We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mon Petit Choux

$$ - $$$French, Cafe,
101 Commercial St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5G5, Canada
+1 250-753-6002
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good33%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (9 reviews)
“bread” (29 reviews)
“choux” (5 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
French, Cafe, Canadian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
101 Commercial St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5G5, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate indoors this time and service was extra fun and friendly, baked goods perfectly done, and breakfast meals also great. I couldn't think of a better cafe. And easy to walk to from the boat.

Thank MrsDDO
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our coffee break with a nanaimo bar and coffee. The food and service were excellent. They have many delicious options from a snack to a light meal.

Thank ScubaEagle
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Lunch on a cool wet Sunday in Nanaimo. Sunday brunch in a nice cozy space. Place was hopping and had a good feeling! Food and service both excellent and as a bakery all the bread products used were great.

2  Thank 205
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We had lunch and then treats to take home. The sandwiches were both delicious, love that crusty bread. But the chocolate caramel tart - oh la la! Huge and so, so good. Merci!

1  Thank canuckduet
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

On our way to the airport and just had to try a local Nanaimo bar before we left. This was the top spot in Trip Advisor and did not disappoint - it was delicious! Can't comment on much else as we really did just get...More

1  Thank Mike C
Reviewed 22 February 2018

This place was a disappointment. 9:30 am on a Tuesday morning and the place was not busy, yet the service was slow and lacklustre. Took a long time to just get the attention of our server and even longer for our eggs benny to come...More

1  Thank Weej1967
gaetan b, Owner at Mon Petit Choux, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hi WEEJ1967 we are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit with us on this tuesday. We work hard everyday to provide a great experience to our guest and obviously we did not deliver and for that we apologise Gaeatn

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

This is a place with a small order desk and limited bakery items but lots of seating and they bring your drinks to your table. The drinks are good but the food was scarce. It was 3:00 on a Saturday but not much choice.More

Thank altun13
gaetan b, Owner at Mon Petit Choux, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Hi Altun 13 I am glad that you liked our coffees, and as for the scarcity of food at the time of your visit, Saturday was the wonderful women march and the rally point was across the street so we sold out of a lot...More

Reviewed 21 December 2017

A lovely french bakery,tearoom,sweet treats,croissants, all you desire! I visited this establismenment,often,when in Nanaimo-- compares only with the best.

Thank Maureen D
Reviewed 20 December 2017

A busy, friendly eatery right on the main street with windows on both side to watch the world go by. Interesting selection of lunch or breakfast choices, something for everyone of all ages.

Thank SandralaPenita
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Their coffee is consistently good, the hallmark of a good coffee shop! But their croissants and danish pastries, while looking appetizing at the counter, and tasting pretty good, are always over-baked with a slightly burned exterior which causes them to shatter when bitten into. I...More

Thank 29carfrae
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 207 hotels in Vancouver Island
Coast Bastion Hotel
1,667 reviews
.12 km away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
603 reviews
.18 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham Nanaimo Harbourside
431 reviews
.70 km away
Harbour Light Motel
82 reviews
.94 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Le Cafe Francais
385 reviews
.04 km away
Gabriel's Gourmet Cafe
296 reviews
.09 km away
Figo Italian Bistro
137 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Harbourfront Walkway
524 reviews
.18 km away
Nanaimo Museum
153 reviews
.06 km away
The Port Theatre
46 reviews
.12 km away
Vancouver Island Military Museum
34 reviews
.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Susan S
11 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from YukonStef | Reviewed this property |
I agree with Gerda H.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$2 - US$9
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 101 Commercial St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5G5, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Vancouver Island  >  Nanaimo
  • Phone Number: +1 250-753-6002
Description
We make all our breads and pastries using organic flour, butter and sugar. our eggs are from a local farm and our coffee is from Drumroaster in Duncan. We serve delicious breakfast and lunch using only high quality ingredients in a relax and friendly atmosphere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;