We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
1 Thurstaston Road, Irby CH61 0HA, England
+44 151 648 1698
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good24%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“crab” (7 reviews)
“belly pork” (8 reviews)
“burger” (15 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Thurstaston Road, Irby CH61 0HA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Arrived for a Sunday Roast at 1:30pm. As we were seated we were informed they had ran out of the chicken pie and the fish cakes, was okay with this as was there for a roast dinner. After waiting 15 mins after being seated we...More

Thank beah2208
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I'm sorry to hear your recent visit with us wasn't up to our usual standards. If you would like to email us on enquiry@theanchorinnirby.co.uk one of our management team will get back to you. Aine Kelly Duty Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Large varied menu to suit all people. Freshly cooked food , very tasty. Waitress very helpful. One small criticism would be to bring all the dishes to the table at once to prevent the first two getting cold.

Thank granmal
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for such a lovely review! We're so glad you had a lovely time! See you again soon. Aine Kelly Duty Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Luke warm food served on cold plates. Uninterested scruffy waitresses more interested in chatting amongst themselves.Cold seating areas

Thank Susan N
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm sorry to hear your recent experience was a bad one. I've raised the issue with the people in question and we hope this doesn't put you off returning with us soon. Aine Kelly Duty Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been taken to the Anchor on very many occasions by my elderly relatives, and normally the food has been very good. This visit 3 of us had seabass which was tepid on arrival and served with very under cooked potatoes, we complained and...More

Thank siouxr2017
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm very sorry that your recent visit wasn't up to our usual standards! We hope to see you again soon. Aine Kelly Duty Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited to celebrate New Year's Day with family, 3 course set menu £23 each. Plenty to choose from to suit most tastes with children's menu too. I ordered salmon starter which was served in a glass jar, it looked and tasted nice but quite impractical...More

Thank joannep04
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi thank you for your review! I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your meal but glad your family did! We hope to see you soon to use your voucher! Aine Kelly Duty Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was very well looked after for my birthday and enjoyed my complimentary Prosecco- lovely touch! The food was faultless and the staff were excellent.

Thank T-Bois88
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for such a lovely review! We're so glad you enjoyed your birthday! Aine Kelly Duty Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The Anchor yesterday evening for a family meal. There was a good range of food on the menu, we did not have to wait long for our food and it was very good when it arrived. We were particularly impressed with the staff...More

Thank Barbara004
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for such a lovely review! We're so glad you enjoyed your recent visit with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Aine Kelly Duty Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with family 14 of us for dinner really disappointed. Arrived Hungry Left Hungry. Not only did we pre-order all of our meals we had to wait 1 hour for the food to be served. 2 members who had been added later had informed the...More

Thank Natalie D
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm very sorry to hear your recent visit with us wasn't up to our usual standards. If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to email us on enquiry@theanchorinnirby.co.uk Aine Kelly Duty Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My Family and I recently called in to enjoy a glass of Mulled Wine. As we were being served from a large Cauldron, we were invited to top up our glasses as they were not full. Whilst doing so, a different female member of Staff...More

Thank noonoosdad
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am very sorry about this, our mulled wine should be served by our members of staff to avoid any accidents. I do apologise about the way this information was relayed to yourself, we do hope to see you again soon. Aine Kelly Duty Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Small portions. Average to good food. Slow service and members of our large group weren’t served at the time time as the rest. Appreciate probably understaffed for Christmas - New Years period, but really could have communicated any delays or issues with the group.

Thank Sam B
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sam, I am sorry your recent visit wasn't up to our usual standards! Thank you for understanding it has been a busy period for us! We hope this hasn't put you off visiting us in the future. Aine Kelly Duty Manager

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Irby Hotels
Hillbark Hotel
286 reviews
1.73 km away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
388 reviews
3.51 km away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
565 reviews
4.12 km away
Riverhill Hotel
310 reviews
5.59 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Zeera Tandoori
189 reviews
.10 km away
Benty Farm Tearooms
112 reviews
1.09 km away
The Shippons
373 reviews
.15 km away
Cottage Loaf
449 reviews
.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shore Cottage Studio Ltd
80 reviews
2.17 km away
Royden Park
35 reviews
2.30 km away
Chokie Massage and Beauty Therapy
28 reviews
3.96 km away
West Kirby Marine Lake
276 reviews
4.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
nicholas y
22 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Maxine M | Reviewed this property |
I had a very bad experience there and don't intend on returning. Sorry I couldn't help.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Thurstaston Road, Irby CH61 0HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Wirral  >  Irby
  • Phone Number: +44 151 648 1698
Description
Sensitively restored and brimming with countryside charm, The Anchor Inn - Wirral offers British pub hospitality. Mixing classic recipes and modern dishes, the menu is dictated by the seasons, with daily-changing specials also on offer. The bar is amply stocked with fine wines and smooth cask ales, and chunky wood furnishings and quirky décor make for a homely, relaxed ambience in the dining room. A menu just for kids offers fun yet nutritious choice for younger diners.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing