We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hope and Anchor

Hope Cove, Salcombe, England
+44 1548 561294
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pulled pork” (9 reviews)
“burger” (16 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hope Cove, Salcombe, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We stayed in Hope Cove and the Hope and Anchor was a few minutes stroll away. What a wonderful place to have on your doorstep ! Very good food, lovely selection of beers and wine and wonderful places to sit both inside and out. Staff...More

Thank Christine S
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for you 5* review, it is always pleasing to read such positive feedback regarding all aspects of your visit. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that sunset is just spectacular. We look forward to welcoming you back in...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

First night in Devon. Beautiful evening and would have eaten outside if we'd arrived earlier. However, could still watch the sun set from inside. Fresh crab salad was much enjoyed. Would come again.

Thank JackandJill5
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We always dine here when on holiday.The food is very well presented and the taste is out of this world,Had fish 2 nights running,it was delicious.They also done a very tasty pancake with ice cream and syrup.The inside is modern and,done tastefully,The bar has a...More

Thank simonshaw321
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for the 5* feedback provided following recent visit, it is always pleasing to receive positive feedback regarding the customer service provided, glad you enjoyed the nectar. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here 3 times, trying something different each time, felt spoilt for choice. Fish we had plaice and hake both delicious. We had not come across Dirty Chips before (chips covered in pulled pork, jalapenos and cheese) yummy. Chips are the best we have...More

Thank Whissey
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit and your dirty chips. The view is also stunning. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Just wished we had found this gem earlier. Beautiful scenery, lovely welcome from all staff, superb room. Breakfast delicious Evening meal was mouth watering. Can not fault it in any way. We will be returning that you can bank on.

Thank Dee H
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and glad the food was mouth watering. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more visits.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first time visiting beautiful Hope Cove and we got a bit peckish so decided to try The Hope and Anchor and we were not disappointed. It's a lovely pub with plenty of seating and we sat at the top so we had...More

Thank Michelle V
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow, thank you for this review, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your first visit with us, and we look forward to you returning soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had an impromptu lunch here after we sat down for a quick drink. The service was so efficient and professional that we ended up having more drinks and lunch! We find at more rural locations service in pubs can not always be great so this...More

Thank Debbie L
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Reviewed 1 week ago

Although slightly expensive you pay for the nice pub, and if you are able to sit outside the amazing beach location. Its brilliant that they have a selection of Gluten Free options, including GF bread for burgers. Overall it was a very nice visit, in...More

Thank PeskySeaMist
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came for lunch on Sunday with our dog. Some outdoor seating was nicer than others (we ended up by the bins!) but generally is a good spot for the dog. The seafood platter was great, and the house salad was nice aside from the...More

Thank lozdiningout
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not sure if this is a pub or a cafe or a bar or what... The service is welcoming and swift, but don't expect much from the food. Been coming here for a quarter of a century, and greatly preferred it when it was a...More

1  Thank Felicity D
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Cove
402 reviews
.02 km away
Beach House Cafe
543 reviews
1.44 km away
The Cottage Hotel
87 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hope Cove Beach
467 reviews
.02 km away
Bantham Beach
154 reviews
3.72 km away
Bigbury-on-Sea Beach
339 reviews
4.78 km away
Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park
366 reviews
5.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Andy R
25 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from StAustellManagement | Property representative |
Hi Andy, thank you for your question. We welcome dogs at the restaurant all year round and if you are staying with us, we ask for a fee of £10 per night. Please let me know if you'd like any further information. Best wishes... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hope Cove, Salcombe, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Salcombe  >  Hope Cove
  • Phone Number: +44 1548 561294
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing