We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gypsy Tea Room

$$ - $$$, ,
315 Water St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1B9, Canada
+1 709-739-4766
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (35 reviews)
“nachos” (31 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Wine Bar, Canadian, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
315 Water St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1B9, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the third time that we have made a reservation for a large group (20-30 people) at Gypsy Tea Room and it won't be the last. The staff is friendly and very accommodating and we have had a great experience each time. I didn't...More

Thank Selina A
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the review. Getting good service is like any other type of effective communication...it takes two. You were a pleasure to work with and easy to take care of as all was arranged prior to the event. Looking forward to your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I went to the Gypsy for dinner a day before New Year's Eve and so happy we chose this restaurant. We told Doug we were in no hurry and he was the BEST! Attentive, knowledgable and friendly. A must try drink is...More

Thank Cat W
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the experience at The Gypsy. Doug has been taking care of our guests for going on 10 years now. You would be hard pressed to find a more professional server anywhere. I appreciate your business and will...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I will start by saying I have been a happy customer for years. It’s been a go-to stop for myself for celebrations, girls night outs and dates. Each time I have visited I have received exceptional service. Our most recent visit had me blown away....More

Thank Shalyn S
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We appreciate how difficult it can be to dine out when dietary restrictions or choices limit the experience you have in a restaurant. I am so happy you report that our staff went above and beyond to address your particular...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We dropped in for a glass ( great wine selection ) and eats ( fast and tasty ) Our Server ( Kennedy) fast fun and delightful. Will be back again soon.

Thank rrhinelander
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I 'll make sure to Let Kennedy know you appreciated her service!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gypsy has been around for a while and always keeps their menu fresh. We often bring visitors here for dinner and it never disappoints. The kitchen is very accommodating for people with dietary requests/requirements. Excellent variety of dishes (bar menu in the lounge, full menu...More

Thank kozycanuck
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your business over the years...we are now into our 15th year of operation. Some substantial changes are coming soon with a few renovations and a new menu launch. Stay tuned for Gypsy 2.0 Take care

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I decided last minute to go out for NYE dinner. We were surprised to get a reservation at Gypsy Tea Room. It was my first time eating there. There is a lovely restaurant and separate bar area. There was a fixed NYE...More

1  Thank DarGaTravel
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank You for your review. Happy to hear we were able to accommodate on such a busy night. See you back soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I tried the Ginny Weasly and fish tacos from the bar and I was thoroughly impressed! The bartender was knowledgeable and friendly, service was prompt and the tacos were delicious! Great experience!

Thank michellefull3r
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank-you for your review. With so many great restaurants in the city i am glad you were able to join us at The Gypsy. i appreciate the business and hope you drop in if you find yourself in St. John's again. Safe Travels

Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Made a reservation for our Christmas dinner. The host seated us right away. Doug, our waiter, was the perfect blend of friendliness and professionalism given the place was busy and the rest of the team were getting inebriated. Everyone’s appetizers were exemplary except the calamari...More

Thank Ms. Cheryl C
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your night out with us. I have passed your comments along to the kitchen and will let Doug know you appreciated his efforts. Cheers

Reviewed 26 November 2017

The booking was made for a Friday night birthday celebration and was surprisingly easy given the late inquiry. The car park next door can be very expensive for the two hour stop. On entry to the restaurant the front bar was busy. The restaurant interior...More

Thank Cameron C
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for your review. Happy to hear you enjoyed both the venue and the service. As for the menu omission both on-line and in the restaurant, i am sorry this had a negative impact on your dining experience with us. I appreciate the heads...More

Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Been here a few times and never lets me down. Good food in a relaxed bar atmosphere. Staff very friendly. The scallops are fab!

Thank Eva S
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for your review!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 24 hotels in St. John's
Blue on Water
142 reviews
.02 km away
Murray Premises Hotel
622 reviews
.06 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
868 reviews
.41 km away
JAG
348 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Yellowbelly Brewery & Public House
1,155 reviews
.08 km away
EVOO in the Courtyard
217 reviews
.08 km away
The Merchant Tavern
376 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
George Street
722 reviews
.06 km away
Jellybean Row Houses
181 reviews
.22 km away
City of St. John’s Visitor Information Centre
66 reviews
.12 km away
Memorial University of Newfoundland
40 reviews
.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Gypsy Tea Room staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$30
Cuisine
Wine Bar, Canadian, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 315 Water St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1B9, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Newfoundland and Labrador  >  Newfoundland  >  St. John's
  • Phone Number: +1 709-739-4766
  • E-mail
Description
Located in the historic Murray Premises building in the heart of downtown St. John's The Gypsy Tea Room can accommodate large groups or the most intimate of diners. Our menu includes local favourites, European cuisine and unique daily features. We are open for lunch and dinner as well as a delicious brunch on Saturday and Sunday. Our private dining room is available for wine tastings and dinner or a meeting with colleagues. The Gypsy Tea Room also offers a state of the art conference room with Smart Board, data projector and video conference capability. Our courtyard restaurant can seat 120 people with an open air kitchen and bar. Sit back and relax in a resort setting...Let us take care of you.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing