We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gate

Rickmansworth Road, Chorleywood WD3 5SQ, England
+44 1923 282053
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good26%
  • Average19%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“pate” (7 reviews)
“sunday roast” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rickmansworth Road, Chorleywood WD3 5SQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

As Gastro Pubs go I thought this was very good indeed. Impressive menu and an interesting wine list. Food was lovely and the service was great. It was our first time here and we will be back!More

Thank andy2689
General Manager A, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Andy2689, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Gate, Chorleywood. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We visit The Gate every few months or so and it's on our list of one of our most favourite places to eat. Our waitress was incredibly friendly, the atmosphere cosy and inviting and the food utterly delicious.

Thank Bobbie G
General Manager A, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Bobbie G, it's experiences like yours that really keep us motivated! We're glad to hear we delivered such a great experience. If there's anything further we can do for you, we are happy to help!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went here for a family dinner a week ago. The waitress was friendly enough and tried to do a good job but there were some basic errors on the service front. When taking our order the waitress didn't ask if we wanted starters and...More

Thank Mo_Khan_31
General Manager A, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Mo_khan_31, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Tried giving The Gate a second chance because the food was good and it is very close to home. Booked online for the NYE meal and was seated right on time after 9PM. Had order in with waitress by 930PM. Restaurant was 3/4 full and...More

Thank BMorgan8
General Manager A, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. Unfortunately, On New Year's Eve, one of our chefs had suffered a breakdown and was taken to hospital which resulted in extra...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have just come back from lunch at The Gate, a restaurant I used to rate quite highly, and I am afraid to say I was appalled at the service. We ate in the bar area, and on arrival the only table available for 5,...More

Thank Julie B
General Manager A, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Julie B, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We don't like to post negative reviews so before writing we gave it two try's, we had a family lunch here it October, service very slow, 45 mins from ordering to get main course and food not brilliant. Had another family lunch today, fish cakes...More

Thank Chilternpair
General Manager A, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited The Gate to meet up with friends who were staying in a hotel locally. The range on the menu was a very pleasant surprise, and whilst the portion sizes were significantly smaller than a hungry diner would hope for, the food quality was...More

Thank TwinkleyAngel
General Manager A, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the positive review! We always strive to provide top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Gate, Chorleywood! We're looking forward to your next visit with us! Regards The...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

looking for somewhere to meet and eat close to the M25. This place was very good - much better than average. Interesting menu and sensibly priced. Staff were good and pleasant. Could have been slightly more attentive. Nevertheless very good.More

Thank Martin S
General Manager A, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Hi Martin S, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Gate, Chorleywood. We're happy we could meet your expectations! your kind words and this wonderful review has made our day. Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience,...More

Reviewed 4 December 2017

A friend and I went there just after 10 am today for brunch, where about 3 other small tables were occupied. Very pleasant waitress but we waited ages for our Traditional Breakfast. Waitress returned when we were 2/3rds through our meal to find out if...More

1  Thank Oink77
Gate C, General Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear oink77, Thank you for taking the time to send us your sincere feedback we are very sad to hear that your last visit at the The Gate was not a positive one. I was not made aware of any issue that morning. We would...More

Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Had the most awful experience in this dirty hole. Table dirty when we Sat down, food arrived and no table wiped I had to ask for this to be done, waitress dropped a fork and shrugged her shoulders and left it on the floor, the...More

2  Thank pole4
Gate C, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear pole4 sorry you did not find your visit to gate a pleasant one. I do remember having this chat with you during your this visit few weeks ago . we were unexpectedly busy that Sunday afternoon and all the team were stretched to maximum....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Chorleywood Hotels
North Hill Farm
142 reviews
.85 km away
De Vere Latimer Estate
871 reviews
4.31 km away
The Grove Hotel
2,858 reviews
4.98 km away
Two Brewers Hotel
417 reviews
5.10 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Gusto Bistro
117 reviews
1.28 km away
Rootz Coffee Chorleywood
71 reviews
1.36 km away
Mezze Mangal
100 reviews
1.40 km away
Morgan's Deli
38 reviews
1.35 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chorleywood House Estate
12 reviews
.10 km away
Chenies Manor
83 reviews
2.78 km away
Chiltern Open Air Museum
203 reviews
3.65 km away
The Craft Beer Shop
29 reviews
4.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Gate staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rickmansworth Road, Chorleywood WD3 5SQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Chorleywood
  • Phone Number: +44 1923 282053
Description
A modern contemporary country pub with a rustic feel,serving good quality fresh food and a fantastic range of beers,wines and spirits. Cozy up next to the fireplaces in winter and enjoy our lovely garden in the summer months.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing