We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bocata Restaurant Bar a Vin

310, Saint-Paul O., Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2A3, Canada
+1 514-507-8727
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good24%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pata negra” (13 reviews)
“sea bass” (16 reviews)
Open Now
5:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Spanish, Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
310, Saint-Paul O., Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2A3, Canada
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

My friend and I (2 single 40-somethings from Manhattan), were in Montreal the first week of October, 2017. I spent some time looking on line and chatting with others to find a cozy, inviting, reasonably priced, unpretentious restaurant with good comfort food. Turns out Bocata...More

Thank SuzyRock
Roberto B, Owner at Bocata Restaurant Bar a Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Suzy, we are so glad that your stay at the lovely Hotel Bonaparte and online research brought you to us for dinner. We love hearing that you enjoyed both dishes so much, and that our wonderful Eleazar was up to par. Despite that we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped in for Sunday Brunch on thanksgiving weekend. The service was super slow (again, thanksgiving weekend), but the staff was very friendly. The food was delicious, but the portions were itty bitty. I ordered the fried eggs with mashed potatoes and sobressata and left...More

Thank maybe1taco
Roberto B, Owner at Bocata Restaurant Bar a Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

First, thank you for taking time to leave us a review about your brunch experience. We find it to be disappointing that service was slow, and do apologize for this. Portion sizes at brunch are general on the smaller size as we focus much more...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Has a late night dinner with some friends and we loved it! Food and wine were superb but what I loved most was the atmosphere! Felt like I was back in Italy!!!!More

Thank mlittle78
Roberto B, Owner at Bocata Restaurant Bar a Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so thankful for the beautiful atmosphere that comes together through not only our team and décor, but the guests that contribute to it. Happy to have had you all for some late night dining, and we appreciate that you took the time to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small restaurant - we were seated at the bar without a reservation. Had the lobster carbonara and my husband had the lobster boil. Both were wonderful! Lovely atmosphere - windows open to the outside street and beautiful evening. Very attentive bartender and hostess.More

Thank Hammond54
Roberto B, Owner at Bocata Restaurant Bar a Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so glad that you were able to get a spot with us at the bar. It seems to have been a delicious lobster night for you both, which is always a good thing in our books. Thank you for taking a moment of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here last night. The waiter was super attentive and friendly. The starter was a minuscule bit of serrano ham on pimientos, which was good in taste but so little meat I can barely remember the taste of it. We had the squid ink risotto...More

Thank Janina W
Roberto B, Owner at Bocata Restaurant Bar a Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

The Serrano Ham on Shishitos is about 6-8 Pimientos and Pata Negra Shavings, and it is in the SNACKS section, that's why it is 'Small'. And it is not supposed to have a lot of meat. We have a Appetizers and Mains menu for those...More

Reviewed 12 September 2017

tiny portions...wickedly over priced......I ordered the Seafood special for $36...turned out to be a 1.0" cube tiny piece of halibut, sitting on 13 tiny warm olives, in a "soup" of olive oil.....the tiny piece of fish was tasty, but "Olive oil soup"? are you kidding...More

Thank Carmine C
Roberto B, General Manager at Bocata Restaurant Bar a Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Carmine, Even though it might seem like the portion of the halibut was very small, we have no interest in overcharging or serving you dishes that do not satisfy. First of all because we are professionals about what we do and also because we...More

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Sea bass was very good but only came with chickpeas. The tomato salad was amazing. The mussels in a lobster bisque were very tasty. Four marks instead of five due to some small pieces of shell in the mussel dish and disappointing beignets.More

Thank Paul-A-C-62
Roberto B, Owner at Bocata Restaurant Bar a Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hello Paul, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. First off, we are very happy to hear you found our food tasty and amazing. Those are such sweet comments. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy the...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped by for breakfast with the teens, friendly staff quality food, if your hungry stop by for a taste of Europe.More

Thank damienk2016
Roberto B, Owner at Bocata Restaurant Bar a Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hi Damien, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad you came in and enjoyed your breakfast. It is such a compliment to that you enjoyed our dishes and our staff’s company! Europe awaits you in old montreal whenever you want...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Excellent service and friendly staff. Warm ambiance - we sat right by the open window to the sidewalk on a beautiful day. We tried the smoothie of the day which included pineapple, peaches, pineapple juice, yogurt, maple syrup and perhaps some other fruit - I...More

Thank atso1212
Roberto B, Owner at Bocata Restaurant Bar a Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hello, First of all we want to thank you for taking the time to write us a such a heartwarming review. We are so very glad you enjoyed the smoothie as well as your egg bourguignon! It is such a great compliment that everyone enjoyed...More

Reviewed 5 September 2017

Very hard to get same-day reservation so we just walked in. The nice host divided the big table and gave us the half. We tried tomato salad, oysters, pata negra de bellota, fish of the day (rainbow trout) and lobster carbonara tagliatelle. Tomatoes are super...More

Thank graciet868
Roberto B, Owner at Bocata Restaurant Bar a Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hello Gracie, We are so glad you decided to walk in and that our host could accommodate you so we could share a wonderful time together. We are so happy to read you enjoyed our dishes and that they were seasoned perfectly. We are also...More

Nearby
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The historic centre of Montreal, Vieux-Port is home to
some of the city's most antiquated buildings and
picturesque streets. Along the waters of the St.
Lawrence River, the bank of Old Port features museums,
festivals, food stalls, and outdoor athletics, a
celebrated part of the city that explodes into
fireworks displays on warm summer nights. At its
centre, street performers and artists compete with
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Stash Cafe
912 reviews
.14 km away
Olive & Gourmando
1,303 reviews
.05 km away
Garde Manger
1,025 reviews
.15 km away
Gibbys
1,749 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pointe-a-Calliere Museum
1,401 reviews
.19 km away
Rue St-Paul
1,476 reviews
.14 km away
Lieu Historique National du Canal-de-Lachine
596 reviews
.22 km away
Centre d'Histoire de Montreal
149 reviews
.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Anne H
4 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from jhmvis | Reviewed this property |
Agreed - nice casual but 'no 'code' ...indeed, it appeared that this 'side' of the two sister restaurants was a litte more casual than the other .
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 PM - 10:30 PM
10:30 AM - 2:30 PM
Monday
5:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
10:30 AM - 2:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 310, Saint-Paul O., Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2A3, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Quebec  >  Montreal>  > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
  • Neighbourhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
  • Phone Number: +1 514-507-8727
  • E-mail
Description
Top Old Montreal fishing-village inspired restaurant & wine bar, where our attentive and friendly waitstaff will welcome you 7 days a week from 5pm, or for brunch Saturdays and Sundays from 10 to 2:30. You can treat yourself to rustic but refined dishes, such as Lobster Tagliatelle, Grilled Octopus, Pata Negra and Caccio e Pepe. With wine suggestions by our passionate sommeliers, including 20 wines by the glass daily and beautiful cocktails, expect an eclectic candlelit atmosphere, upbeat tunes and an all around good time.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing