We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hare and Hounds

Downend Road | Newport, Isle of Wight, Arreton PO30 2NU, England
+44 1983 523446
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (10 reviews)
“lamb shank” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
$$ - $$$
Downend Road | Newport, Isle of Wight, Arreton PO30 2NU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 696 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We called in early evening to eat as on way back to Bembridge. Not busy at 5.45pm ordered off value menu . starter arrived 15 minutes after ordering which was delicious and a very good portion size . Then unfortunately waited 50 minutes for main...More

Thank BevJ59
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

lunchtime and only one beer on tap. Really?? I don't think so, didn't stay. Pubs are losing their identity.

Thank Tr3nity
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to The Hare and Hounds whilst on holiday in the Isle of Wight and we were so dissapointed. The restaurant was not busy when we got there, but we ordered a drink first and browsed the menu. I went to the bar to...More

Thank Mandy S
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were warned that there would be a 45 minute delay and they were about right - in the meantime, however, we were twice offered other people's food due to a mix up in nicely cooked such as the rosemary chips and nuggets, some was...More

Thank smilingbluesky
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely lunch while touring the Isle of Wight .Lovely atmosphere and outside dining. Great friendly service. Would recommend to anyone always eat at the Hare and Hounds while on holiday to the Isle of Wight.

Thank s_williams565
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had lunch here with friends. A limited menu but some good dishes and not expensive. Our food was ok though service somewhat slow. But if you are not in too much of a hurry that is not a problem! Two people had desserts which were...More

Thank lauraSouth
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having visited this pub many times before over the years the food has always been great, However we decide to pop in again for a late lunch as we were passing, and was met with the bar staff saying half an hour wait which was...More

Thank SunnyLouise
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was first attracted to this pub by the thatched roof and was slightly concerned that it may be an expensive option. Shouldn't have worried as this was definately a cheap eats establishment serving great pub food. Not for those seeking fine dining but if you...More

Thank KevinMatt
Reviewed 1 week ago

This pub/restaurant looks very appealing with the thatched roof etc., but the service is very very slow, we were there today and had to ask when our starter, and then our mains would be ready. Would not recommend this pub due to the service as...More

Thank Gill L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ordered food, was told there was a 30 min wait. 1hr later still didn't receive order. 1 person on bar.. left in the end as service was andvery slow & poor. Spoke to manager who said the previous manager had left & taken all the...More

Thank Pumpkin5538
Nearby Restaurants
White lion pub
362 reviews
1.00 km away
Bluebells Cafe at Briddlesford Lodge Farm
282 reviews
2.56 km away
Pointer Inn
1,076 reviews
3.57 km away
Woodman Arms
110 reviews
3.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
Arreton Barns
603 reviews
.90 km away
Robin Hill Country Park
793 reviews
.48 km away
The White Lion
62 reviews
1.00 km away
Diamond Isle Glass
8 reviews
.94 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
12 July 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Janet H | Reviewed this property |
Just to let you know The Hare & Hounds has a quiz the last Friday of every month , it gets quite busy so may be advisable to book a table 01983 523446
Maureen P
19 July 2015|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from BrianNostalgia | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, we live nearly 200 miles away and just called in as we were visiting friends in the area.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
11:00 - 22:30
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Downend Road | Newport, Isle of Wight, Arreton PO30 2NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Arreton
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 523446
  • E-mail
Child and dog friendly thatched pub in the heart of the Isle Of Wight. Inside & outside seating with a play area to the rear.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing