We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Thatched Inn

$$ - $$$, , British
The Old Thatched Inn Main Street | The Old Thatched Inn, Adstock MK18 2JN, England
+44 1296 712584
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good21%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“hake” (11 reviews)
“sea bass” (14 reviews)
“sunday roast” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Old Thatched Inn Main Street | The Old Thatched Inn, Adstock MK18 2JN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Went with dinner with a family group whilst visiting Buckingham. This is the second year we have done this and this year was even better. Warm comfortable busy country pub,warm and comfortable with welcoming attentive staff and nothing was too much trouble. We sat on...More

Thank JohnEF33
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were greeted as soon as we walked in and asked to sit down in a charming lounge area, where our drinks and food orders were taken. The menu has a varied choice, the food was excellent, three of us had sea bass fillets. The...More

Thank Karen G
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a pub trying to be a restaurant. It serves really excellent chips. But everything else is an amateurish attempt to present what they think is fine dining. The desserts are dreadfully poor and best avoided. And the whole service is very amateurish. It...More

2  Thank Timpain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Busy Friday lunchtime, hadn't booked, no problem, found us a table and happy to have our small dog with us. Nice beer, wine, food and service so won't be our last visit.

Thank Caldwell25
FOHTeam1, Public Relations Manager at The Old Thatched Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

That's fantastic to hear, thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are looking for gastro pub perfection then look no further. The food was tasty and well cooked. The service was excellent and served in comfortable and welcoming surroundings. We would highly recommend and certainly be returning to The Old Thatched Inn.

Thank Karen N
FOHTeam1, Public Relations Manager at The Old Thatched Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We loved receiving your review of us, thank you so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Visited for my son's 30th birthday. Fantastic roast dinner, good beer and excellent wine, all delivered with attentive service. Very reasonable bill, what's not to like? Will definitely return :-)

Thank DanL-UK
FOHTeam1, Public Relations Manager at The Old Thatched Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

That's fab to hear, thank you so much and thank you for choosing the Old Thatch to celebrate your sons birthday. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 7 November 2017

This place has a nice feel to it and good atmosphere. We had a lovely lunch here a couple of Saturday's ago. Service was good, offered a seat and a drink as soon as we walked in. The food was delicious, two of us had...More

1  Thank Kathy B
FOHTeam1, Public Relations Manager at The Old Thatched Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review of us. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed the smoked haddock arancini, they're proving to be quite popular! We look forward to seeing you ahain.

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Had a gorgeous lunch with family. The welcome was warm, the food sublime and the atmosphere was friendly. After our meal we moved up to the sofas which was very relaxing. Will definitely return

Thank MXmum48
FOHTeam1, Public Relations Manager at The Old Thatched Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're so pleased to hear you all had a lovely relaxing time with us. We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Reviewed 1 November 2017

Met with a group totalling 20 to celebrate Mother-in-Laws 90th birthday, gathering for Sunday Lunch. Arriving at 1 o'clock, this venue was BUSY, the car park was full, but there is plenty of on road parking available. Pleased to see that there is ample seating...More

Thank John C
FOHTeam1, Public Relations Manager at The Old Thatched Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

The team are absolutely thrilled to receive your review, thank you so much. Thank you too for choosing the Old Thatch for such a wonderful celebration. We are so delighted that you all enjoyed your lunch with us and we look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Having never been to the Inn before we weren’t sure what to expect, but from the moment we walked in the door the staff were so attentive and there was a lovely vibe around the place. The food was amazing, the Aylesbury duck was delicious!...More

Thank Nicola M
FOHTeam1, Public Relations Manager at The Old Thatched Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

That's fantastic to hear, thank you for our 10 out of 10. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and in particular the Aylesbury duck, which is a favourite on our menu. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Swan Inn
278 reviews
3.52 km away
Toby's Restaurant
119 reviews
4.27 km away
The Crown
95 reviews
3.68 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Laurence Church
23 reviews
4.31 km away
Prince of Wales
8 reviews
5.23 km away
Winslow Farmers Market
25 reviews
4.27 km away
Divine Diva Fancy Dress
5 reviews
4.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jinny15
23 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from FOHTeam1 | Property representative |
Hello We have a Vegetarian menu available at the Old Thatch. We also have a set lunch and daily specials menu which also have a vegetarian option available. If you look on our website this will give you samples. If we can... More
0
Votes
christine p
8 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from S R | Property representative |
Hi Thank you for enquiring if we sell Hook Norton Beer. Unfortunately not any more. We have started using more local beers from brewers such as Chiltern Brewery and Leighton Buzzard. We have had a great response from our... More
0
Votes
christine p
8 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from David W | Reviewed this property |
As all of the above....we only went for a meal.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Old Thatched Inn Main Street | The Old Thatched Inn, Adstock MK18 2JN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Aylesbury Vale  >  Adstock
  • Phone Number: +44 1296 712584
  • E-mail
Description
The Old Thatched Inn is an award winning gastropub in a lovely village in Buckinghamshire. The restaurant is open for every day for lunch and dinner. Lunch is served from 12noon-2.30pm and dinner from 5pm-9pm Monday to Saturday. Sunday we serve food from 12noon-8pm. The bar is open from 12noon-11pm Monday - Saturday and 12noon-9pm on Sunday. The Old Thatched Inn dates back to 1702 and combines this heritage with a menu that fuses the freshest seasonal ingredients cooked with emphasis on taste, with modern presentation. Please take a look at our website for all our menus and events.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing