We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surfside

Polzeath Beach | PL27 6TB, Polzeath PL27 6TB, England
+44 1208 862931
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good22%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (36 reviews)
“surf and turf” (11 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Polzeath Beach | PL27 6TB, Polzeath PL27 6TB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Great beach which seems huge when the tide is out. Great for surfers of all abilities and great for families in the summer

Thank kazza144
Reviewed 3 days ago

Visited with friends, we all had rump steak which was so incredibly tough I could hardly cut it and it was very expensive. Would not go there again.

Thank judyp914
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Visited with a friend on last night of our week's holiday and how we wished we'd found it before. Has to be one of the best meals we've ever eaten just didn't want it to end . We had tempura oyster - definitely recommend as...More

Thank beckyjm82
Reviewed 6 September 2017

My husband and I visited for dinner in August 2017 and we were truly delighted by the service, food and location. We were able to watch the sunset whilst enjoying the mouth watering food, which was a true delight. It's a little gem on the...More

Thank Claire L
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

The food at Surfside is good enough to enjoy by itself, but the view across the beach is stunning, especially at sunset. The atmosphere is best described as laid back, but that doesn't mean inattentive. Be prepared for some ingenious additions to the dishes on...More

Thank ARPreston
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We had a booking for tonight 5th Sept for 18:30 pm, we also gave them our mobile. We turned up at 18:15 only to find it completely closed, chairs on tables and post on the floor. There was also a man who had a booking...More

4  Thank holidaysforus504164
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Aargh. We were looking forward to a return trip but when we arrived for lunch (just after noon), there was no sign of life and no information eg 'opening at 1pm'. Disappointed :(More

Thank Fiona C
laura_stephes, Owner at Surfside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry for the inconvenience. However, I feel that a 1 star review simply for being closed is extremely unfair. No assessment of food, service, ambience as you didn't even enter the building. You visited on the 5th September which was annual staff party...More

Reviewed 3 September 2017

Family treat for me from family as there is now a Rum bar at the back. Great combination of Cornish beach, local food and fun. The rum bar is great fun and good selection of rums plus other drinks. Star Rum was Pyrat XO. Reasonable...More

Thank Jurassictraveller
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

What fun! Apart from small sign in the sand you wouldn't know it was there! Such imagination has gone into this Caribbean style bar and BBQ. Friendly staff with great choice of rums. BBQ - jerk chicken, ribs, wraps all about £5, so very reasonable....More

Thank Mummy13
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

I absolutely love the location and over the last few years have really enjoyed this restaurant. However, our visit this week was most disappointing and left me with a feeling of complacency towards their customers: I think when you pay £26 for surf and turf,...More

Thank John W
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Cracking Crab
298 reviews
.27 km away
St Moritz Hotel Restaurant
166 reviews
.87 km away
The Point at Polzeath
195 reviews
1.47 km away
TJ's Surf Shop and Cafe
296 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Surf's Up Surf School
80 reviews
.15 km away
St. Enodoc Church
61 reviews
1.89 km away
Rock Beach
156 reviews
3.29 km away
Padstow Harbour
1,989 reviews
4.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sheron D
1 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sue L | Reviewed this property |
No! The only access is from the beach up steep steps. If it's a nice day ( maybe too late in the year now) you can eat outside - but there's no other way into the restaurant.
1
Vote
Luckypinn
18 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from laura_stephes | Property representative |
We welcome small, well behaved dogs but dogs aren't allowed on the beach between Easter and October at Polzeath.
1
Vote
RC12345678
5 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from laura_surfside_polz | Property representative |
Hi there, our email address is on our website, Facebook and Instagram pages- unfortunately trip advisor won't let me send it to you via this message. If in doubt, Google us! We are still open 7 days a week 11am-11pm (last... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Polzeath Beach | PL27 6TB, Polzeath PL27 6TB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Polzeath
  • Phone Number: +44 1208 862931
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing