More 

Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2016

Delicious afternoon tea served by very competent waiting staff. Difficult to fault as nothing could be improved on.

Helpful?
Thank Burnham10
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Burnham10 Thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us. I look forward to seeing you back again soon. Kind Regards Paul More 

Travellers who viewed Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House also viewed

 

Been to Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Taplow Common Road | Grovefield House, Burnham SL1 8LR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Burnham
  • Phone Number: +44 844 693 2960
  • This restaurant is at Grovefield House

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Camberley, United Kingdom
11 days ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?