We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dog and Duck

2 Aston Lane | Shardlow, Shardlow DE72 2GX, England
+44 1332 792224
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good19%
  • Average16%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible23%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Aston Lane | Shardlow, Shardlow DE72 2GX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 461 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The food was outstanding,I had the sirloin special with port & stilton and it as cooked perfectly not a single sign of fat it tasted delicious! The 2 for 1 offer is brilliant when you come with family and saves you money to try one...More

Thank sarah198892
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We had a late lunch today it was not good half my chicken was burnt the other half was a weird texture my chips was cold . My husband fish was full of greese like they hadn't heated the oil first.

Thank Info T
Dogandduck S, Manager at The Dog and Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're sorry to see that you did not enjoy your visit. If you wish to discuss anything further, please call us on 01332792224. Kind regards, Team Dog & Duck

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We found this place a couple of months back and visit regularly now when seeing family in the area. The team are amazing. I honestly cannot believe someone has complained on here that Andrew is TOO friendly?He is amazing! A real asset! Goes above and...More

2  Thank Foodie1988oxox
Dogandduck S, Manager at The Dog and Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's great to see that you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Team Dog & Duck

Reviewed 1 week ago

Haven't been in for some time and wish we hadn't bothered last night. The car park was not busy when we arrived and that should have told us something!! We went in and found a table with no problem and picked up the menus. Yuk....More

Thank Magsshutt
Dogandduck S, Manager at The Dog and Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're sorry to see that you did not enjoy your visit. If you wish to discuss anything further, please call us on 01332792224. Kind regards, Team Dog & Duck

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here for tea limited choice of food when it did arrive it was terrible some of the food was missing and had to wait for then to do it will not be going again need to change the management they have not a clue...More

Thank Sian S
Dogandduck S, Manager at The Dog and Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're sorry to see that you did not enjoy your visit. If you wish to discuss anything further, please call us on 01332792224. Kind regards, Team Dog & Duck

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited tonight with my partner after a bad experience a while ago and I am amazed with the difference! The staff on were so friendly and the two female managers both took time to speak to us and gave fantastic service which made us feel...More

Thank Exploration799724
Dogandduck S, Manager at The Dog and Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's great to see that you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Team Dog & Duck

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came with the family for a birthday meal - went to order at the bar and told they had ran out of wine, no steaks, no Sunday lunches. This is totally unacceptable!! Come on marstons is this pub closing or it it just a case...More

1  Thank joannottomly8
Dogandduck S, Manager at The Dog and Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're sorry to see that you did not enjoy your visit. If you wish to discuss anything further, please call us on 01332792224. Kind regards, Team Dog & Duck

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful place to have a meal.staff are happy and nice .great food offers .lovly hot coffees .parking and outside gardens .well worth the visit

Thank Jacky M
Dogandduck S, Manager at The Dog and Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's great to see that you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Team Dog & Duck

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for the first time on recommendation from a friend and we will be back. Food arrived quicker than expected and service was great. Staff friendly, polite and attentive. The food was very good and reasonably priced. Only thing stopping a 5* was little things...More

Thank Stephen M
Dogandduck S, Manager at The Dog and Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's great to see that you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Team Dog & Duck

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food choice was poor. Was trying to relax and all we could hear was bar staff man Andrew trying to make friends with everyone who came in. A quiet night turned out hearing his life story a thousand times over 😂

1  Thank birkenheadlisa
Dogandduck S, Manager at The Dog and Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're sorry to see that you did not enjoy your visit. If you wish to discuss anything further, please call us on 01332792224. Kind regards, Team Dog & Duck

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Days Inn Donington A50
414 reviews
.99 km away
Donington Manor Hotel
375 reviews
3.35 km away
The Priest House by the River
898 reviews
3.37 km away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
1,870 reviews
4.72 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Malt Shovel Shardlow
139 reviews
1.08 km away
New Inn
195 reviews
1.12 km away
Navigation Inn Shardlow
202 reviews
.96 km away
Smithys
56 reviews
.99 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Draycott Tap House
21 reviews
2.96 km away
Elvaston Castle
328 reviews
3.63 km away
Download Rock Festival
96 reviews
4.80 km away
Delta Force Paintball Kegworth
164 reviews
5.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Dog and Duck staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Aston Lane | Shardlow, Shardlow DE72 2GX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Shardlow
  • Phone Number: +44 1332 792224
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing