We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The White Horse Overstrand

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
34 High Street | Overstrand, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
+44 1263 579237
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 412: English reviews
Stowmarket, Suffolk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a review relative to the hotel in general as my wife and I, my Mother and my Son and his fiancée stayed here for one night for the Thursford Christmas Spectacular. All 3 rooms were very nicely furnished with showers whilst my wife and I had a lovely bathroom and a 40 inch TV. All very nice but... More 

Helpful?
Thank itfc2007
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the White Horse in Overstrand last year, and re-visited the pub for an evening meal this year, in June. Most of the food is locally sourced, and very fresh. The menu is good and offers a wide range of tempting dishes, cooked to perfection.. When you return to a pub you have enjoyed at a previous date,... More 

Helpful?
Thank John T
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here last week, Friday to Monday. Very friendly and helpful staff, food was good but choice a little short for me. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Dog friendly pub and hotel. Good selection of ales and was always busy over the weekend with locals and guests alike. Thoroughly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Simmo196
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying in Overstrand and the White Horse was walking distance. The service was friendly enough and the choice of beers good. I had a gourmet burger - just like a real one but with a fancy bun and a couple of dabs of mustard on the plate. All good fun and I would go back.

Helpful?
Thank ceedubya27
Horsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our first ever review on TripAdvisor we simply had to share our wonderful experience. We are delighted we chose the White Horse for our son's Christening celebrations. The truly beautiful setting and wonderful array of food was throughly enjoyed by our 80 guests. So many of our guests commented on how delicious the food was. The staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank FAnderson4
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I really was expecting an old fashioned country pub but got a 'modern' looking open space that was too little and just lacked any interest. In fairness, it was busy with locals with football showing on the flat screen - just not really what I was expecting.

Helpful?
Thank craig0williams
overstrandhorse, Nathan-Head Chef at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this review

Craig, I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations on interior design, we aim to deliver a versatile pub with a passion for food and drink while offering amenities for a wide range of customers, if your perspective changes on what a pub should provide then we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel as it is dog friendly and what a brilliant choice it was. The staff were lovely and very helpful and worked very hard and never appeared off duty. They printed off some walking maps too which was very kind. The food is fabulous as can be seen by the busy restaurant on both nights. Breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz M
overstrandhorse, Nathan-Head Chef at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this review

Thank you Liz, glad you and the dogs enjoyed your stay!!! More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016

Several years ago, someone decided to modernise the White Horse in Overstrand. Sadly they have turned it into a very boring, dull, characterless pub with few saving graces. Nothing of any virtue remains, and the colours, the layout, the furniture and the 'art' are firmly stuck in the mid 1990s. Many similar pubs, usually in the suburbs of provincial towns,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paulthediner
overstrandhorse, Nathan-Head Chef at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this review

Paul i certainly won't be introducing you to our interior designer as I don't think you'll get on, I do have concerns however of your dining experiences, please could you email me at the pub in more detail to what you felt the failings were. Enquiries@whitehorseoverstrand.co.uk More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

We had a drink here intending to eat as well. However, the menu is quite limited, with a poor choice of non-seafood options, and the prices are quite high for a pub. The interior is pleasant enough, but the bright lights and plain furnishings don't make it very appealing.

Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
overstrandhorse, Nathan-Head Chef at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this review

Geoff, We do drop a dish off our menu this time of year due to an expected decrease in customer and staff numbers however on our mains we still offer banham chicken, whites burger, rib eye steak and bressingham duck breast, being so close to the sea we feel it's vital we offer a good choice of local seafood options... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We decided to have our wedding at the White Horse after looking at several venues in this area. It was an easy choice as they were incredibly accommodating where we found other venues inflexible. We visited the White Horse many times whilst planning the wedding and always found Ben and his staff professional and welcoming from start to finish. They... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham S

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Overstrand also viewed

 
Overstrand, Norfolk
 
Overstrand, Norfolk
West Runton, Cromer
 

Been to The White Horse Overstrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 34 High Street | Overstrand, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Overstrand
  • Phone Number: +44 1263 579237

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Overstrand staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?