We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
29 Hayes Street | Hayes, Bromley BR2 7LE, England
+44 20 8462 1120
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 332: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As our local pub, we visited reasonably often prior to having our baby and the food was always good. Having some friends with us today, we thought we would go for lunch with our baby and their 2 kids. Our baby is unable to have food from the menu (due to his age) and therefore I asked the waitress if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annabel D
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your feedback and comments, I am sorry my team did not explain to you that it is company policy that we are not allowed to heat baby food in the microwave, and all we can do is provide hot water, glad you enjoyed the food and hope to see you again soon. Del More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are local to this pub and have visited serval times over the last 2 years. It's hit and miss, depends on the day and who is serving you. We have had good service but also very bad service. The food is usually okay and prices fair. Prompted to review by our experience on Sunday. We were sat next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank LondonKindo
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this review

Rude & aggressive general manager ?Thank you for your review, although extremely surprising. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited one early evening with my husband . I wasn't that impressed, I would say the food and the ambience was average . I didn't like the way the tables were set out in the bar area, we didn't eat in the restaurant part as we would of been the only two people there . I think the pub has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leyla G
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this review

Leyla G, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again. More 

London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place to take the family - but not the best meal and a bit overpriced for what you get. The meal is nice, don't get me wrong, but it's not incredible and it's therefore a bit overpriced. I love the decor and it's a great place to go for a beer. I've been here 5-6 times so know it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gone_To_India
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this review

Gone_to_india, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. More 

Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice atmosphere. Parked on the street. Not too expensive. Overall good but not outstanding. Nice visit.

Helpful?
Thank Patrice H
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this review

Patrice H, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The George, Hayes! Thank you, and have a fantastic day! More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017

This was our first visit to The George for a family lunch. It was booked by a family member who lives in the area. We travelled up for Ashford in Kent to meet up with them and their family. We were glad that we did as the meal was fantastic. With excellent service and great food a good time was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ron G
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this review

Thank you, Ron G, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. We are glad that you enjoyed your lunch with us and hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Chiara and the team George More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017

My Husband & I eat here regularly and have never been disappointed with the food. The staff are always helpful and friendly. Sunday Lunch is great. The whole place is welcoming and comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Clare M
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this review

Clare M, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We always love to receive great feedback. Have a lovely day and we look forward to see you again soon. Chiara and the team George. More 

London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Everything from arriving to leaving was amazing! We had booked a table for 12.30 on Sunday the 9th of April. Starters and drinks came promptly looked fantastic well presented. The inside of the pub was very modern well decorated. Our mains,beef, lamb and vegetable tart looked and tasted fantastic. We all ordered desserts and they too were really good quality... More 

Helpful?
Thank mgale963
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Mgale963. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The George, Hayes. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Really disappointed with the quality of the food and service. The fish tasted horrible and burned oily chips and horrible mashy peas.

Helpful?
Thank Mahdis F
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this review

Hi, Mahdis, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. If you are willing, please call us for further assistance with moving forward. Thank you for leaving your feedback, and we hope to hear from you in the future. The George, Hayes, Customer Fulfillment 442084621120 More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2017

I've been here for drinks before, but never to eat. What a great pub restaurant it is. We went on a Sunday for the Sunday Roast and it didn't disappoint at all. We will definitely be going back again. But even if you don't want the roast, there was still the rest of the menu to choose from. The waitresses... More 

Helpful?
Thank Krissy M
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this review

Krissy M, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The George, Hayes. We always love to receive great feedback. You really made our day today. Chiara AM More 

Travellers who viewed The George also viewed

Bromley, Greater London
Handcross, West Sussex
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$27
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 Hayes Street | Hayes, Bromley BR2 7LE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Bromley
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8462 1120
Description
The George is in the heart of Hayes, Bromley. Located just off the high street it is a firm favourite with everyone. With an extensive menu and a well stocked bar we are popular with families looking to celebrate a special occasion, those looking for a quiet drink in a comfortable, stylish environment to couples wanting a romantic meal- we cater for everyone. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?