We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Gate

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rickmansworth Road, Chorleywood WD3 5SQ, England
+44 1923 282053
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 10:30
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 23:00
Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

477 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 475: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Probably was an old fashion pub in its day but no drinkers in evidence on our recent Sunday lunchtime visit. Nice garden, clean and tidy interior , food and beer good as was the service. No complaints just a trifle soulless.

Helpful?
Thank tfit2015
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I took some clients to the Gate for a client meeting. I wasn't on a timestamp but they were and they needed to get back to the office. Now let me start by saying that I have been to the Gate on many occasions with the family and for business and by and large they are awesome. In this occasion... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tineshchhaya
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear tineshchhaya Thank you for leaving your review of the pub. Its a shame it was on the ocassion you had a poor experience but we do not want you to be put off by this, as clearly you come quite regularly and receive a great experience. We will endeavour to make sure that you receive the experience you deserve... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been here several times and the service has never been fast. Today we ordered our food, but were then asked twenty minutes later to confirm what we had ordered... Unfair to our waitress - as it was probably her first day and she wasn't up to speed with the menu. An hour and 20 minutes after our initial order... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ludocruz
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear ludocruz Thank you for taking the time to write your review Im very sorry that you did not get the experience you should have. There was genuine confusion with the order as we did indeed have a new waitress training with us. All of our team are trained to be as welcoming as possible and im sorry that you... More 

Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very popular local restaurant so you'd think the management would have a clue as to how many staff to allocate to a Thursday evening shift, just before Easter. I have no gripe with our waitress who was under intolerable pressure, but we waited forever for our food, and when the crab and cray fish starter arrived it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Fussyat50
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear Fussyat50 Thank you for taking the time to review the pub Im so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent experience. We usually get the staffing levels right however we have had a lot of sickness recently and are also recruiting so its more of a case that we didnt have the team members available as... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the first time I had been to the Gate, although my friend had been here several times. It was a weekday lunchtime and it was very busy (luckily we had booked!). The menu was extensive, although the vegetarian options for the mains were a little limited. I opted for the Camembert from the starter range with fries. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trish N
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear Trish N Thank you so much for your review We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the experience and its great to hear that we have hopefully turned you into a returning guest! Best wishes The Gate Team More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wide and imaginative menu , fresh and healthy , pleasant , genuine staff , reasonably priced. Ideal spot to stop end route Heathrow !

Helpful?
Thank Tinmart32
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear Tinmart32 Thank you very much for your positive and review that im sure will be helpful to others We look forward to seeing you again when you next stop by Best regards The Gate Team More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice pleasant food, friendly staff very helpful, a little busy, service a little slow but only because we had hungry tiered children with us. Worth a visit 👍

Helpful?
Thank WatfordKWH
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear WatfordKWH Thank you very much for your review of the pub It sounds like you enjoyed your visit which we are very happy to hear. Shame we didnt get a higher score from you but hopefully next time we can get a couple more stars. Best regards The Gate Team More 

Pinner, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely lunch at the Gate with 5 friends and all our young babies. Service was great, very friendly and accommodating. The food was lovely. Good changing facilities too. I'll definitely be returning.

Helpful?
Thank helliball
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear helliball Thank you so much for leaving a review of our pub Its great to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and we very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Watch out for our fantastic new food and drink menus coming this month with some great new additions! Best regards The Gate... More 

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely garden but shocking pizza for £10 Like they dont have to try too hard or something. Nice atmosphere but for the food..well over priced.

Helpful?
Thank 1visitorxx
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear 1visitorxx Thank you for your review Im very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your chosen dish. Usually our pizzas are good value as we use only the freshest ingredients and roll and bake the dough in house Please give us another try as the only thing i can think of is that the dish was not... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited with 3 friends midweek for a meal after work and was pleasantly surprised. The staff were very accommodating and the food was lovely. A real step up from standard pub fare. The venue is nice and quaint however the ladies toilets are a bit of a letdown. We were not rushed and staff really looked after us. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank 75familyoffour
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear 75familyoffour Thank you very much for review Its great to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and we appreciate you letting others know about our fixed price offer! Apologies that you felt the toilets a let down. They are due to be refurbished sometime in the near future. Best regards The Gate Team More 

Travellers who viewed The Gate also viewed

Chorleywood, Hertfordshire
Chorleywood, Hertfordshire
 
Stoke Mandeville, Aylesbury Vale
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 10:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rickmansworth Road, Chorleywood WD3 5SQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Chorleywood
  • Phone Number: +44 1923 282053
Description
A modern contemporary country pub with a rustic feel,serving good quality fresh food and a fantastic range of beers,wines and spirits. Cozy up next to the fireplaces in winter and enjoy our lovely garden in the summer months.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Gate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?